We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #114 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Detroit MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unfriendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo for three days over this past weekend. I called the hotel directly to make my reservation. The operator gave me the price 299.00, which was 120.00 more the first night since it was a Saturday. The other two nights were 120.00 cheaper, 179.00 a night. She sent me an email confirmation of these prices.
When I checked in, the woman at the front desk told me that the first night would be 100.00 more that what I had been quoted on the phone. I told her that I was told the room would be 299.00 a night and she stated no, it is 399.00 a night. I said I think there is a mistake she insisted no it is not a mistake. I took out my receipt with the amount printed on it , which she still said that was not the right price. I again stated that was the price I was given on the phone and it was on the receipt. She finally called her manager over, he took my printed receipt to the back office. He came out and said It was more because I had 3 people. I stated I do not have 3 people only 2 people. He went in the back again and stated that they had me down for 3 people and that is an extra 20.00 charge and showed me an area on the bottom of the receipt where 20.00 was printed. That still did not make sense to me because it was 100.00 more not 20.00 more. I felt like they did not believe me that I had 2 people. Finally after about 20 minutes they gave me the amount on the printed email receipt. This was very unpleasant. They made me feel like i was the bad guy. I felt like they did not believe me even though I had the price right on the confirmation slip. No one ever said They were sorry they had made a mistake.

Generally, the people at the front desk were not friendly. No one ever said hello when you walked by. When I checked out the woman did not even ask how everything was or even thank-you or have a nice day. Other hotels in Chicago seem so friendly I did not find anyone in this hotel friendly. The doorman did not help me with the door when I left , he saw me with 2 suitcases. A guest coming in held the door open. I could not believe it when I saw the doorman watching.
There was a big crowd of kids outside of the hotel on Dearborn making alot of noise at 2:00 in the morning. This went on for about an hour.

The handle on the toilet kept falling off also. IF I had paid 399.00 a night I would have been very unhappy. We had recently stayed at the Fairmont in San Fransico and we did not have one complaint. If you pay the high prices you should expect things to be pretty perfect.
The hotel was cute and very clean. The beds were comfortable.

  • Liked — Interior design very creative
  • Disliked — The front desk
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdieDetroitMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    472
    189
    82
    58
See reviews for
255
361
96
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

Spent 5 nights here at the end of June while attending a conference. Very attractive hotel- converted older hotel so rooms vary in size, but very nicely done. Staff friendly and very nice feel to the hotel. Very good location a couple of blocks from CTA transit line- several good restaurants nearby.

Recommend it

Had read a TripAdvisor report that gave me pause, but discount it after my very positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TalesFromTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

The hotel, located in the relatively quiet residential area of the Gold Coast, is conveniently located 1 1/2 blocks from a subway stop. The only issue with transportation is that we could not return northbound due to weekend and evening construction closing the route.

The room design really made fantastic use of the space. Having a small sitting area added to the value. When we first arrived, there was drilling right outside as workers repaired the scaffolding -- the hours were limited to midday, and we didn't have any problems with noise.

We really enjoyed our stay, and there were only two minor drawbacks -- the food service was lackadaisical, at best, and the front desk insisted on a limousine service to the airport, when we were able to hail a taxi that morning for half the price.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank OHVirginiaNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

What a great hotel. The check in staff were ready for us, the rooms were clean and had a fantastic view of Lake MIchigan. The front desk staff were extremely helpful as were the bellhops when we were looking for information and directions. Very comfortable beds and all the amenities you could want. Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Liked — Very clean rooms-very helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing bad to say
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmpassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

We had to come to Chicago for a funeral. We only stayed one night. The Hotel Indigo was beautiful. The color schemes were awesome. The staff was friendly. The night clerk upgraded our room for us. I LOVED the location. Quiet residential area, but just a couple blocks from all the action. We were able to walk the tree lined beautiful streets to the church for the funeral. There is a GREAT restaurant on the same block, wonderful breakfast. It couldn't have been a better experience. I would love to stay there again.

  • Liked — I liked the location and the awsome rooms.
  • Disliked — The little cafe was not prepared for breakfast, however there was an excellent restaurant on the same street for breakfast :-)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mayba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

I came to Chicago to celebrate my son's birthday. What a wonderful trip and a beautiful boutique hotel. The staff greeted me with a smile everytime I walked through the door. My room was so relaxing and the bed was very comfortable. The shower water was always hot. Everthing you could ask for was minutes away, restaurants, shopping, night life etc.etc.. This will be the hotel I stay at when traveling through the Windy City.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bettyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

My Aunt, cousin and I came to the Big City from Louisiana to do all the shopping we could. Friends had told us about the Indigo (without going into great detail so as not to spoil our surprise). We checked in and were absolutely amazed at how different it was but we still felt as if we were on a relaxing vacation. I loved the decor - thought it was very cool. That was enough to have enjoyed the hotel but we also experienced staff that always smiled and were very helpful to some southern girls. I've told everyone about our stay. Everyone going to Chicago for a visit or some shopping should get to stay. Thank you!

  • Liked — the decor of the rooms
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank theresalpbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#90 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#63 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#120 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing