We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #48 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2008

It was just OK. Very clean. Polite staff. Quiet. Great Location. Rooms are smaller than they look on the hotel web-site Breakfast was a rip-off, take a short walk to the pancake house. Teeny tiny beds, something between a full and a twin, tight for 2 people to sleep in. We have 3 10 year-olds and needed a suite with room. The couch folds out - fine for kids. $10 per day for internet access... another rip-off. I would stay here again but look at other options first.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ronmofew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,745)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,526 - 2,532 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2008

My stay was 5 days and I was there for a convention. All the staff, from the bellmen to the front desk were friendly and helpful. The breakfast and managers dinner receptions had quite a variety and was always good. The hotel location was great-just one block off Michigan avenue with plenty of restaurants around to choose from, There were two groceries nearby-Jewel Osco and Trader Joes-that I bought wraps & sandwiches to pack for lunch at the convention. (The food situation at McCormick Place Convention Center was awful-but that is another story!) There was plenty of shopping and I never felt unsafe walking alone. The room was nice but the carpet was frayed at the bathroom entrance and I did wonder if the carpets were ever vacuumed as I noticed a cookie crumb I had dropped stayed there almost the whole stay. But still basically a nice room with a nice view-especially at night. My price per night fluctuated from @189.00 to start, up to 312.00 by the end of my stay-of course I would have liked to have the cheaper price the whole stay. I would stay here again (if the price was right) and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PSOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed for four nights at the Homewood Suites in Chicago and would highly recommend it. I'll try not to repeat other reviewers, but it must be said again that the location of the hotel is very desirable. It's one block off the red line for the subway and many sights are within walking distance of the hotel.

As others have said the morning breakfast is a huge value and it's quite good. I liked that they put out to-go containers and were happy to allow people to take food back to their room. We could only take advantage of the evening snacks and drinks one night as they're only offered Monday - Thursday evenings. Our experience was the food was pretty bland, but it was great to have a few free glasses of wine.

The pool on the top floor is great as you can look out the windows and see all the Downtown lights and buildings while you're in the pool. There's a small work out facility as well.

The room itself was very comfortable and immaculate. I liked that you could easily get food delivered to your room from nearby restaurants or you could fix a meal yourself or store your leftovers in the fridge. There's a Trader Joes nearby where you can buy inexpensive wine and all kinds of groceries for a reasonable cost.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and very accommodating. The only issue we had was with one of the doormen when we first arrived. When we arrived and grabbed a brochure on an architectural river tour the doorman told us, "That one is sold out for tonight." He then tried to book us with a different company (I'm sure he gets a kickback or something). We ended up walking to the river and the tour with the original company was not sold out and he'd been lying to us. That was annoying, but I don't know if the doormen even work for the hotel.

One suggestion I'd make if you stay here is to consider earplugs. We didn't hear noise from within the hotel, but from the street below. We were on the second to top floor and the sound of horns and cars did make it a little hard for me to fall asleep. That's probably not a hotel issue, just a city issue. My husband wasn't bothered by it, so maybe it's only an issue if you're sensitive to noise.

A few tourist recommendations: check out Bobby's Bike Hike. We did the Chicago Neighborhood tour and it was definitely one of the highlights of the trip. You get to see things that are off the beaten path and the guide was a lot of fun and very informative. Definitely check out the fountains with the faces on them in Millenium Park. Lots of fun. Also, we went in both the Sears Tower and the Hancock Observatory and would recommend the Hancock. The views were of the water and the city and just prettier. The Sears Tower felt very sterile to me. It was hard to get a feel of how high up you are since it's completely closed off by windows that don't open. Having been in the Empire State Building and the Eiffel Tower there's something to be said for feeling the wind blowing on you and hearing the sounds below you. The Sears Tower doesn't give you that feeling. You can go up in the Hancock for free if you go to the Lounge and buy a drink. Two lousy mixed drinks were about $25 total so next time I'd just order a soda ($5.00) or pay to go to the actual observation deck. Don't miss the Field Museum. It's amazing. The Shedd Aquarium is also fun. If you've been to Sea World you won't be impressed by their live shows. Plus they seated everyone 1/2 hour before the show where you got to sit on a hard stone bench with someone's knees in your back and your knees in the back of the person in front of you. However, the exhibits were really well done. We saw a few things we've never seen before. Check out the City Pass as it saves you money if you'll be seeing a few of the major tourist attractions. Navy Pier was pretty disappointing to us. Several greasy chain restaurants and lots of ticky tacky tourist stuff. Maybe in the summer it's more fun with street performers and the like, but in late April it was a disappointment. Kids would enjoy it because of the ferris wheel, but don't go out of your way to see it. There's so many better things to see and do.

Overall, great hotel, great city, just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank luvtrvling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Amazing location, Very close from the Hampton inn and the Hilton Garden Inn (downtown), so don´t lose time, like i did, comparing locations, they are all great. You can have a 1 minute walk to the delicious, pricey, Joe's Stone Crab or a Sushi place with outstanding food quality and a forgettable name; if you walk to the other side you'll find P.F. Chang's. If you can walk more than a minute you will have numerous options.
If working out is a must for you, as a homewood guest you can acces the "crunch" gym right next door. It's a really big place with lots of fine equipment, a paradise for the ones who need a gym. If you like running, it takes only a 2 minute jog to the track beside the lake where you can rent bikes or skates or just run. We walked to the stores, restaurants, theater (Jersey boys! a must!), Opera, Navy Pier, etc. If needed a taxi would cost 5-7 dollars.
The room is nice, according to the price, with some details on the wallpaper and a small leak when rained (in a corner far away from the bed and sitting area, so we didn´t mind) the room is not big but roomy and the view was perfetc!.
Breakfast included is very good: fruit, kryspy kremes, eggs, cereals, breads, yoghur, etc.
The staff at front desk are extremely corteous and helpful, they always gave us the best directions, tips and assistance.
I will never go back to the other expensive hotels, this my hotel at Chicago from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ShrimpBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We had a conference at the nearby Marriott and thankfully could not get a room there, since it would have been $3-400 a night there. We found Homewood Suites, which is literaly next door. From our room, we could look into the rooms at the Marriott.

Boy are we glad we found this place. We paid $189 a night for 7 nights. If you stay 7 nights, it is considered "extended stay" and it is cheaper-probably cheaper total than if you stay 4-5 nights. Their pricing is a tad bit confusing because most room types have different rates on different nights, so just make sure you know what you average room rate is before thinking you got a great deal for all nights.

Location: It is one block off Mag Mile, and across street from Nordstrom, PF Changs, Pizzeria Uno, Bloomingdales, ESPNzone etc. GREAT location within walking distance of anything on Michigan Ave. or the Loop. In the room they have menus from various eateries that will deliver. Rannallis is great for pretty basic italian fare and salads. They are fast and only charge $2.50 delivery.

Public areas: The staff is very friendly. You take elevator to floor 6 for lobby, shop, and dining room.....

Almost the best part is the breakfast, which is probably the best complimentary brekfasts I have had a hotel ever. Scrambled eggs, breakfast meat, panckaes, french toast or fresh waffles, cereal, donuts, bread bagels fruit, yogurt, juice hot drinks. It got a little monotonous after 7 days, but the higher end-hotels don't even have this nice a breakfast for $$. NOR do the ritzey places have a buffett dinner. It is Mon-Thursday and is basic, but they have themes. Spagetti and meatballs, hamburger, pizza, Philly Cheese steak, chinese, etc. Usually some steamed veggies, small salad bar, hot entree and usually some kind of vegetarian option like mac/cheese, potatoes. Beer and Wine and soft drinks. Cake and pudding for dessert. Very passable, especially if you think that yo are saving $40 on dinner or more. We ate there 2 night out of 7. You can take the food to-go up to your room as well.

Room: we had a corner room. All the "_04" rooms are on the southeast corner which affords a view from the Hancock Tower to the Trump Tower and Wrigley Building in the middle. We loved it. You walk in and it has an almost full kitchen (no oven) with fridge, 2-burner cooktop, microwave, sink, dishwasher and dishes for about 4 people. Then there is a living area with dining table/desk, two dining chairs, an easy chair, couch, coffee table and tv. The bedroom has a confy king bed with pelty of pillows and clean duvet cover, tv and standard bathroom. You can close the bedroom door and the couch folds out. You have to go thru the bedroom to get to the bathroom. The dcor is urban, with warm colors and some ncie bw photos of Chicago architecture.

There is free wireless and ethernet cable internet in the room, which worked great. They also have a business center on floor 6 with printers, and conference table etc, so you can print out boarding pass etc. All the expensive hotel charge $10 a dayand that is if you can get it to work properly.

Overall, we were REALLY pleased with the quality AND value. These days you are lucky to get one of thsoe in a hotel, but to get both-wow, that says a lot. It makes you wonder how Hilton is able to do it, and makes you wonder how much profit these swankier palces make on just a simple room and no extras at all and still charge twice as much.

We will be back to this place and will look for more of these Homewood Suites elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

This hotel is very good in general.

Good for families like us as rooms are spacious.

Good value as breakfast and light dinner (Mon-Thurs) included.

Location is great for the Magnificent mile.

Main advise is not to trust the staff to help you with any transport. Staff at check-in (6th floor) are unware of information on getting around so refer you to the staff on the ground floor. I needed to get to another town, the staff booked me a terrible taxi with a man with a broken arm at an exhorbitant rate (I think he was related or something). The guy didn't know the route and didn't hang around for the return as previously agreed as he reckons he got an emergency call from the hospital who wanted to see him .... I didn't think hospitals were that responsive!!!

I was told by the guy who sorted this out that limos would charge $300 each way. In the end I had to get a limo for the return which cost me $80 ... way cheaper than what the taxi driver charged me.

This hotel is a great hotel but diminished by dodgy staff practices.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank KappyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Upon the the recommendations of TripAdvisor reviews we chose Homewood Suites on Grand Ave. one block from the Michigan Avenue for a two night stay the week after Easter. It cost $179 per night plus parking. We checked in an hour early and were given upon request a corner room on the top floor. The indoor pool was on the same floor. My wife and two daughters, ages 8 & 10 enjoyed the pool and the convenience of walking down the hall to go swimming. There is a free breakfast buffet and at 5:00 p.m., wine, beer and a light dinner during the week. The location was great and we had a 15 minute walk to the American Girl Store. The concierge/bellman, Rod, was very helpful and got as a discount for the river cruise which was also a short walk from the hotel. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Check out the Homewood Suites web cite for room details and prices..

1  Thank mdhkkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $129 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing