We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff-great at giving directions, hailing taxis, and making dining suggestions. Breakfast was very good each morning. Only complaint was having to wait a long time for our luggage to be delivered to our room-would have rather taken it with us than have to wait as we had medicine that we needed to take right away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank 30jamiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you had a good experience at our hotel. I see that you were able to take advantage of the breakfast each morning. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the very helpful and friendly staff. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,479 - 1,485 of 2,861 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

The rooms offer a separate living room and kitchen area, which comes in very handy when traveling with kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And the breakfasts every morning were great. The location can't be beat. Walking distance to everything in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMack127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Smack127,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was delighted to see that you and your family had a great experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the friendly and helpful staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Homewood is one block from the red line subway station, and a couple of blocks from Magnificent Mile, making the location perfect for our family of four. The suite was spacious, though the pullout couch was uncomfortable to sleep on. Clean, a bit tired, but for the money it was fine. The breakfast was better than most free hotel breakfasts. The weekday happy hour food was substantial enough to be dinner but not great quality. But for free, a nice option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

AsquaredNJ,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. I was glad to see that you found value while visiting us with your family. I can see that you took advantage of the great location, our breakfast, and the evening reception. We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great location and a wonderful value. The hot breakfast was a great way to start the day and the week day dinner was really appreciated when we came back to the hotel after a busy day sight seeing! We took the L in from the airport and were pleased to find the hotel only a very short walk from the stop on Grand. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texaskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Texaskk,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the hospitality you received and found value in staying with us. I appreciate you taking the time to recommend our hotel to all those out there. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My daughter and I went for a mid-week getaway. The hotel was clean and pleasant. The staff was friendly. The room was clean, updated and large (2 room suite). LOVED the complimentary breakfast and happy hour! We were in a safe neighborhood with lots of restaurants and within walking distance to Navy Pier and Magnificent Mile. Great location. Will stay there again next time I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy_Rumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Judy_Rumps,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see that you and your daughter enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I see that you loved the breakfast and evening reception. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband, son, and I decided to take a long weekend get-away to Chicago in August. We had a wonderful weekend and enjoyed our stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton. The staff was very polite and offered advice on where to go etc., the service and continental breakfast were awesome. The hotel is across from Nordstrom's near the Magnificent Mile and is an ideal location!! We plan to stay there again whenever the three of us can get-away!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Cindy S,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was glad to see that you and your family had a wonderful weekend and enjoyed your experience while visiting our hotel. It seems like you were able to take advantage of the breakfast we offer and the location. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during the last week in August. Love the location, the staff, and the amenities. The hotel furnishing does seem a little old for me but nonetheless the room was very clean and comfortable. Kitchen was great. Complimentary breakfast was great. Dinner was great. Pool was a decent size to play with kids not really to swim. Overall very satisfied with our stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and come back if we visit Chicago again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
2  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Ken S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was pleased to see that you and your family loved the location, staff, and amenities. I see that you were able to take advantage of the breakfast, pool, and in-suite kitchen. I appreciate you taking the time to recommend our hotel to everyone. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $106 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing