We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #48 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel is of the highest quality. The staff-WOW! From the minute we pulled up to the hotel and was greeted by the bellman, to the front desk, to the housekeeper, and don't forget the hostess in the breakfast/dinner room we felt like royalty! Everyone was SO nice and friendly. The food is wonderful too! My next trip to Chicago will start with a stay at this hotel for sure!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,748)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,333 - 2,339 of 2,748 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2010

I stayed here for 3 weeks for business/leisure. The staff was extraordinary!! Every member of the staff went out of their way to make every guest comfortable. The room was always clean and was the closet thing to being home. Would recommend this hotel to everyone who visits downtown Chicago! A complete large breakfast and dinner M-Thu made the value even more worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Next time we're back in Chicago, we will stay at Homewood Suites again. It worked out so well for us on our Spring Break vacation. We have a 12 yr. son and wanted a bit more room as opposed to being crowded in 1 room. Having the separate bedroom gave us all more privacy. The room was very clean and the kitchenette worked out great for us. While we didn't do any cooking, it was great having the refrig and microwave. They even supplied us free microwave popcorn.

Every morning and every evening Mon-Thurs they have an area with food set up. The breakfasts always had some kind of eggs, meat, cereals and breads. For dinners, you could definitely make it your meal, but because Chicago is known for great restaurants, so it was nice to get a "snack" and then go out for dinner later. There was always plenty of food and they even had styrofoam containers to use to take up snacks to your room if you didn't want to eat in their dining area.

One of the biggest perks staying at this hotel was free Internet in the rooms. We brought our lap top so we can research restaurants and sites we wanted to visit.

The location is great, just 1 block from the subway system and 1 block from Michigan Avenue, very close to the river. It was a hike to Navy Pier, but we did it, though we took a taxi back!

The only complaints I could give was parking our car was expensive, but the valet team was so courteous as was the entire hotel staff. And parking in Chicago is expensive everywhere. This place was no more expensive than other hotels we stayed at in the past. Also, our shower didn't have a way to keep water from going all over the bathroom floor so you needed to pay attention. Nothing several towels couldn't sop up, but definitely weird.

This hotel had everything we needed for our family vacation and we would definitely come back. Highly recommended from very particular customers who are used to staying at nice hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Thank you to my fellow trip-advisors -- you didn't let me down!! Your reviews led me to this lovely hotel.

Stand-out feature: extraordinarily helpful and charming staff at the reception desk. Those women could NOT have been nicer! They repeatedly went out of their way to help. Very candid and pleasant, warm, professional. (When a couple bought a bottle of wine, the staff rushed to provide wine glasses and a corkscrew, no charge.) As if it just makes their day when you ask a question or need some assistance.

Another great feature: the location near Michigan Avenue, a few blocks north of the Chicago River. On Grand Avenue, we were very close to Tribune Tower and Wrigley Building. Across the street from Nordstrom and Bloomingdales, only a few blocks from Hard Rock Cafe, Lou Molnati's, Maggiones, the Merchandise Mart, and much more. An easy walk to the Hancock Tower, Watertower, etc. Walking distance to the Art Institute and the Segway tour office (definitely a hit). Super close to an El stop and other mass transit. We liked the Italian food at Rosebud. Even the Navy Pier was a nice walk, but cabs were readily available if we didn't want to walk. (And the doormen were particularly friendly and helpful, too.)

Stayed in a King suite (King bed and pull-out couch w/ kitchenette) with my son (18) and his girlfriend (19), and it was perfect for us. We wanted to check out a college for the 18-year-old, to visit a museum or two, eat some great food, generally have fun.

The breakfast was super. Every day there were hot items: eggs, potatoes, meat (bacon, links, or sausage patties, it varied) and another item such as french toast or biscuits and gravy. Fresh fruit (melon chunks) as well as fruit cocktail, plus a bowl of apples, oranges and bananas, Yogurt. Bagels and danish. Granola, fruit loops, other dry cereals. Both skim and 2percent milk and several juices. And more stuff that I can't remember. Coffee and tea, of course. In a very pleasant breakfast room with big windows.

The bedroom size: just large enough to hold the bed, end tables and large flat-screen TV on a dresser. The "living room" had an amazingly complete kitchenette (full-size fridge, microwave oven, two burners, toaster, plates, flatware, skillet, saucepan, table and chairs, coffee maker with coffee, salt, pepper, sweeteners, microwave popcorn), smallish pull-out couch, coffee table, upholstered easychair, and a second TV. Free wi-fi, which can be an expensive extra at other hotels.

The bathroom was very small and was separate from the nice granite counter and sink in the hallway leading to the bathroom. Decor was fine, nice upholstery and draperies, but maintenance could be better (gouges in wallpaper, a hole drilled in the bathroom wall (Room 1615), some marks and dark stains in the tub and tile. But it was all very clean, and the flaws were the same as I've seen in expensive Manhattan hotels, so no big deal. And it was so quiet! We couldn't hear any noise from nearby rooms or the street, except one siren one time.. We liked our view of the city skyline, facing south.

The price was EXCELLENT. We paid significantly less than the average listed in tripadvisor, expedia and orbitz. There were a lot of different packages and discounts available for weekend travel.

I used the workout room, which is small but adequate, nice window views. Two treadmills, a bike, and an elliptical (with individual TVs--bring your headset to plug in). Decent set of weights. water dispenser, several of the smaller/heavier exercise balls, one of the large exercise balls. Only one floor mat. There was a notice that you could get a pass to the fully-equipped fitness center (next door or at the ground floor, I'm not sure)

The pool looked very nice, relatively large, windows on two sides, although we didn't use it. There's a nice little convenience store adjacent to the reception desk, with food items, milk, beer, wine, other beverages, gifts, general OTC meds, etc. And clothes detergent and fabric softener, so there must be some washing machines nearby.

The reception area and modest lobby are on the sixth floor --not glamorous but quite nice. This isn't an ultra-deluxe place. But I was pleased and impressed with this hotel, and the college students thought it was great, not one complaint. And the price was amazing for all that we got. I recommend it without hesitation. And THANK YOU to all the reviewers who shared the news about this great spot.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We had a great stay at this hotel. It was super close to the red line and everyone from the bell hops to the front desk to the wait staff were awesome. Very nice and very helpful. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in my life and this was one of the best. The room was great for the price. Lots of space which is hard to come by downtown and close to everything. Kids loved the pool and the great views. We were on a high floor so it was very quiet which gave us all a great night sleep. The breakfast and the dinners at the hotel were fantastic. Big selection and very fresh. The kitchenette came in handy since we were staying for a week. It was our home away from home. We'll be back for sure and I will for sure recommend to business travelers and families alike. Kudos to all staff there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twin1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

As a frequent traveler in both business and with my family I have become sensitive to recognizing great customer service in hotels. When checking into Homewood Suites on East Grand Avenue in Chicago I am always greeted with a big and warm smile. They explain all their many amenities and finish with “We Just Want You to Feel Like You Are at Home.” Jennifer Kerr, Front Desk manager makes it her business to make sure all requests are addressed in the best way possible.

The staff works so well together toward making me feel comfortable and welcome. This starts with being greeted with a warm hello at the front door and next the front desk and is then experienced with any TEAM member you see at this hotel. The breakfast and light dinner offered is wholesome and rooms always tidy. As a Wizard of Oz collector one of my favorite sayings is “There’s No Place Like Home” and by all means Homewood Suites here in Chicago makes you feel like you are at home away from home. Great job!

Dr. Hal Ornstein
Howell, New Jersey

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoPLaceLikeHome5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I forgot that S.t Patrick's day was around the corner and everyone celebrated the weekend we were there - both Friday and Saturday day and night. We arrived on Friday late afternoon, walked to Jewel-Osco to pick up some munchies then walked dinner to Joe's Steakhouse (pricy, casual, but fabulous!!) around the corner from Homewood Suites. We went early enough (5:30ish) and was able to get in to Joe's right away but reservations are best if going later. The bell hop/greeters at Homewood were very nice and knowledgable of where every thing is. There were no delays obtaining a taxi either. The breakfast was very good. I am lactose intolerant so I had fruit and bagel each morning, but my husband ate the eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy one morning, and the next morning were eggs, sausage, and hashbrowns. He said they were delicious. Plus I like that they seat you and people can't just walk in and sit down. Hotel was quiet even though the Houseware Show was going on, the City turned their river green, and being St. Patrick's Day celebration weekend. It is very close to Michigan Road down where Bloomingdales, Macy's, Borders, Niketown, Apple store, and Nordstrom Mall. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $129 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing