We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Wonderful Caring Staff (thanks, Tom!), Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #117 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Wonderful Caring Staff (thanks, Tom!), Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here during Memorial Day weekend, and I'm glad I did. Booked this through a travel site and was excited that it was the Indigo, as co-workers (in Denver) have stayed here before and raved about it.

Even my stupidity could be overcome -- I pride myself on being a "good guest," not showing up hours before check-in and being knowledgeable about the hotel area. So silly me, even after seeing us outfly horrible storms into Chicago, decided to kill time in downtown (shopping, parade etc) and then head up to Gold Coast (grocery shopping for in-room drinks-snacks, fruit etc). By the time I finished, it was pouring rain outside but hey savvy-traveler me knew the hotel was only 2.5 blocks away -- which woulda been great had I not looked at Clark St in reverse and instead headed south (thinking I was going north) and then west (thinking i was going eat). Made for a 10+ block walk (wrong way and back to hotel) in pouring rain with luggage, backpack and groceries.

When pathetic me, looking like a transient person (all wet and disheveled), entered the hotel, Tom Hilton at the front desk greeted me (I'm sure I was quite the spectacle). I was till a few minutes before official checkin time and the room type I was entitled wouldnt be ready right away but I was first on the list, Tom assured. I was fine with that, knowing I had a great rate and that i was early (I'm a reasonable traveler, nonsmoking room as I have allergies is my main requirement).

The next thing i knew, Mr. Hilton was giving me my room key, I asked when I should head up there (thinking Id need to wait in the lobby a little) and he said go right up. I was amazed that he was so accommodating. It was greatly appreciated as some dry clothes were definitely needed after all that traveling and the rainstorm/mess.

In general the room was great...yes they're a bit smallish but in line with Chicago and dont forget this building was built years ago as apartments/hotel so rooms cant be adjusted. In fact the recent renovations maximize the space for guests in my opinion ; it reminded me a bit of the Intercontinental in that regard. It was plenty big for me, extremely comfy bed, great art-deco decor and design, very well thought out in terms of amenities, guest needs (for example: the tray for goodies like snacks was great touch for breakfast or a meal in bed). Loved the hardwood floors too. The free in-room wifi was great in planning my Chicago out-and-abouts -- the free computer internet and printer in the basement was quite helpful for printing important stuff (boarding pass, directions, bus schedules, restaurant coupons etc) and was a nice touch.

The staff was just very upbeat, warm and welcoming all the way around. Tom was awesome -- he even called after my checkin to see if everything was alright. The other front-desk folks was wonderful/friendly -- Lissa in particular. Also, housekeeping staff was awesome -- I actually didnt get housekeeping on all days, but the one on my floor was so nice; when she saw me coming from a distance, she even pressed the elevator button so there'd not be a wait (and the elevators are fast regardless). How thoughtful!

When I get back to Chicago, this hotel will definitely be on my radar. Thanks to Tom and staff for an absolutely wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairmindedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    473
    190
    82
    58
See reviews for
256
361
96
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, MN
Level Contributor
180 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was my third time staying at the Indigo. I always use the Priceline "Name Your Own Price" option and I know that I always get the hotel WAY under market value. But, I always feel that I am being a little bit shunned because I booked through a discounter. If the Indigo doesn't like third party bookers, they shouldn't partner with them.

Anyway, when we checked in the room wasn't ready. We asked how much it would cost to upgrade from a room with a Queen bed to a room with a King. She said the cost would be $30. We put our suitcases in the storage room and left for four hours. When we returned and checked-in, the cost to upgrade to a room with a King bed suddenly shot up to $75. I guess this is the only thing I don't like about the Indigo. I have the feeling if the entire hotel was empty and the guest booked through a third party, you would be assigned to the most undesirable room they have. ( That's my opinion, for what it's worth.)

We LOVE the location of this hotel and the entire place is visually VERY unique and attractive. There is a Keurig coffee maker in the room and NO CARPET! A hotel room feels so much cleaner without carpet. And, it also feels a little European, too! We loved the free internet, also.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LyndaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 798 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel has a lot going for it, including its nice, quiet Gold Coast location, the friendly staff., and a well equipped fitness center. The rooms come with free WiFi (which worked well), a Keurig coffeemaker, and Aveda toiletries. Beds aren't the best out there but they aren't hard either.

What some might find disappointing with the rooms is that there is no mini-bar/fridge, no flat screen TV's, and no bath tub (shower stall). Sleeping in (I was here on a weekend) was also a challenge due to the automatic slamming doors.

All in all, I wouldn't mind coming back if the price was right.

Room Tip: The Jimmy John's sandwich shop around the corner has great food, prices and staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel Richly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I recently met a friend in Chicago to celebrate her 30th birthday and we stayed at the Hotel Indigo. We had a great experience and I will definitely stay there again in the future. The hotel is charming, the staff is friendly, and the rooms are spacious. The best feature in my opinion though is its location. We took the ‘L’ directly from Midway and got off literally a block from the hotel. We later took the ‘L’ to Wrigley Field and it could not have been easier. It’s a really short and very safe walk from the hotel to Old Town where we enjoyed the restaurants and bars without having to worry about paying for a cab. The walk to Michigan Ave., Navy Pier, and Grant Park is not bad at all on a nice day. I have stayed just off of Michigan Ave. in the past and much preferred staying in a quieter and less crowded neighborhood. I can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Indigo on a long weekend over the Fourth of July! We could not have been more satisfied with our decision. From the moment of check-in on a hot day with cucumber water, to checking in to a very nice sized room, to the convenience to the train going to the Cubs game! After the game we were able to come back to the hotel to relax before venturing out to Old Town. There are a lot of great trendy areas walking distance from the hotel and we were able to enjoy quite a few that evening.

We will definitely stay at Hotel Indigo Chicago again....hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLETravel0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend after visiting clients and let me tell you, Hotel Indigo Chicago nailed it for my business and leisure needs. The location is perfect, close to the trains, beaches, the loop and Mag. Mile. We were able to see the city by walking, instead of taking cabs. The service was excellent from the doorman to housekeeping and everyone else. Great colors throughout and nice fitness area with spa services. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

The moment you pull up on this beautifully tree lined street, you find you have discovered a hidden treasure. Entering the fabulous 'beach style' lobby you are greeted with the warmest of welcomes from a knowledgeable, courteous and obviously happy staff. The rooms are spacious, meticulously clean, bright and cheerful with a bed you don't want to get out of! Starting the day off with a refreshing spa shower complete with Aveda products, healthy restaurant options and Starbucks coffee, you are ready for a short but lovely walk to the office in downtown Chicago. Conveniently nearby are numerous restaurants offering everything Chicago has to offer. If shopping is on your list...and it should be....the upscale shops (Tiffany, Ralph Lauren, Anne Fontaine, Nike, etc) are located within walking distance. You can also stroll along Lake Michigan and enjoy a lovely sunrise or sunset.

I highly recommend this beautiful 'urban oasis' hotel. In addition, I recieve IHG Priority Club Reward points every time I stay :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuscanydreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#90 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#67 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#111 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#142 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing