We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Perfect place for family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I spent days looking for a hotel in the city, which would be both affordable and well-suited for our family, which includes our 13 year-old autistic son. Everyone at Homewood Suites - from the booking agent to the dining room staff- was incredible kind and accommodating. We loved the rooftop pool and generous free breakfasts. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Kate M,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was proud to see that the team at the hotel took such wonderful care of you and your family throughout your experience with us. I see that you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast and the pool. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    759
    227
    60
    43
See reviews for
1,080
541
125
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times as a business traveler, but it would be a top choice for a family trip as well. The diverse staff reflects the diversity of the domestic and international hotel guests. For the solo traveler, the dining are reception areas enable you to be alone but not feel lonely. The layout creates a subtle, albeit transitory community.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Arthuree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Arthuree W,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent visit with us. It made me happy to see that you felt a hometown feeling at Homewood Suites. I was glad to see that you felt safe and comfortable in our hotel and dining area. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, WI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Took the family to Chicago for Thanksgiving! This place is perfect for families and such a celebration. If you're coming to downtown Chicago, don't overlook this great hotel. Certainly will be back!

Pros:
Very attentive staff, especially the doormen (thank you Amer)
Very good complimentary hot breakfast
Very good complimentary hot supper (Mon. thru Thurs.)
Clean large rooms
Full kitchen (sans oven)
Great location
Free Wi-Fi

Cons:
$55 per day car valet fee (but it's Chicago!)

Room Tip: Hint: Trader Joes and Jewel Grocery nearby; LYFE Kitchen is great for gluten free food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerging1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Emerging1,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you and your family had such an enjoyable experience at our hotel. I see that you were able to take advantage of the breakfast, evening Manager’s Reception, and your full in-suite kitchen. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the attentive staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to like us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

On arrival the valet was more concerned with feeding the pigeons then helping us and front desk was cranky. This morning at breakfast staff told us they could not sit us ( no tables) and that we had to take our breakfast up to our room. She told us this not once but twice. So far our experience has been poor but if it changes, I will update.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank doozerkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I would like to take a moment to apologize for the poor service you received during your visit. The disappointing service encounters will be addressed by the entire team. We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, you give us the opportunity to create an excellent experience for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on rather short notice this month and were pleased to find the hotel was very affordable for the location and also very easy to get to. Upon arriving the valet service was incredibly helpful and courteous, check-in was easy and quick, the room itself was large and clean, very comfortable. We plan on staying here in the future whenever we're in Chicago.

Room Tip: Higher floors are obviously less noisy due to street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
LelaMG,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. I was delighted to see that you had a wonderful experience at Homewood Suites while in town on business. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago whether for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

For a one bedroom with our toddler daughter, this place is a great value. Generally quiet, perfect location for shopping the Mag mile, and walking distance to some of the best dining in Chicago in the River North neighborhood. Only complaint is the breakfast is so-so. The make-it-yourself waffles are about the best. Fantastic city views from the rooms we've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDunnoWhoYouThinkIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
IDunnoWhoYouThinkIAm,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It made me happy to see that you and your family found great value at our hotel. I see that you were able to take advantage of the wonderful location taking in the sights, shopping, and dining in the area. We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is hands down my favorite hotel to stay at when I am traveling. They cover everything from making sure you truly feel that home away from home feeling, to the small things. You will never experience customer service like the great folks in the dining area. The ladies on the mourning breakfast staff make you feel right at home, and the gentlemen in the evenings make sure you always have a full beer and never let you fill your own.
One of my very favorite parts about this hotel is the bell service. Amer can wave down a taxi like no other in this city. He never lets you load your own bag, always greets with a good morning and asks how you are.
It's the small things within this hotel that really boost them above and beyond. This is why people from our company have been coming to this hotel for over 15 years.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Nicholas J,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It made me proud to see that you experienced great customer service and felt right at home. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing