We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,basic and ok location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Ranked #117 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly,basic and ok location”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights here. Overlooks a carpark which isn't great but hey who stays in the room for views ? Right near the CTA station which is handy but it took us a few days to get the hang of it. Staff here are friendly but be aware the directions they give you to get to attractions can be a little wrong. We wasted a good 2 hours waiting for a bus thanks to their advice but locals set us straight. The rooms are clean and have all that a traveller needs. No room safe though which is a negative.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytotry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear happytotry,


Thank you for your feedback about your experience at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are happy to know your room was clean and that you were able to tour Chicago. We apologize that the information given by the front desk caused time lost with your travels and want you to know that we are in the process of retraining on that specific topic.

Thank you once again for your feedback and hope you will give us a try in the near future.

Sincerely,

Adrienne E.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    251
    110
    55
    27
See reviews for
152
102
77
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip in April 2013. My fiance got to join me, so we were looking for a place that was convenient for both of us - me to get to the area office and him for working at hotel or nearby coffeeshop.

We arrived very late due to the timing of our flight, but were pleasantly greeted and efficiently checked in. Our room was on the corner, at the end of the hall, by a busy intersection, but I barely heard the noise by night two (also, they provided ear plugs, which was a welcome touch). We weren't right near an L, which I hear can be even louder.

Location? Fine, I was able, in good weather and light, to walk to and from my office, .5 miles away. Seems to be near transportation, but not tourist attractions. Even in pouring rain, doormen hailed us cabs so we could stay dry - much appreciated and very kind.

Room? It was spacious enough, clean and had everything we needed. Exactly what I'd expect from a Holiday Inn, and on the nicer side of that.

Food/drink? A little expensive, breakfast, bar, and dinner, but expected in Chicago. Food and drink was all lovely and it was nice to have options right there. Snack bar was open 24 hours (just ask at front desk) which was appreciated for our late night arrival.

Overall, I would stay here again for another trip to Chicago. It was reasonably priced, had excellent service across the board (front desk, doormen, bartender), and was a reasonable walk to general things (further from attractions).

Room Tip: If you can request not to have a corner room, that might help with traffic, But even then, it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzymcboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Lizzymcboo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review about your stay and for sharing every aspect about your experience. We are happy to know that you were able to travel around town without any problems even in the rain. We are glad to know that your room was spacious, clean and that the corner room did not interfere with your sleep. We are pleased to know that your dining experience was lovely and that you were able to enjoy the different menu choices. Most importantly, your feedback reinforced what others had mentioned about excellent service from the staff at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this budget holiday inn for two nights and had very enjoyable stay. Rooms large, clean and beds really comfy. The attached restaurant was very good with superb breakfasts and lovely staff. Situate near to tube station or walkable to many attractions. Would come again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Julie P,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We are happy to know you enjoyed our in house restaurant Sunny's breakfast and our lovely staff. We are glad to know that the rooms were comfy and excited that you were able to walk around town to the many tourist locations. Please let us know when you are visiting Chicago again, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I loved this hotel! I stayed here for one night with my husband, who hardly ever gets to travel with me. I'm incredibly impressed with the staff and how welcoming they were. They upgraded us to a beautiful king suite and it was nice to have a spacious spot to spread out in and unwind.

The breakfast was lacking though. We asked to see a menu before being seated and the lady handed them to us and then when we were done looking and had decided to stay, we informed her we were ready to be seated. She didn't say ONE WORD and grabbed our menus and sat us down after rolling her eyes. The food was good and the waiter was great but the hostess was RUDE.

Other than that, I was completely satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_L732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear J_L732,

Thank you so much for the nice review regarding your welcoming committee. We are happy to know you enjoyed the comforts of your upgraded room. We apologize for your experience with the hostess and wanted to inform you that the staff is being retrained. We are glad to know the food was good and you were provided great service by your waiter.
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the HIHS.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn for 2 nights while attending a concert at UIC (very close). We found the best part of this hotel to be the super friendly staff. When we arrived Sean checked us in and was helpful in recommending places to eat. The room was very nice. We also loved the restuarant that is located in the hotel, Aurelios. Great pizza! Sharon and Taiyon were also so super friendly. We live in the South, so finding a hotel in a big city where we feel right at home is priceless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietteN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you JulietteN for writing a review about the Holiday Inn Suites Chicago Downtown. We are glad to hear that our staff provided super friendly service, the room was nice, that you enjoyed our in house restaurant Aurelio's and most importantly, you felt right at home. Also, to let you know that your comments have been shared with the staff. We welcome you back to our hotel when you visit Chicago in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here because I was going to a concert at the United Center on the weekend. The rates are reasonable and staff was extremely helpful. I have stayed at this hotel before, it's a convenient location for what we like to do. The decor is somewhat dated but it's not too bad. I would definitely recommend as a great value, well located and friendly place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirlLRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear ShirlLRacine,

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at the Holiday Inn Suites Chicago Downtown. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that our friendly staff was able to assist you.

Thank you for staying with us once again while you were in Chicago.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay. The rates are reasonable and the staff is excellent. They go the extra mile to make sure you feel welcome at this facility. They are pleasant and greet you with a smile. They are constantly re-modeling, but you don't see it. I stay here frequently and they are very sneaky about their upgrades to the facility. They must do it all while we are sleeping. :) If you have an opportunity to stay at this hotel, I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: As is with any Chicago hotels, the higher floors are quieter from a traffic and emergency vehicle no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIHS-Manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for taking the team to leave a review about the Holiday Inn Suites Chicago Downtown. We are very pleased to know that you have made our hotel your home while in Chicago and that the staff has made you feel welcomed. And you are correct; we try to update the hotel in a quiet way without disturbing our guests.

Thank you so much,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#131 of 189 in Chicago
1,959 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Address: 506 W Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60607-4303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn(R) & Suites Chicago - Downtown conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, and other prominent area attractions. We are steps away from the CTA Clinton Blue Line station on South Clinton Street and I-290 on South Canal Street, this Chicago hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. What's exciting is vacationers are surrounded by Willis Tower, the Museum Campus, Soldier Field and more when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our business travelers appreciate our hotel's location, meeting rooms space of 2,000 sq. ft., free Wi-Fi access, an extensive fitness center, a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool and dining facilities. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Downtown
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing