We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Ranked #115 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
188 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Won't be returning”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Described as Downtown, yea Union Station, the financial district, but not any great sights. Long walk or drive to Navy Pier and parking at Navy Pier is not cheap. When we told them our vehicle's low tire pressure was on and missing two tire caps when they brought it from valet they responded by assuring us their lot was secure; disappointing to say the least. Next visit to Chicago will not be with a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdtinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear mdtinos,

Please accept our sincere apology for what you experienced during your stay and if our hotel fell below your expectations. Rest assured, your comments have been shared with our management team. We hope you give us another opportunity in the near future to show our commitment to service. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,

Adrienne-HIHS Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    249
    107
    54
    26
See reviews for
150
99
76
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a good hotel for downtown Chicago. I stay here many times for work. The staff is welcoming and helpful. You can walk to the Willis Tower, architectural boat tours, theaters and State Street shopping. It's a bit too far from the Magnificent Mile but it's easy to get a cab. The restaurant is OK and reasonably priced. Good pizza but not like Unos! I parked in the adjacent public lot and used the self-serve pay machine. It was fine but I left my car there and didn't leave for three days. During the day, it's packed but nights are not a problem for space. I never saw an attendant but I've never had a problem there. It was $15/a day cheaper than the HI. The rooms are nice enough. I've always had a quiet stay but it matters which side of the building you are on. There are only 5 floors so it's quick to get up/down the elevators.

Room Tip: Stay on the side facing the parking lot, Harrison, or the ramp from I90. You'll be happier. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wis_Badger_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for being a regular visitor to our hotel and for taking the time to relay your comments. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Thank you,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xyia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff was exceptional and we had great customer service. Room is ok could be more modern and need a refridge and microwave. Stay was not loud at all. . . Except my kids talking in their sleep. Our room was really close to busy street and only occasionally heard ambulance. Beware of the attached self-park. They over sell spots and the staff is rude. Would have been better paying the the extra to the hotels and getting valet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear xyia,

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn and Suites Chicago Downtown. Your willingness to spare some of your time to give your feedback is genuinely appreciated. We are happy to know you encountered the service our staff has to offer and apologized for the behavior of the private parking lot employee. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed in mid-May while attending the National Restaurant Show. The room was clean, the bed was nice and comfy, and the staff was very friendly from front desk to housekeeping (except for restaurant staff). The location wasn't as great as I thought it would be, but it was a quick $10 cab ride to get anywhere we needed. So for the price of the room and ease of getting around, this hotel worked for this particular trip. The biggest issue was the outside noise since this hotel is right next to the highway. If it hadn't been for the ear plugs they provided in every room complimentary, there's no way I would have been able to sleep during this trip. The highway noise is constant all night long. But with the ear plugs they thankfully provided, I was able to sleep all night with little disturbances. I did have an issue with their restaurant - service was entirely too slow and unfriendly and the cost is too high for what is provided with their buffet and level of unprofessional service. I only breakfast there the first morning and didn't go back because of this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Amber S,

Thank you for leaving a review and staying with the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown during the National Restaurant Show. We are happy to know that the ear plugs assisted with a good night's rest and that you received excellent service from the front desk and housekeeping staff. We apologize for the experience you had with the restaurant buffet and staff. We are in the process of retraining and have shared your comments with the team.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Holiday Inn & Suites Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel was nothing spectacular, but we had no complaints. Booked with the park for a penny package so that was a plus. Room was clean and bed was very comfy. Staff was friendly. Location was good in my opinion, only a $10 cab fare to get anywhere we wanted to go. Would stay here again if we ever have the cash to go back to Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 934traveler934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear 934traveler934 ,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are happy you enjoyed the Park for a Penny Package, comfortable room, friendly staff, location and taxi ride to your destination.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Older but clean hotel. Friendly staff. Even though I was charged for breakfast when I had the voucher (priority club) for a free breakfast, the waitress put voucher in pocket and acted like she did'nt take it when it was time to pay. The charge appeared on our credit card and they are supposed to be refunding it . Pool is really small. Rooms are just average. In my opinion the location is not good. There is nothing close by to walk too. It is close to Union Station but far walk to any stores or resturants. I would much prefer to stay closer to the loop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkir98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Nikkir98 ,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club Member. We are happy to know you took advantage of the hotel's local extra with the breakfast coupon but apologized that the staff charged your credit card in error. We have sent you an offline message to gather more information to ensure you receive the credit you were promised.

Sincerely,

Adrienne E.
HIHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm a Priority Club member and have stayed at many Holiday Inns. This one was old, run down, and dreary. On the plus side, the staff were nice and helpful. Everything seemed clean enough. The breakfast wasn't good. I'd stay again if it was my only choice--it's not like it was awful--but it just wasn't nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear annaboat,

Thank you for your candid feedback about your stay and thank you for being a member of IHG Rewards Club. We apologize that your breakfast and dreary hotel experience was not up to standard. We are happy to know that you encountered our nice and helpful staff while relaxing in our clean room. We hope that you would give us another opportunity in the near future as we would love to have you as our guest. Also, we have sent an offline message to you.

Thank you once again,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#124 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Address: 506 W Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60607-4303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn(R) & Suites Chicago - Downtown conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, and other prominent area attractions. We are steps away from the CTA Clinton Blue Line station on South Clinton Street and I-290 on South Canal Street, this Chicago hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. What's exciting is vacationers are surrounded by Willis Tower, the Museum Campus, Soldier Field and more when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our business travelers appreciate our hotel's location, meeting rooms space of 2,000 sq. ft., free Wi-Fi access, an extensive fitness center, a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool and dining facilities. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Downtown
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing