We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claridge House Chicago
Nearby Hotels
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$659
$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$490
$428
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$406
$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$289
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$1,049
$525
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$540
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$594
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$530
$415
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$718
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,322)
Filter reviews
1,322 results
Traveler rating
443
506
210
99
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
506
210
99
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclark divisionaveda productsquiet neighborhoodgreat neighborhoodwithin walking distancelincoln parkbars and restaurantsrooms are smallsitting areachicago downtownking bedhotel is in a great locationmichigan avenueparking garagepublic transportationthe loopmag mile
Filter
Updating list...
704 - 709 of 1,322 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at the Indigo for four nights in August. We had a two bed room (queens) and found it to be very generous in size with a nice seating/table area in between the beds and washroom. The washroom is a bit small but served our needs well (even with two teenage girls). It was on the 11th floor behind the elevator but proved to not be noisy at all. Had a great view of the lake and in front of the hotel. Everyone was very nice and helpful both regarding the hotel itself or surrounding area. Easy check in and out, doorman got us taxis as needed. While it was quiet the night we checked in (on a Sunday) the front desk seemed to be bustling the rest of the nights - seems to be a hot spot for airlines personnel. Very nice location in a residential type area with beautiful brown stones lining the street - felt very safe and enjoyed evening walks in the area. Easy walk to Oak, Michigan, State, Rush streets and within 10 minutes are in the mix of all the shopping. Subway was just around the corner so for longer trips this was very handy. Restaurants and bars are also close by. Overall, great location, very comfortable room, helpfful service with the only caveats being the smaller washroom and ice only on one floor but hardly issues at all for us.

Room Tip: Our double room was a good size, faced the front of the building for lake views and was on the 11th floor so the higher the less street noise you'll notice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the delay in responding to your wonderful review!! We appreciate all the feedback we receive and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We agree our washrooms can be considered cozy, but can you imagine when this hotel opened there were 312 rooms to our 165 and guests actually shared washrooms? It's part of the charm of a historical building.

We hope you'll come back again soon. May we recommend you come back for the holiday shopping season? Michigan Avenue is beautiful with all the holiday decorations and Chicago Ice Skating season is due to open around mid-November. Your teenage girls may enjoy ice skating at the McCormick Tribune Plaza and Ice Rink. Just a thought.

Best wishes for a beautiful fall,

Destini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is awesome. Located on a very quiet street, yet right around the corner from quite a few bars. Also around the corner from a CVS and the metro is very close also. The room had fabulous Aveda products and was very spacious. Definitely would stay there agai

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We loved your short and sweet review!! The last line in your comments was the highest compliment we could receive...definitely would stay there again!! Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you back again soon!

Happy travels,

Destini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was pretty nice and I enjoyed the hotel. the hotel is on a residential type street and is about 2 blocks from the Red Line. There are also several good bars in about one block away. The hotel itself was clean and nice. The hotel staff was also friendly. We had requested a room with either 2 queen beds or one king and a roll out. Neither was available when we checked in, which isn’t a huge surprise as you typically aren’t able to guarantee such things; however, we had been told this wouldn’t be a problem. Long story short, they ended up giving us another room for one night to accommodate this miscommunication. Had the hotel been completely booked that night, might have been a different outcome. The rooms themselves were nice and clean. A few rooms have a strange view of a fire escape that is in the center of the hotel and it that appears to be decoration as it isn’t accessible from any floor. Although this hotel is a bit of a walk to the tourist stuff, the cabs are actually pretty cheap or you could always take the subway. I would stay here again if looking for a more budget friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry we were unable to honor your requests but delighted we were able to provide an alternative. We agree, our location allow easy access to all that downtown Chicago has to offer. We hope you'll be back to see us again soon!

If I can be of assistance in any way, please reach out to me.

All the best,
Destini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is just Wonderful! Great value for your $$. The rooms made you feel cheery the moment you walked in with nice bright colours and the bed was soooo comfortable! Eldina at the front desk was fantastic -we had 2 rooms (for 2 couples) and she made absolutely sure we were just across the hall from each other. She had gone for the day when we checked in and left strict instructions to make sure we stayed together!! We went to the dining room in the morning and this was one of only 2 tiny problems during our stay: It was freezing cold and the maintenance man wasn't available so Eldina offered us complimentary breakfast to compensate. (the other problem was in our friend's room - the fan in the bathroom didn't work and didn't get fixed...very minor issues. The area is perfect if you want a quiet room yet near everything. 'El' train was a block away along with many, many choices of restaurants and pubs. It was only a 15-20 minute walk to the Magnificent Mile and our hop on/hop off bus tour starting at the John Hancock Bldg.. Absolutely recommend Hotel Indigo and will stay in this one when visiting Chicago and any other Indigo's on our travels to other cities. Thanks to all the staff who provided directions and other help but special Thanks to Eldina!

Room Tip: Our Kingbed room was much larger than our friend's Queen bed room - however, the amenities were the same and both beds were VERY comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disneydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the delay in responding to your wonderful review!! Thank you for sharing your comments and for recognizing Eldina for the service she provided during your stay!! She was recently recognized as our Employee of the Month because of feedback such as yours. We also sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel and giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest. We hope you'll come back again soon!!

May we suggest you return in the fall and get in some early holiday shopping along Michigan Avenue? We have a great Macy's Shopping package now that includes a $50 gift card and 10% discount coupon to get you started, and the package includes breakfast. We promise to have the dining room set to a comfortable temperature!

Best wishes,

Destini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently. The location was great, close enough to Michigan Ave/tourist area that you could walk but far enough away that it was quiet at night. The bed was amazing comfortable. Our room was right across from the elevator so it got a little noisy at night/in the morning but not disturbingly so. The room was small but we only spent time in the room to sleep so that didn't matter to me, it was clean and comfortable which was enough for me.

The only complaint I had was there was a line up to check in when we arrived at 11 pm because the front desk staff was sitting in the back and there is no bell to call for service. Beyond that the staff was helpful and answered questions we had/gave recommendations for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Katie5108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Claridge House Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback!! I sincerely apologize there was a wait at check-in, especially at the 11:00 hour. We will certainly address this concern. We are however, very happy you enjoyed our beds. They are a bit heavenly and we see many comments such as yours, it is why you come to a hotel right? Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope we'll see you back again soon!!

Safe and happy travels,

Destini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews