We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #52 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Homewood Suites Downtown. The breakfast is good. It has eggs , sausage, biscuits, cereal etc. Then the managers reception was wine or beer, but they also had food that if you are on a budget could double as a meal. The rooms were good sized. It had a livingroom, kitchenette, and nice sized bedroom. I had a corner room that had a window in the living room and another in the bedroom. The kitchenette had a full sized refrigerator, stove/oven, microwave and a diswasher. The weight room is located on the 19th floor and what a view of Chicago. The windows are ceiling to floor and are an awesome sight while excercising. The had treadmills (2), eliptical and a bike. Additionally they had a good variety of freeweights. Great restaurants are located withing two blocks or less (ESPN Zone, The Weber Grill, Rock Bottom to name a few). Additionally the Miracle Mile is only about two nblocks away as well.

The thing that really endeared me to the hotel were the friendliness of the workers. It's apparent that a lot of people are returning customers because the workers were calling them by name and they'd see them again next week etc.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldpatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,489 - 2,495 of 2,798 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2009

I stayed here while attending a conference at the Marriott across the street. This was cheaper and more comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, this is a gem of a hotel. It's a true suite, with living room, full kitchen, and bedroom. The living room has a sofabed, sitting chair, coffee table and 32" LCD TV. There is a small dining table/desk next to the kitchen. The kitchen has microwave, two burner oven, dishwasher, coffee maker, fridge. Also plates, pots/pans and silverware. The room was clean and comfortable with no obvious signs of wear. The king size bed was also comfy, though not as high end as you would find in a nicer hotel. There is a regular tube TV in the bedroom. The free buffet breakfast had scrambled eggs, meats, cereal, make your own waffles, etc. There is also a dinner with a different menu Mon-Thurs but I did not have that. There is a gym inhouse, but you can use the Crunch gym next door (same building) that is much bigger and has everything. The entrance is not much to look at; just an elevator to the sixth floor where reception is. But the bellman was friendly and the reception desk was efficient and very friendly. It does cost a lot to park here (I think $42/night so don't bring a car). There is a small store next to reception, open 24/7. Free wired and wireless internet in the room. Only minor complaint is that the walls are somewhat thin so if the neighbor raises his voice I can hear it. Also, I can hear water running next door. But all in all I would definitely stay here again. It's much more comfortable and better value than the big hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Just a really nice place, great service, big rooms, excellent value, everyone seemed to be having a good time , loved the buffet meals,

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdakers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

What a great hotel! We stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. The room was homely with an enormous bed, just the ticket after a days sight seeing. There was a buffet breakfast and dinner included in the price and with free access to a gym and pool, this hotel is incredible value. The staff were really friendly and only too willing to recommend good places to eat and drink. Homewoods was just a few minutes walk of the Mag Mile which makes this hotel a great base when visiting Chicago. I would definately stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate a wedding anniversary and found these suites a fantastic place to stay. The location couldn't be better - a stone's throw from the magnificent mile and loads of restaurants. The facilities in the hotel are great - there's plenty of variety available for breakfast and they make it easy for people to bring food back to their suites for later (handy if you want to go to the gym / pool first and might not be back in time for breakfast). We popped down for the complementary food / drink one of the evenings also and there was a lovely atmosphere in the dining area with some groups just enjoying a few drinks, others full dinners etc; we were very surprised it was free! The pool was grand though the changing room was small. The gym was small too but that shouldn't bother too many people as you've free access to Crunch Fitness anyway. We heading down each morning and had the pool and gym to ourselves. The pool gets very busy after breakfast though with lots of kids and parents enjoying themselves. There are lovely views over the city there too. The free wifi was handy too. The staff were very friendly and happy to help out when we needed anything. There are no real negatives apart from the fact that the decor was a bit dowdy looking on our floor but in fairness, they are in the process of doing up some of the rooms at the moment anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ealu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My kids, ages 10 and 7, are still raving about the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! We stayed Thursday-Sunday, and enjoyed complimentary breakfasts (which offered many selections, not just continental). We also had a complimentary dinner on Thursday, which included burgers, fries, coleslaw, soda, beer and wine. The location was great. A free trolley just outside the front door, took us to Navy Pier. I would highly recommend this hotel for families. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freeflykym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

What a great hotel. I stayed with some friends and family in middle April for my bachelor party. The location of the hotel is great with multiple restaraunts nearby and only 1/2 a block to the red line train. The included breakfast in the morning is great and free wifi is also included! Everyone at the hotel is extremely friendly and you cannot beat the rates. I will definately stay at this hotel again in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imacubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $106 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing