We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #49 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to everything. We were greeted by Noah, who was a great bellman. He was very informative about the area. Upon checking in, we were greeted by Starr. She was exceptional at her job and very friendly every day that we saw her. The breakfast staff were also very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Cheryl054,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience while staying with us. I was also glad that the location of the hotel was convenient for you while visiting the many sites downtown Chicago has to offer. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the friendly and helpful team. We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    776
    233
    61
    43
See reviews for
1,099
556
127
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The place grew on me. I booked a smoking room by accident and it was not possible to stay in the room and they were very nice about trying to change it and gave me a better room without charging me. It is a very small suite, but it has a full kitchen so would be great for a longer stay. It was not possible to unfold the couch without rearranging the furniture which was a pain and the place was a little dingy with noticeable stains, but the king bed was very comfortable, great sheets and the free breakfast pretty good for the price. I think there is a free dinner too which we did not eat. The staff was very nice. WE moved to an Embassy Suites the next night, we needed more room, but it was $150 more dollars, worth it to us. So the bottom line, a good suite, would be hard for more than one person or maybe a couple, not someone sleeping in the living room....... not a good family place, just too small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeisgood9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
lifeisgood9999,
Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I would like to start off by apologizing for not being able to accommodate you with a non-smoking room. I was however, pleased to see that you enjoyed the breakfast. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the nice staff. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was staying in Chicago for three weeks and this hotel was ideal as I had a suite which made it more like a home-from-home.
It is very centrally located, making it ideal for a tired business traveller needing to unwind at the end of a long day.
The thing that really makes this place though are the staff.
They are friendly, welcoming and helpful and always have a smile.
I would definitely stay here again.
I've only knocked one point off the breakfast as the re was no bacon (and I'm rather partial to a spot of bacon in the morning), but that really is a minor point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceebeeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
CeebeeEssex,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and that we were conveniently located for you while you were in town for business. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Tried to get a room with two beds and they assured us that the foldout bed in the living room would be fine. It wasn't. The springs and ridges in the bed made me realize what a steak must feel like on a grill. Worst sleep I've had in a hotel for a while. Location is great, though, and breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuriousToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
FuriousToast,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I would like to apologize for your uncomfortable experience while staying with us. We will discuss the issue as a team and come up with a solution to make our guests more comfortable when utilizing the sofa bed.

On the other hand, I was pleased to see that the location was great for you and that you enjoyed the breakfast we offer. We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, you will give us another opportunity to create a great experience for you. Please contact me directly and I will make certain we have a remedy for the sofa couch.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very happy with this hotel. The Staff, from the guys on the street level, the people on the front desk, staff in the breakfast and supper room to the room maids and maintenance staff, they couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The location of the Hotel was also very Central to everything and walking everywhere was no problem. Breakfast choices were great and we very much enjoyed the "light suppers" from Monday-Thursday, the food was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Carol M,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience while staying with us at Homewood Suites. I was glad that the location of the hotel was convenient for you and your friends while visiting the many sights downtown Chicago has to offer. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the entire team and how nice and accommodating they were; I will pass along your compliments. We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My mom and I stayed at Homewood from 10/19 thru 10/23 in a 1-bedroom suite. All the hotel staff from bell boy to front desk to service staff were extremely friendly and nice. The room is spacious and clean. The furniture is functional (Ikea like) and not high end. Some people may complain they were not to their tastes but they were more than good, and clean.

The location is great, close to Red Line and the river/water taxi. I requested a room with a view and I got an excellent view of Trump tower and others. We got there before noon and the room was ready and had no problem with late check out request either.

There was free in-room wi-fi, a full-size refrigerator, electric stove, pots and pans, knifes, coffee machine, and coffee/cream/sugar, and microwave.

I knew that hot breakfast was provided at the hotel. But at check in, the front desk informed me that there would be manager's reception dinner on weekdays. We ate there on Monday night. There was one entry, two sides (menu changes daily), rolls, salad (very fresh and crisp), soup, and desserts. Everything was pretty tasty. They also provided choices of wine and beer. Of course there was always free coffee/tea at the lobby.

We did try the famous Chicago hot dog at Portillo's and deep dish pizza at Giordanoss (45 min. wait for take-out order and 1.5 hours for eat in at 10 p.m. still). I hate to say that the hot dog was just a hot dog, nothing special/good. The deep dish pizza was a big let down. It was just a calzone in a pizza shape. For a small pizza, it costed $23. It was heavy (about 4 pounds?) loaded with cheese but it was not tasty. The pizza dough was dense and not like normal pizza dough with air bubbles.

Our hotel was 5 minutes away. When we opened the pizza box, the box bottom was a big damp from being in a plastic bag. The inside had green pepper and onion and was a big watery. I could hardly taste the sausage. The sauce was not tasty. The dough bottom tasted a bit uncooked. I only ate the cheesy filling and threw out most of the crust. It was a big let down.

My surprise find was a small Thai restaurant next to Giordanoss called Silver Spoon at 710 N. Rush st. I tried Pad Woonsen (there was so much meat that I'd rather swap for more noodles) and Pad Thai. Both were delicious and around $8, a price you couldn't find in this area.

The value of this hotel is so great and I would stay here for sure next time. Thank you Homewood manager for a well run hotel.

I also encourage people to tip dinning room staff too. They worked long hours and still smiled and seemed happy. With the money we saved on meals, we could afford to be generous and make their days happier.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Achnj,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed staying at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It seems like you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer such as the kitchen in your suite, the breakfast, and the dinner. I was also glad to see that the location of the hotel was convenient for you and your family while visiting the many sights downtown has to offer. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the extremely friendly and nice staff; I will pass along your compliments to the entire team. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Between the location, the friendly staff or the generous amenities breakfast, reception, complementary wifi, access to laundry services, the suites kitchenette - it was simply perfect for our 2 teenagers and 8 month old. We plan to visit again and would recommend this property to any prospective family travelers.

Room Tip: book early!! - the sleeper sofa isn't the most comfortable solution so plan to bring an air mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjrk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Kjrk R,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that your experience with us was perfect. It seems like you enjoyed many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast and dinner reception. I appreciate you taking the time to recommend our hotel to others and for all your kind words. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing