We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Nearby Hotels
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$659
$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$406
$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$1,049
$525
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$309
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$540
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$289
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$594
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$530
$415
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$718
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveler rating
292
276
120
60
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
276
120
60
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion stationblue linerooftop poolfront deskwillis towerchicago downtownconvenient locationvalet parkingwalking distanceaverage hotelthe hotel is cleanself parkthe loopchecking instreet noisethe entire staffstaff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 777 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I recently stayed there on May 24th and I was truly impressed with how courteous the staff was, from the front desk to housekeeping everyone was remarkable. The downside is the hotel is a little outdated, but overall it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelerie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Kelerie1988,

Thank you so much for the feedback and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We have shared your comments with our staff and have recognized them for their efforts. Please note that we are in the process of updating our property to create a better guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you can experience the changes.

Warm regards,

Adrienne E.
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown for 2 nights on May 11th. We were very impressed with the friendly front desk staff that was working each night. They were very helpful in giving directions and suggestions for our weekend visit. The AM desk staff was probably just as friendly, but we were out of the hotel early each day so can't confirm that it's true. This property was conveniently located for driving into the city, parking, and then catching a cab, bus, or walking to Chicago's attractions and great shopping & restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperspeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear cooperspeople,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the wonderful review about your experience at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We have shared your comments with the front desk and the rest of the team. We are very pleased to know that you were able to travel to and from the hotel by all means of transportation without any problems. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you visit Chicago.

Thank you once again,

Adrienne E.
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights here. Overlooks a carpark which isn't great but hey who stays in the room for views ? Right near the CTA station which is handy but it took us a few days to get the hang of it. Staff here are friendly but be aware the directions they give you to get to attractions can be a little wrong. We wasted a good 2 hours waiting for a bus thanks to their advice but locals set us straight. The rooms are clean and have all that a traveller needs. No room safe though which is a negative.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytotry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear happytotry,


Thank you for your feedback about your experience at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are happy to know your room was clean and that you were able to tour Chicago. We apologize that the information given by the front desk caused time lost with your travels and want you to know that we are in the process of retraining on that specific topic.

Thank you once again for your feedback and hope you will give us a try in the near future.

Sincerely,

Adrienne E.
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip in April 2013. My fiance got to join me, so we were looking for a place that was convenient for both of us - me to get to the area office and him for working at hotel or nearby coffeeshop.

We arrived very late due to the timing of our flight, but were pleasantly greeted and efficiently checked in. Our room was on the corner, at the end of the hall, by a busy intersection, but I barely heard the noise by night two (also, they provided ear plugs, which was a welcome touch). We weren't right near an L, which I hear can be even louder.

Location? Fine, I was able, in good weather and light, to walk to and from my office, .5 miles away. Seems to be near transportation, but not tourist attractions. Even in pouring rain, doormen hailed us cabs so we could stay dry - much appreciated and very kind.

Room? It was spacious enough, clean and had everything we needed. Exactly what I'd expect from a Holiday Inn, and on the nicer side of that.

Food/drink? A little expensive, breakfast, bar, and dinner, but expected in Chicago. Food and drink was all lovely and it was nice to have options right there. Snack bar was open 24 hours (just ask at front desk) which was appreciated for our late night arrival.

Overall, I would stay here again for another trip to Chicago. It was reasonably priced, had excellent service across the board (front desk, doormen, bartender), and was a reasonable walk to general things (further from attractions).

Room Tip: If you can request not to have a corner room, that might help with traffic, But even then, it wasn't bad!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzymcboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Lizzymcboo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review about your stay and for sharing every aspect about your experience. We are happy to know that you were able to travel around town without any problems even in the rain. We are glad to know that your room was spacious, clean and that the corner room did not interfere with your sleep. We are pleased to know that your dining experience was lovely and that you were able to enjoy the different menu choices. Most importantly, your feedback reinforced what others had mentioned about excellent service from the staff at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this budget holiday inn for two nights and had very enjoyable stay. Rooms large, clean and beds really comfy. The attached restaurant was very good with superb breakfasts and lovely staff. Situate near to tube station or walkable to many attractions. Would come again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Julie P,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are happy to know you enjoyed our in house restaurant Sunny's breakfast and our lovely staff. We are glad to know that the rooms were comfy and excited that you were able to walk around town to the many tourist locations. Please let us know when you are visiting Chicago again, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews