We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view from the pool!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Harrison,MI
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The view from the pool!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited this hotel during the heatwave in July. We spent a lot of time at the pool. The view from the pool,day or night, was fabulous. The hotel was in a great location, close to Michigan Ave and right on the Navy Pier trolley stop. The continental breakfast and manager's reception were awesome! Loved having a full kitchen in our room. Next time we are in the city we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dana T,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I see that you were able to take advantage of the pool, in-suite kitchen, breakfast, and evening Manager’s Reception. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook?
We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,478
    747
    225
    59
    42
See reviews for
1,063
533
123
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The bell boys and the valet parking attendants are always very nice and very helpful!
The room is very dated and dirty! The room needs better lighting and the sofas and chairs are not comfortable! The refrigerator made a lot of nice every 15 minutes or so! The bathroom plumbing made this weird noise every after flushing the toilet bowl!
The breakfast area is very organized and the food was great but the kitchen and dining personnel could use more training in customer service and they should try to smile more often! On our check out, the lady front desk personnel was rude and condescending! The location is excellent as it is walking distance to a lot of shops, restaurants and sights! I will have second thoughts on coming back to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountaindiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Mountaindiner,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I want to take a moment to apologize for the less than impressive impression our suite left you. We will take measures to ensure every suite is impeccably clean and that the amenities are functioning correctly without inconvenient noises. Thank you again for your review and feedback. We hope you give us the future opportunity to create an excellent experience for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff was very helpful and informative. My husband was in Chicago for a business meeting and I accompanied him. We used the transit system both to and from the hotel with excellent instructions from the staff. The hotel was convenient walking distance to many many attractions and transit options. Breakfast was very good with fruit, egg and sausage, cereal, and bread choices each day. The couch and chair in our room were not very pleasant for sitting on, but we didn't spend much time in our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Lisa H,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. It made me happy to see that the staff at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago was helpful and informative. I was glad that you were able to take advantage of the breakfast as well as the location of the hotel as you visited the many attractions the city has to offer. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff-great at giving directions, hailing taxis, and making dining suggestions. Breakfast was very good each morning. Only complaint was having to wait a long time for our luggage to be delivered to our room-would have rather taken it with us than have to wait as we had medicine that we needed to take right away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 30jamiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you had a good experience at our hotel. I see that you were able to take advantage of the breakfast each morning. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the very helpful and friendly staff. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The rooms offer a separate living room and kitchen area, which comes in very handy when traveling with kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And the breakfasts every morning were great. The location can't be beat. Walking distance to everything in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMack127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Smack127,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was delighted to see that you and your family had a great experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the friendly and helpful staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Homewood is one block from the red line subway station, and a couple of blocks from Magnificent Mile, making the location perfect for our family of four. The suite was spacious, though the pullout couch was uncomfortable to sleep on. Clean, a bit tired, but for the money it was fine. The breakfast was better than most free hotel breakfasts. The weekday happy hour food was substantial enough to be dinner but not great quality. But for free, a nice option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
AsquaredNJ,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. I was glad to see that you found value while visiting us with your family. I can see that you took advantage of the great location, our breakfast, and the evening reception. We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great location and a wonderful value. The hot breakfast was a great way to start the day and the week day dinner was really appreciated when we came back to the hotel after a busy day sight seeing! We took the L in from the airport and were pleased to find the hotel only a very short walk from the stop on Grand. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texaskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Texaskk,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the hospitality you received and found value in staying with us. I appreciate you taking the time to recommend our hotel to all those out there. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing