We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Ranked #76 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family and I stayed in Chicago for the air show. The hotel is very charming, although in need of a few cosmetic updates.. I understand that innovations are in the works. The best part of our stay was the personal service we received from the bell staff, specifically Murphy. We weren't pleased with our first room assignment , so he worked (with pleasure) to find the ideal room for my daughter. He also provided many suggestions on parking and general transportation, which saved us time and money. I don't recommend the breakfast in the restaurant. Walk down the street - get an Einstein bagel.
Looking forward to another visit at Hotel Chicago.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FabbFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello FabbFive,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience at Hotel Chicago. We love hearing that one of our own went above and beyond to ensure your family’s satisfaction. We’ll pass your praise on to Murphy and our fantastic bell staff; it’s sure to make everyone’s day! We hope you enjoyed the air show and your time in our beautiful city. We are sorry to hear you weren’t pleased with our on-site breakfast, but we’re glad you found an appealing alternative, only steps away. You’re right! We’re pretty excited about some upcoming improvements, and we’re thrilled to hear you’re already looking forward to another visit with us. The feeling is definitely mutual! We can’t wait to make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    367
    133
    56
    20
See reviews for
164
303
44
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The location is great...close to the subway and easy to walk to restaurants, magnificent mile, navy pier, millennium park etc. Staff were friendly and rooms were clean. A few minor things, the light fixture in our room was falling off and internet is $18 a night if you aren't a gold rewards member. Internet is free in the lobby. It is such a cash grab to charge for internet in this day and age. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and despite the location we didn't hear any of the city noise at night. The bathroom was huge! The shampoo/shower gel was cheap but not a big deal. I would stay here again if the price was right!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat9Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Nat9Toronto,
Thank you for the review. We love our fantastic location too! There are so many amazing things to do and see nearby. We’re happy you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our clean, comfortable rooms, as well as the hospitality of our great team. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to a loose light fixture in your room, and we’re sorry you were displeased with our Wi-Fi policies. We appreciate your thoughts and will take them into careful consideration. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We are delighted our spacious bathrooms and comfortable beds impressed you, but we regret that our provided selection of toiletries did not. We do hope you choose Hotel Chicago again; we’d love to make your next visit even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We were kindly greeted upon arrival. Staff very helpful with restaurant suggestions. The structure is old therefore you could experience issues with your internet connection. Rooms are updated despite age of building. The hotel bar had poor service and closed early. However the wine bar next door was very nice.
You are walking distance to many restaurants, shopping, tour boats and nightlife. Cabs are readily available to the museums airport etc. My fare to and from Midway was around $30 one way. I would stay here again due to it's location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We really appreciate your review. We’re happy to hear that, from the moment you arrived, our friendly team made sure you felt welcome and were able to be of assistance. As locals, they really do have some of the best restaurant suggestions! Speaking of dining, we sincerely apologize that you weren’t met with our usual high standard of service at the Crimson Lounge. We are happy your experience at Bin 36 was far more pleasing. We’re also glad you enjoyed our thoughtfully designed rooms, and we are very sorry if you experienced any issues with our Wi-Fi. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused you. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We’re thrilled our great location ultimately won you over, and we would love to see you again! A repeat visit would be a huge compliment. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Attending a regional sales meeting, the hotel decor is full of charm and reminded me of a castle. My room was quite small, however, very clean, quiet, and comfortable bed. Others in my group commented as to how large and nice their rooms were, you may want to make sure you don't get a corner room if there's more than one in your party. Walking distance to everything, the staff is very attentive. Our meeting room was well taken care of, lunch on site was good, breakfast was also good, not overpriced either. The location of this hotel is perfect, literally walk to almost anything, House of Blues is just out the front door, literally 100' away.

Room Tip: My corner room was very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We think our location is a winner too! Thank you for the great review, Sheri. We’re delighted to hear our decor made you feel like you were within the walls of a castle. There’s something so unique and majestic about that. We’re pretty sure castles didn’t have beds nearly as comfortable as ours though! We apologize if you were displeased with the size of your room, but we’re glad you found it clean, cozy, and quiet. We’re thrilled our fantastic team took such good care of you, and we’re happy you found our on-site dining to be delicious and reasonably priced. We hope you enjoyed some free time and entertainment at House of Blues next door, and we REALLY hope your great experience will bring you back to us again soon! We’d love to offer you another one, even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I left a small bag in my room, but was full of items. I have called several times and have yet to receive a call back from lost and found. Twice the front desk has told me it wasn't turned in and told me that housekeeping probably threw it out. I find it hard to believe that housekeeping would pick up a bag full of something and not look in it, but rather throw it out. When I explained that to both girls that answered the phone neither one had a response. One tried to transfer me to housekeeping and when no one answered I was brought back to her. Again... she didn't know what to say. I can tell you that neither one of the girls knew how to apologize either.

My fault for leaving the bag in the bathroom, but shame on whichever employee helped themselves to my things. Shame on the hotel for not responding to my voicemail or my concerns.

Also, make sure you check your charges. I was charged for parking my car. However, I didn't have a car. The man I spoke to promptly removed the charge.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Rebecca,
We are sincerely sorry for the issues you’ve experienced. We want every guest to feel confident in the security of their belongings. We also apologies that you were not offered the excellent service we pride ourselves on. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at mdeinhart@hotelchicago.com. We’d love to see what can be done regarding your bag and what we can do to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Not really a luxury hotel and not well suited for business traveler. Desk is tiny no free wifi in fact for a Marriott the wi if is expensive. Rooms are okay but mine had peeling paint. It was quiet and bed comfortable but many little things were lacking. The gym was small with not much equipment and the equipment was dated. Staff was pleasant. I got a great rate and it was well located for my business meetings. With so many other choices in this area of Chicago, I will try something else on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank statestreet96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Statestreet96,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to hear our accommodations and fitness center failed to impress you. We’re glad you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the peace and quiet our rooms afforded, but we apologize that the desk and Wi-Fi policy weren’t to your liking. For future reference, complimentary Wi-Fi is available in our lobby and to all Marriott Rewards Members. We’re happy you were pleased with our nightly rates and convenient location. We truly appreciate all your feedback, as it helps us identify areas that need improvement. The next time you’re in Chicago, we hope you reconsider and give us the opportunity to win you over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel is in a great location...the heart of everything. The staff was amazing. The gentleman at the front desk went out of his way to make sure we were happy and had all of our questions answered. We felt very welcome and at home. When we came back from lunch he greeted us by name and asked how everything was. The whole staff went out of their way to make sure everything was great! If were walking down the hall toward the elevator they would hit the button before we got there. It was the little things that made the difference. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is starting to show its age a little.....but was very clean. The staff made the difference and wish I could remember their names.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello Mick,
Your review made our day! We’re thrilled our fantastic team took such good care of you during your time with us. We strive to make each of our guests feel truly welcome and comfortable; we’re happy we succeeded with you. We’re also delighted you enjoyed our great location. We apologize if aspects of our hotel’s interior failed to impress you, but we’re looking forward to some exciting improvements in the near future. We hope you return to Hotel Chicago; we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing