We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most expensive hotel I have ever had in the whole WORLD; poor value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Ranked #110 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Most expensive hotel I have ever had in the whole WORLD; poor value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed there as I came in on the greyhound bus which is 2 blocks away and the blue line metro is one block away at Clinton. Location from these points of view worked. A bit of a walk into downtown and the bay area.
On site evening meal (not run by the hotel but no option due to location - I ordered from main menu but they came after a while to say they had run out of "pork" so I selected again. Food expensive and poor value for money - but the Pizza are HUGE!! Same place for breakfast. Set breakfast at 10.95$ was the only affordable thing on the menu as coffee and cereal + fruit was more than 11$ if ordered seperately. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_J_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    243
    106
    54
    25
See reviews for
147
97
75
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Everything was more than what I expected. People working at the front desk was more than helpful esp. Lakisha ( she was wonderful) and Dewayne (the bartender), I give him a thumbs up. I had one problem with the plumbing in the bathroom (the commode was constantly flushing) but it was fixed within 10 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vatriciaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Are son had surgery in June and it was so nice to be close to Rush and not have to drive back and forth from Indiana. My husband and myself both had high stress levels due to our one son having surgery and are hotel room was such a nice place to relax. The beds and pillows were excellent and the room was very spacious. The staff were very helpful and pleasant as well. The resturant had great food and worked out great for us having to get up and go to the hospital to be able to eat at the hotel first and quickly. The only thing I would say I didn't like was the price .... it was a bit much for a hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBears10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Good location, good stay, good service. I would recommend this hotel. Do not expect any frills but the place is clean. Free internet was a plus!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolbreeze1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Staff was excellent. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

I've only had two mediocre experiences with Holiday Inn and this was one of them. The web painted a much better picture of the Hotel location and condition that what I actually received. I think this is a consistant experiance that I've had with each stay in larger metropolitain areas. I would not recommend this hotel location to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akeiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton Harbor, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

We found the staff to be very accomodating, the rooms clean and comfortable and the bed very comfortable after a long day of baseball games and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tebaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#124 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Address: 506 W Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60607-4303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn(R) & Suites Chicago - Downtown conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, and other prominent area attractions. We are steps away from the CTA Clinton Blue Line station on South Clinton Street and I-290 on South Canal Street, this Chicago hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. What's exciting is vacationers are surrounded by Willis Tower, the Museum Campus, Soldier Field and more when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our business travelers appreciate our hotel's location, meeting rooms space of 2,000 sq. ft., free Wi-Fi access, an extensive fitness center, a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool and dining facilities. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Downtown
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing