We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #53 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Weekend trip to celebrate our anniversary.

Location was great with a wide selection of restaurants nearby. Another plus is that Trader Joe's was within two blocks. With a full size fridge, it was easy to shop and keep items cold.

Suite was very clean and well appointed. Fridge with icemaker, dishwasher, microwave, 2 burner stove,

Only reason for the 4 rating was one elevator was temporarily our of service on Sunday.

Great room rate of $99. - but $42/day for parking.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,567 - 2,573 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

We were so happy we followed the advice of other TripAdvisor reviewers and booked this hotel. The location is perfect, and everyone that worked there was so nice, so helpful, and seemed genuinely happy doing their jobs.

The room was very nice, and extremely clean. My only complaint was that the walls were a bit thin-or the children across the hall from us were a bit loud. Maybe a combination of both? Also, the hotel website noted 2 flat screen TVs in each suite, which we didn't have, there were 2 TVs, but only 1 was flat screen.

The breakfast was wonderful-can't say how much we liked that, and the location was near everything.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newlyweds223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Hotel was in a great location. Suites were awsome, Staff very friendly and helpful, and Complimentary Breakfast hit the spot.

Kev from Michigan

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank keb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

I stayed at this Hotel for 1 night. We just wanted to stay in downtown Chicago. This hotel is right next to John Hancock building. Walking distance to many shopping, restaurant, and everything else. From valet people to front desk people, they were all very friendly and helpful. The best thing about this hotel (other than the awesome location) is that all rooms are suites. You can choose 1 king or 2 double which will be inside the room and you get another sofa bed in the living room area. You get 2 TVs also. The roof top pool over looking Michigan lake was lovely also.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ck1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I travel a lot for business and have stayed in every type of hotel from luxury boutiques to chains... and I have yet to ever find such a great mix of service and ammenities as I have consistently seen here at the Homewood. As everyone mentions, this place is in a fantastic location. Anything you could want to do or see is either within walking distance or by nearby public transportation. But what really sets this place apart is in the details. The people that work here do their jobs well- but with the added detail of actually enjoying it. Everyone was so helpful but most importantly - sincere. The suites are fantastic with the added details of soft linens (I have never in my life felt such a soft towel) and thoughtful ammenities. The free food at breakfast and cocktail hour is a great value add with the added detail of take away containers for those that want to eat in their rooms. Everything about this place is perfect. Also - it is great for families - my daughter adores swimming in the very nice indoor pool (with an awesome view of the city) and the food and location make it just perfect for fun family time. We ate at Rainforest Cafe and the Melting Pot which are both a few blocks away. We had a total blast. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank XOXOGossipGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Homewood Suites is a grat hotel overall, and the location is perfect. Roomy rooms with full kitchen was perfect. Only complaint I have is that the housekeeping came to our room TWICE in the morning while we were still in the room. Didn't knock, AND we had the "Do not Disturb" sign on our door. I'm not sure what the problem was, but it was really annoying and rude.

Overall, the hotel was nice and the breakfast was good. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Very nice hotel. Attentive service. Clean, attractive, comfortable. Beds very comfortable. The pool is a little small and pretty cold too. Would have loved a hot tub after being out exploring all day in December. Nice gym next door that you can use. Grocery across the street and also a mall across the street. Short walk to Magnificent Mile and public transportation. The entire stay was great. What I really loved was returning to the hotel at dinner time with our group of seven (four teenagers) and having a hot dinner buffet waiting. I wanted to throw my arms around the staff and thank them. It was healthy, hot, delicious, and oh so convenient. Would definitely stay again. A big thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank candi-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $114 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing