We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$217
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$643
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$444
$378
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$675
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$299
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$361
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$375
$340
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,916)
Filter reviews
2,916 results
Traveler rating
1,699
850
253
69
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,699
850
253
69
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenfree dinnergreat locationbreakfast and dinnernavy pierthe sofa bedvalet staffthe magnificent miletop floorliving areaseparate bedroomcomplimentary breakfastwithin walking distancebreakfast staffevening receptionmichigan avewrigley building
Filter
Updating list...
2,402 - 2,407 of 2,916 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The hotel was everything other Trip Advisor users said it was - clean, comfortable, fantastic staff. The pool has a great view and is WARM. Complimentary breakfast and dinner are more than just toast and cereal - very good! Location is terrific - easy walk to heart of Mag Mile and less than two blocks from the train.

Only downsides were the size of the living area - the fold out couch literally scraped against the TV stand, the lack of counter space in the bathroom, and the slow WiFi (but slow and free WiFi is better than none!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for the kind thoughts. I am glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

I'm sorry however that we didn't put you in the best room type for a family traveling with children. We perhaps should have been more observant when you arrived and I will share that with the staff.

Thank you again and I do hope that you consider us if your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Where else can you stay in a suite in Chicago 3 blocks from the Pier and get 2 free meals a day? This hotel offers breakfast and dinner(w/ wine or beer) during the week & pretty good too. The Free Pier Bus stops 1 block away and Joe's famous seafood is a few doors down. The staff was absolutely wonderful; they bent over backwards to accomodate quests. The neighborhood seemed quite safe and we were able to walk to a nearby jazz club. Great prices for AAA members.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. I do appreciate that you noted our value and location. Our walking distance to many attractions is very popular with our guests.

Thank you again for your time and patronage. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here in May of 2010 and . The staff were exceptional from start to finish and any questions we had were answered by the friendly door and front desk staff.

The hotel is located very close to most major tourist attractions and we walked to all of the places that we wanted to see downtown without much trouble at all. We checked out the downtown area and visited Millennium Park, the Art Museaum, and many other places. The bellhops were always a great place to get information about the popular bars and hang-out places in the area. This area is also very close to public transportation should you need to go a bit further than walking distance.

The rooms were nice. Although you could tell that not everything was brand new, it was all in very good shape. The beds were super comfy and the suite we stayed in had a full kitchenette including microwave, fridge with freezer, some cooking utensils, etc. There was a tv in the bedroom and one in the living room type area off the kitchenette. The bathroom did not have much in the way of counter space, but it was fine and served it's purpose. The view from our particular room was not the greatest, but that was okay as we had other options for taking in the view of the city skyline by visiting the pool on the upper level or just off of the lobby during breakfast and happy hour times. They also have a checklist on the fridge where you can have the staff pick up a few items from the market for you that they bring to your room. I believe there is a small fee for this, but am not positive as we did not use this service.

The beautiful pool was located on the 19th floor and afforded a fantastic view of the skyline, especially at night. There was usually nobody or just a few people in the pool when we visited and it was nice and relaxing - very clean and well maintained. There was also a small fitness center right off of this that we did not get the chance to use.

This hotel serves a full buffet style breakfast that was positively delicous with something for everyone's taste. They also serve a happy hour "snack" and drinks during the week, which was more of a meal than a snack with unlimited wine and beer in addition to the "snack." There was more than enough included with this to count as a full meal. We stayed for happy hour twice and could not believe the set-up they provided (see pics).

There is also a business center that I had used to map out some places for us to visit while here and a small gift shop type of area that had a few misc. items for sale.

Parking was a bit expensive, but it is like that everywhere downtown. We parked in the self parking area next to the hotel and saved a few dollars over vallet parking, but even figuring in the price of parking, we felt we got a great value and have already recommended this place to friends.

All in all, this was a great value and I would not hestiate to stay again if we wanted to be near downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shawni_and_Buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us and for providing so much detail. Thank you too for including photos of our fajita night.

I'm glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our evening reception as well as enjoying much of what Chicago has to offer in this area.

Thank yo again and I do hope you will consider us when returning to Chicago.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Everything was top notch, the location is perfect, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the breakfast was delicious...but go early to avoid the crowd. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. There is a trolley a block from the hotel to Navy Pier, Blue Chicago is an awesome blues club right around the corner...and dining at Quartino and Phil Stefani's was unforgettable! The rooms have great views and were extremely comfortable, we had 2 rooms and there was 7 of us, everyone loved it. Add valet ahead of time with their park n play package if you are driving from nearby, but if you are flying in...don't even bother getting a rental car...you wont need it. Homewood Suites was the best deal and the best location!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandajs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for the great advice for future travelers. It looks like you took advantage of some of the great dining and entertainment venues right in our area and that is great to see. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and in Chicago.

Thank you again and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our recent visit to Chicago was made all the better by our stay at Homewood Suites. The room was very comfortable, two televisions made watching easy for two people (not that we were in our room that much!). The morning breakfast was fantastic, all you could want and more, and the evening "light" supper, complete with wine and beer, made going out for dinner unnecessary. One day we spent a total of $20 for food! The only complaint was the vanity area of the bathroom was tiny, but that was minor. The location was great, we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissouriFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. I was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy much of what Chicago has to offer in this area. It seems you had the best plan to enjoy our morning breakfast then get out and enjoy Chicago.

Thank you again and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews