We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding. The staff is not only competent and knowledgable but funny as well .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #123 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This beautiful hotel is bright and sunny,on one oaf the most beautiful streets in Chicago. Loved staying here-will be back! front desk staff et al could not have been more helpful and I am a high maintenancem guest. coffee,bar and art work - lots of time and trouble have gone into this lovely setting Can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanlowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

What a wonderful way to start the day!! I read our reviews in the morning typically so I know what we need to focus on improving throughout the day and coming weeks in order to continue to improve our guest experience. Your review was great and we cannot thank you enough for choosing our hotel and sharing your comments!! We certainly hope you'll become a loyal Hotel Indigo Chicago guest and we can't wait to have you back again!! See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

been back to this hotel 3 times in past year,wonderful knowledgeable staff. friendly boutique hotel in great location. clean tastefully decorated rooms. two people you should meet when you visit:Chris and koweta. they both went above and beyond to make my stay perfect

Room Tip: any room i've stayed in has been great
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review!! You've made my Monday and I've shared your comments with both Koweta and Chris, they will be recognized for the role they played in your Hotel Indigo guest experience!! We hope to see you back again soon, we will have installed our new TV's by June 1st so we suggest you visit again this summer to see our many updates. Thanks for being a loyal Hotel Indigo guest!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The 5 stars says it all, but here's the details so you can see if these are features you'd want in a hotel.

Great location - just around the corner from a Red Line stop. There is construction going on at that train station, but we heard nothing anywhere in the hotel. About a mile north of the Navy Pier, which made a great walk along Lake Michigan. About 5 stops south of Wrigley Field. Neighborhood was safe. There's a 24 hour Walgreens down the block if you need some seltzer or chocolate.

We checked in a little early, and they were able to accomodate us. In any encounter with the front desk staff we were pleased. We were on floor 11, from which we could see Lake Michigan. Had we had a room with an Alley view that would have been OK as we were in Chicago to see it from the streets, not from a hotel room.

There were two big beds. This was a large reason why we picked this hotel as me & my adult son would be in one bed and a buddy (who snored by the way, if I haven't told you pal!!) would be in the other. Other than my son hogging all the blankets (which were of ample size), it was good!!

There were enough towels for all of us.

The place was clean and neat.

Breakfast in the lobby was great. Good, healthy food. With our deal from a website with breakfast being included, that made it even better. I see some commenters had issues about only one person taking care of all the tables, but our waitress was great and took care of everybody just fine. I forget her name but she was wonderful with a nice smile to start the day.

Yes, the TV is an old TV, not a flat screen, as I've seen some commenters comment on. Ya know what? I have an old TV in my house, too. Is that even worth commenting on? Aren't you in Chicago to see Chicago, not watch TV???

The Cubbies even won on the night we stayed!! Can we give Indigo credit for that?

The Cubbies did lose on the next day, though. Maybe I'll blame that one on the airlines....

I'd have no problem staying here again the next time I'm in Chicago.

Room Tip: Since some folks had comments about Subway construction noise and/or the view, maybe ask for a room...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Your review could not have been any better!! We appreciate your comments regarding our TV's, we are in the middle of our TV replacement project at this time and hope when you return you'll be able to watch sports highlights on a new flat screen TV. While we cannot take credit for the Cubs win, we're delighted you chose to stay with us and that you were kind enough to share your comments with the internet world! Please do come and stay again, the summer in our neighborhood could not get much better for a true Chicago experience. Thanks for trying out our Hotel Indigo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Good:
- employees were super friendly, from front desk to maids
- rooms were bright and cute
- Gold Coast locaiton

The Bad:
- specified pre-check in a quiet room away from elevators, was given one across from freight elevator
- had called before booking to find out if Red Line construction would be heard from hotel and was told no, but was woken each morning by it
- adjoining rooms have no insulation between so whatever is going on nextdoor you hear from the tv to...
- tv's are old school/not flatscreen with half the channels fuzzy

The Ugly:
- towels on bathroom floor are supposed to be changed out, and mine were re-rolled up as "new"
- bathroom had remnants of previous guests that were still there during my 5 nite stay
- "hardwood floors" are really Pergo with chunks missing (cut my toe)

I think the Hotel Indigo could be fabulous (location, location) but the employees need proper training from customer service to cleaning... as of now, I would neither reco nor return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfcurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We consider feedback a gift as it allows us to focus our attention on the areas for improvement. We will be sharing your comments with our entire team. Please consider trying us again, we'd love to have you as our guest and show you the improvements we're working on at this time. Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Bought this hotel through Priceline. We arrived at 10:30, but the hotel staff was super accomodating and let us check in early. Got to our room, opened the window, and our view was of the fire escape route - meh, you get what you pay for! Plus we were not planning on staying in the hotel to check out the view of chicago! Theres a decent gym, business centre, and its a close walk to everything - subway, starbucks, walgreens, late night food. Its in a good neighbourhood and overall, i felt very safe. Only thing that annoyed me was the lock getting into the room didn't work well, if at all. We had to get re-keyed several times - it happens. Our room was spacious, stand up shower, and a small tv, and a big king sized bed. Comfortable for two people.
The hotel could also book your tours for you which is very convenient. We tried the architectural boat tour, tour was ok, but if you walk down to the navy, there are other options.

Room Tip: don't get a room that ends in 05 - you will be looking at the fire escape
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobobear_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We appreciate your comments and agree our location is great! We hope you come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our favorite hotel of our Chicago trip. The particular night that we stayed there, it was very reasonably priced, but I know other nights were more. I just found the wall coverings, painting and decor to be very interesting and fun. For example the ceiling of the lobby has a painting on it, if you happen to look up. There were huge walls covered with interesting wallpapers and very interesting choice of colors on the walls of our room. There were also really beautiful flower arrangements in the lobby and original artwork. We happened to get a room overlooking the front street which we enjoyed and enhanced our stay. It is located in a really great residential neighborhood, which is just down the street from what turned out to be great restaurants and bars. It is part of the Priority Rewards program so we also go points for our stay which was an added bonus. I definitely would have chosen to stay at this hotel more nights if I had known what it was going to be like.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review! Please come back and stay with us again soon and may we suggest you try some of our other Hotel Indigo locations? We are confident you'll fall in love with our brand! Thanks for choosing our hotel and for sharing comments regarding your experience. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

When planning my Chicago trip I was looking for a hotel that was not going to break the bank but was also reasonably nice. The Hotel Indigo proved to be that hotel. Its location is excellent being just a block and a half from the subway and set amid the lovely row houses of the Gold Coast. It is within easy walking distance of restaurants, the Chicago History Museum and The Second City comedy club. The staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was on the back end so it overlooked an alley but there was also a view of local buildings. Although not large by today's standards, it was certainly adequate. There were two queen beds, a comfortable sitting area and a small bathroom. The only complaint we had was that it claims to have a restaurant (I was even sent a coupon to use for dinner) but in fact they have a very small menu, and we were basically unable to get a meal on the night of our arrival. However, their breakfasts are amazing which quite redeemed them. They have a spa which I did not use. When I return to Chicago, I will definitely be staying a the Indigo again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttonwoodbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We can't wait to have you back as our guest. Our Seasonal Menu changes are taking place currently so we'll have an all new menu upon your return. We're also replacing all of our TV's currently and have several other projects going on to improve the overall Hotel Indigo guest experience. Schedule your next visit soon! See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Ambassador Chicago
Ambassador Chicago
#101 of 191 in Chicago
1,647 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#75 of 191 in Chicago
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,866 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#76 of 191 in Chicago
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $112 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing