We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I enjoy my trip and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #116 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I enjoy my trip and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

really nice and comfortable hotel~I love all the colors and decoration. The server there is really nice, especially the front desk, Tom Hilton, he is really patient, considerate, hard-working and sweet,:-) I enjoy all the experience in the hotel, the Christmas chocolate and nice photos with Tom!

Room Tip: some room is dry for sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    450
    173
    77
    53
See reviews for
235
345
94
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My fiancee and I wanted to stay close to downtown but at a more intimate setting the the giant corporate hotels. The hotel is small (in a good way) personal, and very clean. We pulled right up to the front door and the desk was only steps away. The parking, elevator, and room were all very close and convenient. The staff was very courteous, helpful and friendly. The rooms are very cool - hardwood floors, bright colors, not your typical hotel room. The hotel is located in a great area within walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Will definetly stay at Indigo again. The only downside would be that the heating unit fans are somewhat noisy (at least in our room) we ended up shutting it off the second night and the lack of storage (which has been mentioned in other reviews). Otherwise I would highly recommend the hotel for couples and those who are looking for a smaller, fun, more intimate hotel in the downtown area

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marklpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We arrived by train at 1 pm and they let us check in right away.
The room was ok ,small with 1 Queen size bed.TV was tiny and old.
I had problems with the comforter,it was very heavy.
Front desk was friendly and they had a small business section with 2 computers .
We booked through Priceline and the experience in all was fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hofgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

They have the best customer service I have ever experienced! I would advise anyone who is coming to Chicago to stay here!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_Quinn_Batch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I was delighted for the opportunity of a return stay at the Hotel Indigo. Despite others' experience with third-party booking, I was actually treated very well.

Due to travel delays, I arrived in Chicago near midnight (several hours later than scheduled). I was concerned about the room status since this was a Hotwire booking. But the front desk clerk, Lissa, could not have been more helpful. I phoned ahead and she said, "Yes, I see your Hotwire booking" -- [so she knew this was 3rd party] -- and I have noted your delayed arrival for a reservation of one night." I replied it was actually two nights -- we had added on a second night after the initial reservation.

Lissa quickly found this information, and remembered it when I finally arrived very late that night at the hotel. Her greeting was friendly and professional -- as soon as I identified myself, she let me know she was the person to whom I had spoken on the phone, and she expressed empathy for the long day of travel delays. (A small thing, perhaps, but it really makes a difference to a tired traveler.) She also told me just to come down to the desk in the morning and they would work out having the "second" reservation applied to my room without necessitating a move.

When I came down the next morning, the only downside was a non-uniformed woman working at the front desk computer. I explained about the reservation consolidation and she *rolled her eyes*(!), made some sort of snorting noise and said "I don't think so," and went back to what she was doing. It was appallingly rude. Luckily a woman standing next to her (who was in the "uniform" of other clerks) quickly said, "Yes, Miss ____, I took care of the reservation this morning and you are all set!" I said the other woman had been very rude; the competent clerk apologized and asked if she could take care of breakfast. I had already eaten, but I appreciated the offer to make things right. Note to management, though: the older woman who works the computer and is not dressed like the clerks should not have contact with guests.

Kudos on the excellent night clerk and morning clerk. I typically book directly through the hotel, although in this instance I used Hotwire on a whim -- and I am pleased to say that I have been treated cordially no matter the booking source (as should be the case in a competently managed hotel.)

P.S. -- The only oddity: since the elevator is near the front door, I realized many guests do not realize there is a small restaurant in the back of the lobby. Rooms have a large menu for a restaurant nextdoor, but no info on in-house dining, which is too bad because it is in a very cute space!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jengaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The good: We really liked the decor and set up of this hotel -very peaceful-had a room with double queen beds that was bright with many chairs and benches, lots of lights, adequate space, full-length mirrrors, big, fluffy towels and easy-access internet service in the room. Ate across the street at Mario's-great Italian food with half portions available for good cost, then walked down to Michigan Avenue, which was an easy walk with wide sidewalks and well lit. Parking gargage with valet parking was conveniently located beside the hotel and got the car shortly after calling for it.
The bad: If you book your room through a third party, they place a $50 hold on your credit card for incidentals, then refund any balance; they will not participate in valet parking, such as calling them for you, as it is a separate business; they will not take responsibility for any offers/services listed for their hotel on the third-party (Expedia, in our case) web site and will not provide any kind of a receipt other than for whatever incidentals you purchase while there.
The ugly: Both check-in and check-out hotel staff seemed very resentful that we had booked third-party, rather than directly with them. There were 3 of us in the room, as we noted when we made the reservation. We had opted to upgrade from the room for $139 to the $180 offer, which stated it included a full breakfast. My husband was the first down to breakfast and found there was no such offer of a full breakfast -what was available for the extra money ($41) was a roll, coffee and juice. My husband tried to cancel the breakfast and get a refund, but the staff refused, saying they had to pay Expedia for it and it could not be refunded. When my daughter and I came down, we found they had collected the breakfast coupon from my husband and that the breakfast was only good for 2 guests, not 3 and we needed to negotiate for the coupon that was required to redeem the roll, juice and coffee breakfast that only 1 more of us was allowed to redeem. Some expensive breakfast, huh?? Our dismay was increased as the night before we had ordered a dessert that came with ice cream, but were told they had run out of ice cream and no adjustment was offered in the price. Seems we were offensive to them by booking third party and not entitled to any refunds for any reason -staff said they sell blocks of rooms to the third party bookers and were not responsible for anything they listed, such as the "full breakfast," and claimed the bookers merely lifted things off the hotel web site. Apparently, that was where Expedia got the full breakfast idea -we suggested they contact their third party bookers and give them the correct info to avoid other guests being as deeply disappointed as we were, but got only a weak half-smile in response. It could be such a great place with a totally wonderful experience if not for the second-class citizens third party booking guests!

Room Tip: Room 1003 has a wonderful skyline view with 2 queen beds, beautiful, relaxing blue decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureLover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The rooms are very small and in top of that they haven put a plasma or HD TV. The bed move because the legs are not very strong. The rooms are not ugly but it will be nice to put a plasma TV.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeVanderbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#92 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#109 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing