We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! The staff and care far exceeded our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful! The staff and care far exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We traveled with three children ages four and under and the staff consistently went out of their way to make our stay convenient and enjoyable. The men at valet always jumped at the opportunity to grab the door or cab for us and would nearly stop traffic to ensure the kids got into the cab safely. The front desk staff were always kind and even gave our kids freebies from the gift shop. The breakfast buffet was great and the staff eagerly helped us set up high chairs and watched our kids for me when I had to leave them to get something from the buffet. Maintenance gave us a roll of free industrial plastic wrap so we could wrap up our stroller before checking it at the airport (the post office where we planned to buy bubble wrap was closed). EVERY time we interacted with a member of the staff they went out of their way to assist us and it was a huge blessing!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,513
    769
    229
    60
    43
See reviews for
1,088
546
126
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else. Lovely hotel with wonderful staff in downtown Chicago. Hotel has full kitchen. Beds were comfortable. I asked for a quiet room in the back of the hotel and never heard any noise. After going up to the rooftop pool, I wish I had asked for a higher floor to get a view.
The best thing about the hotel is the wonderful staff. They go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteltraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

The staff was amazing.
The breakfast and dinner was perfect. Saved us tons of money and was perfect for the kids.
Great location!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Really made welcome from the moment I arrived. Lobby is on a higher floor so rooms have a good view. I was on the 16th Floor and the room was incredibly quiet for being in the center of a city. You can take breakfast to your room and everything is available to do that.

If there was one little defect it would be the swimming pool which looked like it needed to be resurfaced- the paint is peeling from the sides. Every morning while we stayed we went to Swim and no-one else was there. Nice that it is indoor and right on top of the hotel.

Staff were very friendly and they also have a great Business Center where you can print your boarding pass for free. Internet is also free in your room.

Would definitely stay in this hotel again. It is right by the Hotel Garden Inn if you are comparing hotels.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luischable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I met my girlfriends in Chicago for the weekend for a birthday celebration and stayed at Homewood Suites. I wasn't sure what to expect, but we loved it. The rooms are huge, with a full kitchen, a pullout sofa and a monster king sized bed. Bathrooms are large enough for 3 women to get ready to go out at night without stepping on each other. The staff was great.

We dined at Table 52, Art Smith's (Oprah's former chef) restaurant and stopped at Le Colonial one night and walked there easily. The first night we were a bit tired, so simply walked across the street to PF Chang's - who also provides the room service at the hotel.

The entrance to Nordstrom is just across the street from the hotel's front door and for discount shopping, walking to the loop to shop on State Street is an easy morning jaunt over the river.

All in all, a good price for a nice hotel with a charming staff and a magnificent location. Internet and breakfast are included in the room rate. I'll definitely come back and bring the kids next time...loads of families were staying there that weekend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmh1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This hotel looks like it was originally another hotel where they joined two small rooms to make each suite. Half of the suite is a kitchen and sitting area and the other, the bath and bedroom. Two TVs, plenty of nearby restaurants, view of the Wrigley building. Breakfast and dinner are included weekdays, but I preferred buying fresh veggies at the grocery store a block away to the comfort food they served. My client got me a great deal on the room given its location and amenities; my "value" rating would have been significantly lower if I'd paid rack rate. Note to light sleepers: there must be a fire station near by, as I regularly heard sirens in my south-facing room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rdAlfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I visited Chicago with my two teenage daughters. Homewood Suites is amazing. The complimentary breakfast and receptions offer so much variety. The hotel was within walking distance to many places to eat and shop. We got caught in a thunderstorm, and got soaking wet. I dried all our clothes in the dryer right in the hotel! The Homewood Suites was so much like home. The suite was very spacious and had everything we needed. The hotel had lots of brochures and suggestions for dining and activities. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Chicago is an amazing place and the Homewood Suites is the place to stay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetrainautomobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing