We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt so much like home...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
southern california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt so much like home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

I visited Chicago with my two teenage daughters. Homewood Suites is amazing. The complimentary breakfast and receptions offer so much variety. The hotel was within walking distance to many places to eat and shop. We got caught in a thunderstorm, and got soaking wet. I dried all our clothes in the dryer right in the hotel! The Homewood Suites was so much like home. The suite was very spacious and had everything we needed. The hotel had lots of brochures and suggestions for dining and activities. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Chicago is an amazing place and the Homewood Suites is the place to stay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank planetrainautomobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,478
    747
    225
    59
    42
See reviews for
1,063
533
123
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed two nights and could not have been happier. We had a corner room with a wonderful view. The staff was polite and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast saved us time and money. Two blocks from MM and a short bus trip away from the theatre and art museum. We walked to the Navy Pier and road the free trolley back to the hotel. We would stay here again on our next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmg5768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Dissatisfied with the service upon arrival at the hotel. In the pouring rain, 3-4 valet employees watched from 15 feet away in the front door as my colleague and I unloaded our vehicle of 6 bags, a laptop computer, rolling file box, etc. in the pouring rain. I complained at the hotel 'sfront desk clerk and requested to speak with the manager. Well, it's been nearly two hours since we checked in and no one has spoken to us about or addressed our complaint yet. Needless to say, we are hesitant about any future stays with Hilton and will probably not be uning them and this hotel for any future business or pleasure trips.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyBeeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at the Homewood Suites in mid-August and had a great time. We love the all suites layout- since it provided a nice pull-out couch for our two boys and a king bed in a separate room for my hubby and I. The only poor experience we had while we were here was at check-in (on a Friday) when our room was not ready. There were people camped out all over the lobby waiting for rooms to be ready and the staff seemed frazzled. We did not appreciate waiting for 45 minutes or so for our room- but after that the stay went fine. There is a small indoor pool on an upper floor that our kids really enjoyed. We went there a couple of times and there were never more than 10 other people there (on a weekend)- so we enjoyed that fact. The location of this hotel is great- right across from the back door to Nordstroms and close to many great restaurants- all within walking distance for kids. Bucco di Beppo is right across the street and PF Changs is kitty corner- just for 2 examples. They also have a free breakfast buffet in the a.m. but it was a bit chaotic. They do let you take breakfast items up to your room in to-go containers... so that is what we did to avoid the chaos. There is a Trader Joes 3 or so blocks away in case you'd like to stock your kitchenette with healthy stuff. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for four nights while visiting friends and site seeing. The location is perfect - very close to the El and within walking distance of all the downtown sites. The suite was comfortable and well appointed. The wifi didn't work in the room, but I was able to use it in the lobby. I appreciated the breakfast. A light dinner is offered Mon - Thursday, but I didn't take advantage of it. The staff were friendly and helpful. Best of all, I had the most wonderful views of the city skyline from my 19th floor room. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DadaCabaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Great location in the heart of downtown. Spacious rooms. Full kitchern. Wonderful breakfast and evening meals. Awesome staff. We will return here when we visit Chicago again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This hotel was very beautiful. I went with a group of 4 friends and we had a blast. It was very centrally located and was close to all sorts of transportation. The Continental breakfast was magnificent! I didn't see much of the staff but all of the men at the front door were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSVtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing