We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #49 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Forest City, Iowa
Level Contributor
222 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Simply Perfection”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times. Always a perfect stay and this was no exception. A good rate, a warm greeting and a great complimentary breakfast. A large suite with two flat screen TV's. Clean and quiet and a great nights sleep. What more could anyone ask for. The service here at this hotel is 5 star to say the least. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHSRoger, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your continued loyalty we appreciate the sharing of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    776
    233
    60
    43
See reviews for
1,098
555
127
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This hotel is RIGHT in the middle of the action - directly across from Nordstrom and right around the corner from the Magnificent Mile. I made reservations in June for a December stay by calling the Hotel directly. I spoke to John and he was very helpful - we originally had four suites reserved for three nights. By the time December rolled around there were two suites for three nights. I called three nights in advance to cancel the other two rooms (more about this later). The hotel was able to accomodate my requests for a higher floor and rooms by each other. The suites are on the smaller side, but very clean and quiet. The staff was very customer service focused -- in addition to John being very helpful, I spoke with Horace and Starr who were also very attentive. We had the free breakfast one of the mornings and it wasn't bad as far as free breakfasts go. Eggs, a variety of breads, and a few meat choices. The only issue I had was the night before we left I checked my checking account and was surprised to see that I was being charged for an additional room (remember I cancelled them). When I called the front desk I was told that I hadn't cancelled. After a few back and forth's the front desk agreed to cancel the charge. This person (whose name I didn't get) was not as friendly as the others I had talked to, although she did fix my account. I will definitely stay here again next year when we come for our annual shopping trip.

Room Tip: Request a room at the top of the hotel. Great views! Rooms start at the 7th floor and go up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHSRoger, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. I do apologize about the charge to the debit card for the 3rd room. I will review with the team to understand why we did not cancel out the 3rd room. I do look forward to your future visit and please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is the second time my family and I have stayed at this property since 2009.

Just like our last visit, the staff is top-notch with a friendly demeanor and eager to please. The valet was always present and opening the door for us night and day. They were also great at assisting us with our luggage and retrieved our vehicle quickly when we needed it. The workers in the dining area (breakfast AND dinner is included) were also very pleasant and quickly cleaned tables. The room was very clean and spacious. Consider that you are 1/2 a block from the magnificent mile in what is essentially a one bedroom apartment. With the subway a block away, your access to the entire city is convenient. All units include a kitchenette with microwave, full-sized refrigerator, cooktop, dishwasher, toaster, etc. Compare the price and you'll see that this place is hard to beat. The only area I can offer improvement in is that the facilities are probably in need of a refurbishment soon. This is nit-picking, however, because everything is very clean and functional. Certainly not something that should keep you from booking here. I know we will again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing the south- GREAT views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdwt994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHSRoger, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Thank you for your suggestion and feedback during your stay we do look forward to your future visit to Chicago and appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Spent 4 nights over the recent Thanksgiving Holiday at the Homewood Suites, We weren't looking for luxury, but wanted a clean, safe, place to stay in a convient location. We enjoyed the Magnificant Mile, Thanksgiving day parade, etc and found this to be a great location.
We especially wish to send a great big "Thank You" to the Valet Staff especially Henry. They went out of their way to take care of the wife, kids and especially the amily car. I know they don't work directly for Homewood Suites, but they really are the ones that greet you as you come and go.
Also wanted to thank Rose at the desk for her assistance as well. Breakfast was great, but one day we decided to get a sit down hot breakfast and found Mary's right down the block to deliver exactely what we were looking for.

Would definately stay at Homewood Suites again!

Room Tip: Look for the ends of the halls away from the elevators. Although we found the rooms to not be that n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiawah_Regular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHSRoger, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback we will share with Henry, Rose and Valet team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I went to Chicago for a getaway over the summer and it was a great find. The Homewood has a great spread for breakfast and dinner(weekdays only) and the amenities were very comfortable. The room was well equipped with a nice kitchenette and a full size fridge (great for leftovers with all the great food in Chicago). The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was above average. It's not glamorous by any means but for $100 a night for 2 blocks off Michigan Ave with meals you can't go wrong. Definitely recommend this hidden gem.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basiclaly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspireMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHSRoger, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
We appreciate you sharing your experience in regards to your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, at the end of October. We usually stay at one of the Embassy Suites downtown, but we got a good deal on this Homewood Suites and we will definitely stay there again. It's just down the street from our favorite restaurant, Joe's Steak and Seafood, which was definitely a plus. Also, just across the street from the Nordstrom's entrance to the Mall on Michigan Ave. We walk everywhere, when we are in Chicago, so this hotel was great. We were there on a weekend, so didn't get to try the Manager's Reception. I'd give it 5 stars, but the bathroom door would hit the toilet, if the seat was down and it could use a little updating. That being said, we're looking forward to our next visit. Also, I went looking for some hair things, so I could put up my daughter's hair and couldn't find any in their shop, so asked at the front desk and they gave me a handful of rubberbands. Just what we needed! :-)

Room Tip: Get down to breakfast early, because it gets busy in the dining area and it's hard to find a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lislcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHSRoger, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am surprised that you were able to use the rubber bands for your daughter’s hair did not have a good experience with my own daughter : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed here with friends for a weekend getaway. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed them. They also offered continental breakfast AND dinner (with beer) every week night. The food was delicious! This hotel is in a great location. We were able to walk to the Magnificent mile, Millenium Park, Navy Pier and its right across the street from the Nordstrom mall. The subway was also one block away for easy access. They also have several restaurants and bars within close walking distance as well. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicaFan017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHSRoger, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing