We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stranded but Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #49 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stranded but Home from home”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We were stranded in Chicago for 9 days by the Icelandic volcano and couldn't have found a better, or more comfortable hotel. We were travelling with our daughter so the suite was ideal, the hotel staff were second to none, friendly, helpful and extremely professional. Cooked buffet breakfasts were delicious, as were the complimentary dinners 4 nights a week including wine and beer. The location was superb with many famous restaurants, bars and nightclubs within walking. distance. The business centre gym and pool are added bonus, as were the quiet rooms and kitchen facilities(complimentary popcorn!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stranded27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind thoughts. We had several guests who found themselves in the same predicament.

It was really a privilege for us to host families who were caught by this unfortunate circumstance. It made my day to see that we made you feel at home and that you were able to enjoy Chicago. Most people don't get to enjoy our wonderful city for a long stay but it looks like you made the best of a difficult situation.

Thank you again for the comments and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,575
    800
    238
    63
    44
See reviews for
1,146
568
128
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I was in Chicago for a conference over a weekend in late April. I chose to stay here (and not at the conference hotel which is a 10 minute walk) because my family and I have stayed here before and had a great experience. And the price was very reasonable, $129 for a 1 BR suite.

This hotel is located in the heart of Chicago. It is only 1 block from the subway and 2 blocks from the famous Michigan Avenue. Navy Pier is about ½ mile away, but certainly walk-able on a nice day. If not, buses or trolleys are easy to catch.

Hotel Amenities
Check in was quick and easy. Parking at the hotel and anywhere downtown is very expensive, so I highly recommend getting a very affordable public transportation pass so you can take buses and trains (including to/from airport) everywhere.

The hotel has a pool, workout room and laundry facilities. As with all Homewood Suites, breakfasts are good and free. There is also free good food in the evenings Monday through Thursdays. There is not hotel restaurant but tons of restaurants are within a few blocks.

Accommodation
I stayed in a 1-BR suite by myself so had lots of room. It had a kitchen with full-size refrigerator, granite cook top, coffee maker and microwave. Furniture and décor were not fancy but pleasantly adequate. Bed was quite comfortable. There were flat-panel TVs in the living room and bedroom. Room was clean and everything was in working order. Wi-Fi / wired Internet was reasonably fast and free. There was no safe in the room.

I did not notice any noise from the hall, especially if I closed the bedroom door at night. Noise that came from outside (e.g. police sirens and cars honking) was an unavoidable part of being in any major city.

Summary
This is my favorite hotel in Chicago. Prices are very reasonable, especially given the size of the accommodation, location, and amenities. It is a great place to stay for families and business people alike. I would not hesitate to stay here again next time I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KermitNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time you review your stay with us and for the kind comments. It is especially meaningful for us to receive reviews from guests who have stayed with us before.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

All of the previous positive reviews of this hotel were quite accurate. We just spent a week in Chicago for a vacation travelling with two kids, one of whom is just a toddler.

This hotel met our needs perfectly as it is in a very central location: Just a block from the metro Red Line and a few blocks (cutting through the mall across the street) to the Magnificent Mile and all the bus lines available. We avoided the $42/day valet fee and just used those funds and the car rental funds to pay for our airport shuttle and transit passes. We came out well ahead that way. This hotel also comes with a microwave, stovetop, toaster and full refrigerator. It also comes with a daily breakfast consisting of scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage/bacon, cut and whole fruits, bagels, etc. And on Monday through Thursday they provide what they call a light meal from 5pm-7pm. This was something simple like make your own fajitas one night or pasta marinara another night. As another reviewer commented, it is free and if you don't care for it, simply head out and get something else. The hotel is literally within a block of multiple restaurants including PF Changs, Buca di Beppo, ESPN Sports Zone, Pizzeria Uno, a food court in the Nordstrom mall across the street (which oddly seemed to shut down around 6pm) and a bunch of fairly high end looking steak houses and other restaurants. If you want to use the kitchen facilities in the room there was an Osco Jewel affiliated full grocery store a block and a half away to the west.

The staff was extremely helpful. They front desk staff were always extremely helpful and took note that we were a family and catered their advice to us based on this. I was surprised when I mentioned food allergy concerns and they whipped out a list of restaurants in the area that would be preferred. They also gave us great tips on using public transportation in the area and simply navigating Downtown.

The hotel itself is a bit old but seemed to fit in to the area as Chicago is an old city. There were some quirks about the room such as the dishwasher not draining fully or the doors to the bedroom being a little off center but nothing we could not live with. Interestingly, the hotel lobby is on the 6th floor and the rooms continue all the way up to the 19th floor. We never figured out what occupied floors 1-5. The 19th floor also housed the swimming pool and small fitness center. The swimming pool had a fairly panoramic view of the northwest and southwest ends of the hotel. We intentionally chose a corner room on the opposite end (southeast corner) which had views of the Trump Tower and Hancock Building. There are many other tall buildings in Downtown so do not expect a great skyline view but it was still great for the kids to look our at day or night.

Overall, this hotel gave us great access to all the sights we wanted to see with all the ammenities we needed at a price we were very happy with. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamIguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your trip to Chicago. Thank you for the kind thoughts about our staff as well. That means alot to them to read that.

I must say that I am very impressed with how you conquered Chicago using trains, buses and shuttles. It looks like you had a great time and I'm glad we could be a part of that.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed at the Homewood Suites in Chicago for 3 nights in March 2010. The hotel was great at all levels. The location is great (just one street off the Magnificent Mile), the suite was big, with a kitchen and really clean. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was perfect (included in the price, like the dinner). And the view from the suite was just amazing :-) Stay again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoshi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the kind comments and I am glad that you enjoyed both the hotel and Chicago.

I do hope that you are able to return and visit us again.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We had a block of 10 rooms for a family wedding. The suites, breakfast buffet, location to the Midway airport, and location for tourists to walk the city could not have been better! The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The brunch food was very good and especially bountiful! The suites allowed family to gather together to visit and share stories. A private room was allotted to us to hold a family (about 30) brunch before everyone departed for home. Our weekend could not have been better and the Homewood Suites was one of the main contributors to our very pleasant stay in Chicago!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therevTampa_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about your Chicago vist. This review was particularly enjoyable for me to read because I'm thrilled that we were able to help make a special family gathering more enjoyable. I very much appreciate the kind remarks about the staff.

Thanks again and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This hotel has got it right! Location, friendliness, value for money. Everything possible was done to make our stay so pleasant. The suite was on the 9th floor, airy bright and a wonderful view of the city.The breakfast and light evening meal were included in price. The staff will even do the shopping for you if you prefer to cook in the apartment. You can actually bring the cooked breakfast up to your room in the containers provided. Free coffee is available all day long in the foyer. Staff at reception were brilliant as were the cleaning staff. They seemed very happy to be working there! A well run hotel. You won't do better. Located right in the heart of everthing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow, what a great statement about your stay. It really gives us something to live up to. Thank you so much for the kind thoughts and in particular the great comments about our staff. That will mean a great deal to them.

Most of all I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed Chicago. We hope we have a chance to serve you again some day.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruddiger23
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Really friendly and helpful front desk staff.
The breakfast is pretty good and the if you stay Monday through Thursday you get dinner as will. The dinners are simple but you also get free wine and beer.
Just one street off the Magnificent Mile and right next to the "Grand" subway station.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruddiger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

It sounds like you really had a memorable time here in Chicago and we are so glad we had the opportunity to be a part of it.

Our friendly and helpful team play such a large role in our success. I appreciate you recognizing them.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Dave Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing