We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location! Very friendly staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #114 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location! Very friendly staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

Stayed for five nights, great location! Great boutique hotel! Great staff. Had a beautiful room on the top floor (14th floor) with views of Lake Michigan. The room is very cosy with the Indigo colors in light green and light blue. Indigo boutique brand concept is great with Starbucks coffee in the morning. Huge Walgreens located next to the hotel and plenty of great restaurants and shops. Great value for money, would stay again immediately.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAdorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    472
    189
    82
    58
See reviews for
255
361
96
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

Just back from 3 nights at the indigo with my husband and 2 sons (aged 12 and 16)

Great hotel, great location - L train nearby. Very helpful bellman.

Loved the room - very spacious and bright. Free internet which the kids used a lot.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maryDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2007

Whimsical lobby and room design, comfortable rooms with lots of space, great location and exceptional attention to detail. If you need a funky and comfortable place to stay in Chicago I would TOTALLY suggest this property.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaize76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

Our first trip to Chicago was great! On the recommendation of a friend, me and 3 girlfriends stayed here for a girls weekend trip of baseball and shopping and I can honestly say this place is well worth the location and the money. It's only 2 blocks from an El station and located near many fabulous restaurants. The rooms were very clean and the decorations are very unique and lively....a step up from some of your traditional hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpful in helping us get around Chicago through the use of public transportation. My only drawback was the showerhead....could've been a little bigger, but other than that....I have no complients about this hotel and strongly urge everyone to stay at the Hotel Indigo whenever they visit Chicago!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the showerhead
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hjepobst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2007

I was on a group trip last spring for a couple of days and stayed at this hotel. It was a very nice place to stay. The feel of the hotel is different from any other place I have stayed. It is brightly-colored in the lobby and in the rooms.

The location can't be beat--Gold Coast area in Chicago--very close to the El and to Rush Street nightlife.

The lobby has a Starbucks and a bar in the front; the bar was pretty well-filled that night, and the Starbucks was the next day.

The room I stayed in was large and was well-designed. Beds were comfortable.

I would stay here again, the next time I travel to Chicago.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Some noise at night in the hallways.
  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gopher_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2007

My wife and I stayed compliments of my Holiday Inn points the evening of Friday April 13 and Saturday April 14 2007. We stayed in room 1108. This was the 11th floor out of 14 and faced downtown Chicago to the south (very nice view).

The biggest positive to us was the location. To get to the red line of the "L" you need to go one block south and one block west - about 5 minutes. The L train is an excellent way to get around the city. It's two stops away from the Mag mile. We were in town for a Reds vs. Cubs baseball game and the red line takes you right to the stadium. The other positive of the location is being in the Gold Coast neighborhood which is the most exclusive neighborhood in Chicago. The blocks north and to the east (towards the lake) make a nice little walk to check out some really neat, old houses (millions of dollars if you have the means). I've stayed in Chicago a number of times. While the larger chain hotels by the loop are closer to the shopping and tourist stuff, this was the first time I felt immersed as part of the city as opposed to a visitor.

The room and hotel have a nautical feel. It was our first stay at the Indigo brand. I've stayed a ton of Holiday Inn's and US hotels. This did feel like the nice version of a Holiday Inn express. Everthing was nice, but it didn't have the quality feel of a Marriott or Hilton. Again, it was nice but the colors and theme just weren't our thing. Not a problem as we were there just to sleep.

The drawbacks
1. The friendliness level of the front desk could use some improvement. Nobody asked how my stay was which I think is a minimum for the front desk. They were also complaining to each other about people trying to check in early.
2. The single window in our room did not shut completely and we could hear all of the noise from the street below. I didn't let this impact my rating becuase a) it was room specific and b) it's the city, there's going to be noise.
3. THE VALET PARKING NEXT DOOR WAS $35 A NIGHT. My two free nights cost me $70 in parking!!! I know the city is expensive and it didn't bother me too much at first. When were were strolling the neighborhood, we found a parking lot north of the hotel for $18 per 24 hours.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk friendliness
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Yetiman420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2007

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo on March 16th-17th, 2007 with a friend. The hotel is in a great location close to bars, clubs, and anywhere else you may want to go downtown. Valet parking is $35, with in and out privileges. We also went to Dave and Busters which is only a couple of blocks from this hotel. Check-in was easy and I didn't have any problems there. One of the elevators was broken so had to wait a while to get upstairs. The room wasn't that big, but it was nice. It was perfect for what we needed. It was also very clean and nicely decorated. The business center on the basement level was nice, it had 2 computers and a printer. Overall, it was a good stay. I would definitely stay at Hotel Indigo again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank frequentflyerUAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#88 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#120 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing