We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Ranked #75 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel is greatly located near great restaurants and some of Chicago's famous entertainment venues like the house of blues.
Rooms are modern and nicely kept and the bathroom is big and spacious (no bathtub in the room I stayed in).
The metro station is just a few blocks away. Pharmacies and coffee shops are also one or two blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntlEconTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello IntlEconTraveler,
We really appreciate the review! Our fantastic location seems to have all the bases covered: amazing attractions, delicious dining, convenient transportation, helpful pharmacies, and plenty of charming coffee shops. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our great proximity to all of the above. We’re happy you also appreciated our stylish décor and clean, spacious rooms. The next time you’re looking for the perfect stay, in the heart of Chicago, please think of us! We’d love to make your next visit even more memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    370
    136
    57
    20
See reviews for
168
310
45
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I rate hotels on Cost, Cleanliness, Comfort and Convenience. Hotel Chicago gets 5's across the board. Here's what I got: $100 night hot deal on Hotels.com, extremely clean and well appointed, great shower, the most amazing bed I've ever slept on and blocks away from Michigan Ave, The loop and transportation. The style is contemporary classic in blacks and neutrals. We requested early check-in and got it even though they were sold out the night before. 3 blocks from the O'Hare blue line. The staff is attentive and polite. The only negative was paid wifi. I didn't ask what the cost was since I had my phone. We had room 1002 facing the River North neighborhood.

Recommend:
Lou Malinati's for Chicago style pizze on Wells (5 minutes)
Wildberry on Michagan and Randolph (northside of Grant Park) for a terrific breakfast. Some of the best coffee I've ever had.

Avoid:
Eggsperience (cold coffee, tepid food) on West Ontario.

The Picky Traveler proving that you don't have to compromise when you are traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: The hotel is north of the Marina Towers, so you want to face north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello Kodea,
We’re thrilled we exceeded your expectations on your thoughtful set of criteria. We’re glad the comfort of our beds set a new record in your book, and we’re happy you found our rooms clean, our showers terrific, and our location convenient. We hope you enjoyed our contemporary décor and friendly service team. We’re delighted we could accommodate your early check-in request, even on short notice. We try our very best to please our valued guests! For future reference, Wi-Fi is offered for free to all Marriott Rewards Members. This free program offers great benefits throughout all Marriott properties. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review, plus plenty of helpful tips for future guests. We hope to see you again; we would love to offer you another fantastic experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is old but it obvious it's been nicely renovated. However we couldn't believe the bath towels were really old and even torn. My husband has a platinum membership with Marriott, so supposedly we were in one of their best rooms? The breakfast food at the concierge lounge was not good either, poor selection and not the best quality. Disappointed! Great location and good beds though.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank fcastroleal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello,
Your feedback is invaluable to us, as it helps us identify areas we need to improve. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the condition of our bath towels. We will take your comments under careful consideration, as we continue to make improvements. Your satisfaction and comfort are our top priorities. We are sorry to hear the quality and selection of our breakfast didn’t meet your expectations. We appreciate your loyalty and strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience. We are happy to hear our fantastic location and comfortable beds served as redeeming qualities. We hope they’re enough to bring you back to us; we would love the opportunity to make your next stay more rewarding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I arrived tired and jet lagged from a long haul flight to the hotel Chicago. The reception area is pretty plain and left me feeling nervous that the hotel was going to be awful. The front desk staff greeted me warmly and checked me into my room without any fuss. Once I opened the door to my room I was extremely pleased by the tastefully decorated comfortable bedroom I was provided. A huge king bed, and a bathroom where you could eat your dinner from the floor. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel because the hotel is in such a great location you are literally spoiled for choice in terms of eating. If you're travelling to Chicago and want a great hotel without having to pay a mortgage for it, then look no further. Finally, I did try the bar ... well priced drink, friendly staff and spacious enough so you catch relax comfortably.

Room Tip: Higher floors equals better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mister_Bosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello Mister Bosley,
Your wonderful review made us smile! After enduring a long flight, we’re glad you felt truly welcomed by our reception team. We’re thrilled to hear our thoughtfully designed rooms, housekeeping standards, and fabulous, centralized location impressed you. We’re also happy you enjoyed a delicious and relaxing experience at our Crimson Lounge. We hope you return to Hotel Chicago; we would love to see you again and offer another rewarding experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was a hotwire deal. I lived in the city many years ago and now return for visits few times per year. The location was good...just off Michigan ave, almost on the river and central to a lot of things to do north and south. The architecture nearby is a huge bonus....Marina city right next door is a landmark, trump tower is across the street, hotel Langham in the iconic IBM building is too and Tribune towers are a short walk.

We were greeted by valet informing us there is no hotel parking, which is not uncommon but not offering a discount with an offsite parking partner is. So $65 for overnight is what we were told...I've paid less with other hotels in the city.

Check-in was quick and courteous. The room was small, even by boutique standard, there's no mini fridge, we did not find the bed or pillows comfortable, everything was clean and orderly. There's an$18 charge for WiFi which is ludicrous and reason alone to not return.

The restaurant a d club looked nice although we didn't experience either of them.

Overall it was ok, but the parking and WiFi policies will keep me from returning or recommending.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariatafoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello Maria,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience with us. We’re happy you enjoyed our wonderful location and several of the amazing things to do and see nearby. We apologize that our parking policies and availability displeased you. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We’re happy our friendly reception team made you feel welcome. We regret that the size, amenities and comfort of our rooms failed to impress you, but we’re glad you found them neat and clean. We’ll take your helpful refrigerator suggestion under careful consideration. Thank you. For future reference, Wi-Fi is offered for free to all Marriott Rewards Members. This free program offers great benefits throughout all Marriott properties. We hope you take advantage of it and consider Hotel Chicago again. We would love a chance to win you over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were just beyond impressed with this gem of a hotel! Beautiful, well-appointed room. Extremely clean and luxurious feeling. Comfortable bed, wonderful shower. Very stylish place. Impeccable service. And the LOCATION. We will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janessatherens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello Janessa,
Your wonderful review made our day so much brighter. Good surprises are the best! We’re thrilled we could spring some on you with our beautifully designed spaces, comfortable beds, and dedicated service. We imagine the capitalization of “location” is a good thing! We agree; it’s one of our favorite features too. We are thrilled to hear we’ll get another chance to share it with you. Your repeat visit would mean a great deal to us. Thank you for the loyalty! We promise to provide another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family and I stayed in Chicago for the air show. The hotel is very charming, although in need of a few cosmetic updates.. I understand that innovations are in the works. The best part of our stay was the personal service we received from the bell staff, specifically Murphy. We weren't pleased with our first room assignment , so he worked (with pleasure) to find the ideal room for my daughter. He also provided many suggestions on parking and general transportation, which saved us time and money. I don't recommend the breakfast in the restaurant. Walk down the street - get an Einstein bagel.
Looking forward to another visit at Hotel Chicago.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FabbFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello FabbFive,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience at Hotel Chicago. We love hearing that one of our own went above and beyond to ensure your family’s satisfaction. We’ll pass your praise on to Murphy and our fantastic bell staff; it’s sure to make everyone’s day! We hope you enjoyed the air show and your time in our beautiful city. We are sorry to hear you weren’t pleased with our on-site breakfast, but we’re glad you found an appealing alternative, only steps away. You’re right! We’re pretty excited about some upcoming improvements, and we’re thrilled to hear you’re already looking forward to another visit with us. The feeling is definitely mutual! We can’t wait to make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,481 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing