We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #53 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

4 of us went on a "girls trip" to Chicago and stayed at the Homewood. With an AARP discount, it was pretty reasonable financially between the four of us. There was a room with a very comfortable king bed, and a fairly comfortable pull-out couch in the living area. Nice kitchenette area as well. The breakfast was excellent, and they changed it up a little bit each morning. We had "brunch" there one day and then didn't have to spend money or time on lunch. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the location was perfect - just a couple blocks from Michigan Avenue and less than a block from the train station - I would definitely stay again if I went back. Very clean and recently updated, I'd guess.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tchrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Tchrtravel,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you and your friends had a great experience while staying with us for your “girls trip.” It seems like you all were able to enjoy many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    665
    210
    51
    38
See reviews for
914
478
113
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here May 4-7, 2013. The staff was great, from the valets to the desk staff. An example: my husband inquired as to whether the hotel had dvd players for guests. In less than no time, we had one in our room. The valets were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and getting us cabs. Just all around very, very helpful and courteous.

The room was quite clean, and the housekeeping staff was great.

The hotel is a great location, very close to Michigan Avenue, the Loop, restaurants, shopping. We did not use our car the whole time we were in Chicago; we either walked or took a cab.

We had a room on the 15th floor, at the end of the hallway, away from the stairs, and it was really quiet. No problem with noise.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn60785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dawn60785,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It made me very happy to see that you and your husband had a very good experience at our hotel. I appreciate the kind things you had to say about the team. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, IN
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our third year staying at the Homewood Suites in Downtown Chicago. We have always had a great time and would recommend it to anyone. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to visit the Magnificent Mile or the main attractions in Chicago. It's just a block off of Michigan Avenue and all of the bustops are right there. You can easily walk to the beach, Millenium Park or Grant Park, or any shopping you could want. There is also a free trolley to Navy Pier right out front during the summer months.

The rooms are all suites with a kitchen/living room and a bedroom with a king size bed. It's like having your own little apartment for the week. The water pressure in the shower is amazing and this is one of the few downtown Chicago hotels where you can still get a smoking room. There is also a nice long list of cable channels for those rainy days. The pool on the 19th floor has a gym attached and is enclosed in glass on 3 sides and gives you an awesome panoramic view of the Chicago buildings.
The free breakfast is always great, even if you don't like what they are serving there are always staples like yogurt, toast, pastries, and oatmeal. The themed dinners are also fun and are very tasty! If you like the type of food they are having each night, you will like the way they make it. And it is a nice touch that it includes free beer and wine. The servers remember you from day to day and, in some cases, from year to year, and treat you like family. The front desk staff is also very friendly and the manager is there to greet you for every meal they offer.

We only encountered a couple of issues this time and have never encountered any issues on our previous trip. The first issue was that I had chosen a smoking room and the maid removed the ashtray from my room on the second day. Another issue was some noise in the morning that sounded like a distant drill coming from higher floors (we were on floor 7 of 19), and then the toilet continued to make weird sounds after you flushed it. And the last issue was with our luggage. When we checked out we had the bellhop come and get our luggage to store it for the day while we spent our last day in the city. They loaded all of our stuff on the cart and took it downstairs to be stored and we picked up our luggage ticket on the way outside. The way the hotel is set up, the ground floor contains only the valet's, the elevators, and then a locked door to their luggage storage area and then you take the elevator up to the 6th floor for the main lobby. So anyone can walk in and out of the ground floor whether they are staying there or not. When we picked up our ticket and walked outside, our luggage cart was sitting against the wall next to the elevators and the storage door. We assumed they just hadn't put it in yet and were about to do it. However, when we returned 3 or 4 hours later, it was still sitting in the same spot and had never been moved. We were quite frustrated that our belongings were left out for anyone to see and take, but nothing was missing so we didn't complain.

All in all I would still recommend this hotel. The staff, rooms, and amenities are amazing and it is just a great place to call your home away from home in Chicago. I would just take a little precaution with your belongings and make sure they are stored properly before leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aubrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Mr. Aubrav,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your suite and the location of the hotel; it seems like you and your family were able to take advantage of both. We have discussed as a team the point you brought up about the luggage cart. I also would like to apologize for any inconvenience the noise created for you during your stay. I appreciate you recommending our hotel and all the wonderful feedback. We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to stay in Chicago! The hotel provides easy access to many wonderful places downtown, plus is close to public transporation options if you want to get out of downtown. The suite was very comfortable and the staff was helpful and professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Judi S,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see that you had a great experience while at Homewood Suites. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great staff, very friendly and accommodating . Great location , right down the block from the Red Line subway, and tons of places to eat and drink
Breakfast was delicious with plenty if choices.
Clean, modern rooms with a city view.
It's not cheap for a room but that's the price you pay for a hotel room in the city

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Billymack,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that you felt Homewood Suites was a great hotel. I appreciate you mentioning the very friendly and accommodating staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel staff was fabulous! They were friendly and very accomidating to our needs. They involved our students in thier team building activities and treated us like family. The hotel was clean including the rooms, dining area, and pool area. The fitness room has a beautiful view of the city. Breakfast was more than adequate with the yogurt bar, eggs, potatoes, meat, and a variety of breads and pastries. There was fresh fruit and a waffle maker to start your day off right. The dining area is large to accomidate families and large groups. The check-in staff was very kind and help with directions for us. They often asked at the end of our day what attractions we had seen andhow we were enjoying our stay. They went above and beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet. The full kitchen allows for cooking full meals. The pool is on the 19th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Lisa L,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It was a pleasure meeting you and all your students; you were a wonderful group to have at the hotel. It was fun playing Bozo Buckets for prizes with all of you and the hotel team. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

3 min walk to metro

absolute central downtown. opposite Normstorm and close to Wrigley building & the bridge.

doorman is cheerful & helpful. reception a bit cold. restaurant lady is sincere & hard working. The guest service manager Jason Park is very helpful & good & sincere. Maintenance guy is very friendly as well.

The interior is a bit old yet fully functional. We got a high floor corner suite and the view is very nice.

Meals provided (breakfast & dinner) are good buffets.

The heated pool is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambambamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Ambambamb,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see that you found Homewood Suites to be a good value in an excellent location. It was a pleasure to have met you during your visit. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing