We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicago with a 13 month old” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Chicago with a 13 month old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

We had a one bedroom suite which was very nice with our toddler. I had requested a crib and had even called the day before our arrival to confirm the crib and ask if it was a portable or a full size so we could bring the approriate sheets. I was informed it was a full size crib. It was a pack n play. Its not that the pack n play was bad, it was clean and put together, but it was not the full size crib I was expecting. The living room was roomy for a hotel suite, however, the bedroom was too small for our pack n play so it went in the living room. Not a big deal but something for you to consider.

The Homewood suites is in a great location. We went to the Navy Pier on day and walked there and took the free trolley back. The walk took about 15-20 min with our stroller in tow and the free trolley back was nice but be prepared to wait. The first trolley came and it was full before we got up to the door so we had to wait 20 min for the next one.

We drove to Shedd and it was about a 20 min drive but make sure to ask directions. We tried to follow a map and since we didn't know for sure where we were going it was hard for us to get to the roads we needed due to construction and one way streets.

Since it was only a blcok and half from michigan ave we walked up and down for shopping. All in all, I liked the location and the staff was friendly. We needed a few things brought to us and they brought them promptly. I was a little concerned when we were right across the hall from the elevators but I heard nothing so the rooms were quiet. My only two complaints were the pack n play and the shower needed to be wiped down again. It just looked like housekeeping was maybe in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnshsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,478
    747
    225
    59
    42
See reviews for
1,063
533
123
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

The only thing I would add to the many benefits that recommend this hotel, is that we experienced an inconvenience on our first day that is likely beyond the control of the hotel. John at the front desk immediately moved us a different room where we were very satisfied. When you stay here, ask for John if you are not completely satisfied. He will make you happy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Our first stay at a Homewood Suites, we had no real idea what to expect. We were in Chicago for a few days for 'couple time'. This hotel fit our budget so we jumped in. We were so pleased with it! The lobby staff (luggage, parking attendants) we so friendly and helpful, yet professional at the same time. The Front Desk is on the 6th floor. Again...same great attitude. Our room was large, immaculate and more than we could have hoped for for the price paid. We had a kitchen area, living room area and seperate bedroom with vanity area and then the bathroom. Any thing we could have wanted was provided, any question answered completely. The location was in the heart of the city, which was perfect. I suppose the only con about the whole thing was parking was expensive. We valet parked for $45.00 a day. But then again, even though we checked out, they kept our car for the rest of the afternoon with out any additional charges! The managers buffet in the evening was enough for dinner as we used it one night. There was free beer and wine...and the wine wasn't that bad! Breakfast was well served, plentiful and delicious. Thanks to this hotel, our 'couple time' was great!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craftinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a week in August/Sept 09.

The good points: The location is excellent, close to the Magnificent Mile, the Grand Ave El, lots of restaurants and shops. The rooms are fairly spacious and we got an excellent room rate. The staff were friendly and helpful. The kitchen is fully equipped with a full sized fridge with ice maker.

The bad points: The breakfast room had an awful smell about it. The food at breakfast was very average, and they ran out of some things every morning. There was always a massive queue to get a table at breakfast, and there were endless screaming kids about. The room was very dated, and needed to be revamped. The bathroom was small and a bit grubby, and the shower didn't have a lot of pressure. The sheets didn't fit the bed properly and every night they came off the sides of the bed so we ended up partially sleeping directly on the mattress. The bedding also felt very cheap, with what felt like nylon sheets. The lift was slow. The windows in our room were so dirty, you couldn't see out for the smears all over them.

If you are looing for a cheap place to stay in the middle of things, this is the place. If you are looking for a sophisticated hotel, this is not the place to stay. There are plenty of other nicers places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

We recently stayed here on a family trip to Chicago. My husband and I were traveling with our 10 month-old son and 3 year-old son. From the moment of our arrival our experience was completely positive. The valets were very helpful with unloading the kids and luggage from the car. The staff at the front desk was fantastic. They had a crib delivered to our room within 20 minutes of our arrival. The complimentary dinner the first night was great. After traveling all afternoon, it was nice that we didn't have to try and make arrangments for dinner. The staff in "the lodge" where dinner and breakfast were served was very friendly and attentive, as well. It was nice that they had carry-out containers available to take dinner and breakfast back to the room if you don't want to eat in the dining room. Throughout our stay, all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was great. It was like having an apartment, and gave us plenty of room for the kids to spread out with their toys and play. It was nice to have the kitchen, especially for preparing bottles, and for having dinner in the room which was generally carry-out from area restaurants. The hotel has a room service arrangement with P.F. Chang's, and is within walking distance of a lot of nice restaurants. Great location for walking to area attractions - the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier. We are already planning to retun next summer, and will recommend the Homewood Suites to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizard70Detroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

The staff at this Homewood Suites made a wedding weekend trip for my family stress free and smooth. We had 6 suites reserved at the prepay rate of $129.00 each for the weekend of August 28-30.
The front desk was happy to give wedding goodie and snack bags, which I made up at home, to each member of our group as they checked in. When we detected a faint cigarette smell in our room when we first arrived, the front desk was prompt in moving us to a different room. They even gave us the largest suite avaiable on our floor, so that we would have a larger gathering place for our entire party of 13 people. Then, Rose, at the front desk, asked if we would like to have our whole party on the same floor. This was great since some were elderly and there were children, also.
Some of the many extras the staff helped us with: bringing extra chairs to our suite, fetching items for the wedding from our valet-parked cars, rounding up mini-van taxis for our large group twice, bringing us extra towels and ice within minutes of calling for them.
The hotel was sold out for the weekend, so the breakfast room was crowded and they had an overflow room opened, but they never ran low on food. On Saturday, they had a broken water pipe in the kitchen, so there was no hot food, but they were sincerely apologetic.
There was a wait for an elevator at busy times, but we never waited more than a few minutes.
They could have given a little more thought to which families got which size rooms. A couple using a crib were given one of the smallest rooms on the floor, which made it very tight in the room, while our single, senior citizen great-grandma got a corner unit with windows on 2 sides and a very large, uncrowded living area.
We were close to everything we needed at this location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina_Cuckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1209
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Recommend everything about , except when i got home, started get tons of sales calls on my CELL PHONe from Hilton Honors and they were annoying, pushy and non stop. For this reason, I would never stay at a hilton hotel again! Google...you will see thousands of similar complaints against them. SOOOOO frustrating

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncledave33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing