We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome employees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Ranked #120 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome employees”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were here because we had an interview at the U.S. Custom House, across the street for the Global Goes pass and this was why we originally picked this hotel at this location but when we return for any reason, we will definitely stay here.
The hotel itself was great, all of the amenities were very nice. Our room was a very good room but the people you have at that hotel are really outstanding. They were so friendly and welcoming, that they made you smile. I've stayed at quite a number of hotels as we travel extensively but these people were just outstanding. Talk about service oriented, they couldn't do enough for you. Your manager Mr. Knox, Your desk clerk, your valet, your waitress and manager in the bar/restaurant and your waitress in the breakfast restaurant were all just great. We will be happy to stay here anytime we are in Chicago. Thanks for making our short stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Faïza R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your experience at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. It is our goal to ensure that we not just meet but exceed your expectations and have shared your great comments with our staff.

Please know your business is valued and we hope that any of your future Chicago lodging needs include the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown.


Sincerely,

Nitin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    251
    111
    56
    27
See reviews for
153
102
78
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had problems on our reservation and to make front desk employee that received us to understand what "double bed" meant, but it was rapidly solved. Had also problems with the bathtub drain that was clogged, so the smell in the room went really bad, but Alina was very helpful in changing our room immediately without any dificulties (staff moved our bags during the day while we were out as per our request). Honest continental breakfast, reasonably close to the Loop and main streets, the best value you can get in expensive Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Felipe F,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown while visiting the Chicagoland area and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your comments and will share with our staff as it helps motivate us and make us go that extra mile when we know it makes our guest day!

In reference to the tub drain, please accept our sincere apologies as we are working diligently to prevent future occurrences of this nature.

Again, thank you and looking forward to your next visit.

Thank You

Nitin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday inn for 3 nights. The bed was comfy and the staff couldn't have been more nice and helpful ! It's well located (just near by Union Station) and if you're a good walker, everything is in a walking distance. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faïza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Faïza R,

Thank you for posting a 5 star rating about your stay at our Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am happy to know your comfort on all levels was met. I also hope you were able to visit the Willis Tower Ledge and the John Hancock 360 Tilt both has amazing views of the Chicago. If you were unable, let my staff assist you with planning your day the next time you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Nitin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbs of Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have stayed at this Holiday in 3 times in the last 3 years because it is close to the UIC Natatorium. This time I used a groupon and the price made me choose it again over other hotels in the river north area. This Holiday Inn is located in a busy and noisy part of town. My room on the second floor facing east was at street level and noisy. I had to have engineers in my room 2 times to fix the heat and the refrigerator which froze all my food. I had to ask for the fridge because it is not standard in these rooms. No Microwaves either. The rooms are small and the bathroom is even smaller. The parking is an issue no matter where you go in the city. Be prepared to pay. You can pay $20 at an unattended lot next to the hotel or the $30/35 for valet service. I was told $30 at check in and was surprised to see $35 at check out. Alina took off the extra considering the problems I experienced during my stay. There are several very helpful staff here including Alina, Sean and the valet from Acapulco ( I can't remember his name). Sean was particularly helpful remembering my name and any issues arising with my stay.
There isn't a free breakfast here like the other HIE properties around the Midwest. Overall room was clean and bed was comfortable but I don't know if I would take a chance with this hotel again because of noise.

Room Tip: Try to get room on south side facing west for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear CS4travel,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay at our Holiday Inn. We can completely understand how you feel with free breakfast not being offered at Holiday Inn but only at Holiday Inn Express. Our brand has continued to work on differentiating the two. Also, please accept our apologies for the noise, freezer issue, heat and parking fees. Despite the issues you experienced, we are happy to know Sean, Alina and our valet attendant were available to assist you during your stay.


Thank you once again and welcome your return in the near future when you are visiting UIC.

Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Central Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

With the St. Patrick's Day Weekend coming up, I was not able to stay in my normal location, so I opted to try a different hotel with the Holiday Inn brand. I found the staff here to be very helpful and nice. I was running a little behind for business, but a little ahead for occupancy of the room. The front desk offered me a room to put my things in, and within 5 minutes had secured the second room that I needed. I was able to make my appointments, and all things were good. The hotel is clean and staff is very courteous. Everyone from the valet to the office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel is several blocks away from the core of Michigan Avenue, so taking a cab is a must. One thing I really liked about the hotel was the access to I-290, and the fact that it had on-site parking. I was able to put things in my car following my appointments, and that made things a little easier for me. Normally if you stay downtown, you have to wait or bother people to be able to get access to your vehicle. Not the case here.

As an alternative to being right down town, which I tend to prefer, this was a nice place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There were no noise issues, and the internet access was very good. I also enjoyed the fact that I was able to eat in a clean nice restaurant on-site for breakfast. I also found the price to be reasonable, and a hassle free stay.

Room Tip: The hotel has three elevators, so getting to a room is not a problem. There will be no wait. My ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WuSongLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear WuSongLong,


We are very pleased to know you had given our Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown an opportunity to have you as our guest. We know you have many choices. It was an honor to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and that our staff in all areas provided exemplary service. Also, we are happy to know our location was accessible to I-290 and valet parking services were readily available.

Thank you once again for the opportunity and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Nice newly remodeled and very consistent hotel. Sean at the front desk is just great and always makes my stay even better. He always remembers what kind of room I like and tries to accommodate me. On site restaurant is good and has nice bar.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matttp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear mattp,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown and for recognizing one our team members. We have passed along your great comments to Sean for his great service. Most importantly, thank you for being one of our repeat guests.


Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The location of this hotel is within walking distance of Union Station which is nice. The employees are nice and helpful. The room was clean and had a comfortable bed. The lack of a microwave and refrigerator was annoying, but that's the only bad thing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubsy_Malone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Bubsy_Malone,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are happy to know you enjoyed your clean room, our friendly staff and that you had easy access to the Amtrak Union Station. We hope the next time you visit Chicago, you are able to enjoy the additional amenities being added to our guestrooms.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,983 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Address: 506 W Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60607-4303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn(R) & Suites Chicago - Downtown conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, and other prominent area attractions. We are steps away from the CTA Clinton Blue Line station on South Clinton Street and I-290 on South Canal Street, this Chicago hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. What's exciting is vacationers are surrounded by Willis Tower, the Museum Campus, Soldier Field and more when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our business travelers appreciate our hotel's location, meeting rooms space of 2,000 sq. ft., free Wi-Fi access, an extensive fitness center, a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool and dining facilities. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Downtown
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing