We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$547
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$675
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$299
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$361
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$375
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$474
$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveler rating
293
276
120
60
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
276
120
60
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion stationblue linerooftop poolfront deskwillis towerchicago downtownconvenient locationvalet parkingwalking distanceaverage hotelthe hotel is cleanself parkthe loopchecking instreet noisethe entire staffstaff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 778 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I often land in Chicago on my way back to Europe. It's usually in the late afternoon, I am jet lagged and don't feel to take another flight right away.
So I go to this hotel (about $30 the shuttle from O'Hare), rest for the night, and catch the Californa Zephyr at Union Station the next day at 2PM. There is a good choice of food in the area, and the station is only 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: Like somebody else suggested, it's good to a member of the Priority Club
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TurtleSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear mcarrera99,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are happy to know that you were close to the Union Station and that you were able to take the shuttle from the airport to the hotel.

Thank you for choosing us and look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Chicago in the near future.

Best Regards,

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

we came in from St. Paul for the show and got wonderfull treatment from everyone at hotel and in the restraunt And a special thanks for the housekeeping staff for returning my much needed i-pad charger promptly, The rooms were clean as was the whole Hotel, food was great! the host Rob was the best Diane Lundahl MN.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Diane L,


Thank you for leaving the 5 star review about your experience and thank you for staying with us. We are happy to know that you received wonderful treatment from the staffs and the manager at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. Also, we want you to know that your comments have been shared with all departments.

Thank you once again and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked through hotels.com. Big mistake, we got there at 1am and they didn't have a room for us. They did pay for our cab for us to go to another hotel, but at first that was it. Once my husband shared that we were platinum priority clubs, they then refunded us for that night. The manager was really nice about it in the end. I still wish they had called hotels.com to get our contact info so that we could have gone right to the other location. All and all the hotel is exactly what I would expect from a Holiday Inn. The breakfast is hot, and decent.

Mostly the BIG plus of this hotel is the location for the price! Its RIGHT next to the Clinton stop on the Blue line and a walk from downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Chicavm,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown and thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards Platinum Member. We apologize that your room was not available when you arrived but happy to know you received your refund for the problem. We are also happy to know that you returned back to the hotel and that you received exactly what you expect from a Holiday Inn.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back.


Sincerely,

Adrienne E.
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a fine location for a quick trip. The rooms are average at best and a bit run down. It is close to city transport so convenient for getting around downtown. If you are looking for quiet luxury I would look past this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Steph J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We wanted to let you know that we are currently making changes to improve on the guest experience. The hotel exterior is being repainted to create a refreshing look and there is more to come. The next time that you stay with us, please stop by the desk so we can say hello.

Kindest Regards,

Adrienne E.
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I recently stayed there on May 24th and I was truly impressed with how courteous the staff was, from the front desk to housekeeping everyone was remarkable. The downside is the hotel is a little outdated, but overall it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelerie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Kelerie1988,

Thank you so much for the feedback and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We have shared your comments with our staff and have recognized them for their efforts. Please note that we are in the process of updating our property to create a better guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you can experience the changes.

Warm regards,

Adrienne E.
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews