We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Ranked #77 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay this last weekend. I was there for conference so they gave us the wi-fi code free. If McDonalds & Starbucks can offer internet free, then so should a hotel that charges these rates. Our room had a small fridge mini-bar which was nice. I just moved all the snacks out & put ours inside. The bed was comfortable & the shower had strong water pressure. I like the in room coffee maker too- must have for me. All the staff was very courteous & prompt with service.

I liked the location of the hotel. We walked everywhere. We were about a 25 min walk from Union Station after our bus ride in. Grant & Millennium park were just a leisurely stroll away. Plenty of shopping & main attractions within a 10 min walk.

The conference facilities & food were fine too. Nice place for business or pleasure.

The only reason I gave not a 5 star was the price was high (room & parking) & small bathtub (too small to take a bath).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ivsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello,
Our location always keeps us smiling; we’re thrilled you fully enjoyed it too! We’re happy the in-room mini-fridge proved convenient, the bed comfy and the shower water pressure perfect. We appreciate your feedback regarding our rates, parking and bathtub size. We carefully consider all our guests feedback in an effort to always improve. We hope to see you again when you next visit our amazing city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    359
    132
    56
    19
See reviews for
159
296
44
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything went well and was great. The check-in was smooth, as was the check-out, the staff was friendly, helpful and attentive.

The hotel is located close to everything in downtown Chicago with easy walking, buses, trains and cabs right outside the front door. Access to Lake Michigan, Navy Pier, the Theatre District, Grant Park, museums, restaurants and entertainment couldn't be easier.

I attended a weekend meeting, the facilities were fine and on par with most any other location I've attended.

I was very satisfied with my visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mn-ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello,
All your location tips are fantastic, thank you! We’re happy you enjoyed our downtown location, service and meeting facilities. We’ll love sharing your compliments with our hotel team; we know it’ll make everyone smile. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Friendly at check in is a good start. Room was good size,facing the Chicago river. Bed was excellent, bathroom spacious. One slight towel problem was fixed in 10 minutes. Room was quiet and very comfortable.Easy check out with apple and coffee. This is an excellent property and we hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: try room 1105
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bernie1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Bernie,
We love hearing when our guests fully enjoy their Chicago vacation, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the towel problem you mentioned. Thankfully, it sounds like our team was able to quickly remedy the situation. We’re happy you loved our quiet, comfy rooms and easy check in and check out. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is in a great location and has some nice views of the Chicago River. The bellmen and front desk were friendly and helpful but we didn't require them to go out of their way. The parking fee was the highest I have ever paid but there were in and out privileges and they didn't require you to remove your car till 5pm on check out day. There was also wifi but we had to pay for it. We had a king sized room and it was very large with a nice large bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we didn't have any problems with air conditioning or noise from other rooms. The hotel is in good repair but the design could be updated. It's all very glitzy Baroque, which was cool and trendy about ten years ago. Now it just looks kind of silly. If the price was good I would stay here again but I also wouldn't be excited about it.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello,
Our location is a quality we love, and we’re always happy when guests feel the same. It sounds like you appreciated the great view of the city from your room, the room size and our cleanliness; thank you for taking the time to tell us. For future reference, Wi-Fi is offered for free to all Marriott Rewards Members. This free program offers great benefits throughout all Marriott properties. We’ll also take your thoughts regarding our décor into special consideration. We hope to see you again in the future. We have many exciting improvements planned, and we’d love to share them with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel due to a business meeting being held here. I flew into ORD and paid $5 for the blue line to Clark station, 2 blocks away. Easy walk to hotel. Ana at the front desk was very helpful and informative. Room on the 12th floor had a king bed with large windows. Room was clean and an average size unless comparing to Manhattan which would be billed as a suite! Facilities/Meeting room was well managed. Would I consider this a top notch place? Ehh. I received a military discount which made it worth the money. I get irritated at the large city nickel and diming me. Internet $17/d, parking $69/d, for ordering room service it's a 24% gratuity and $6 delivery fee added on to over priced food plus tax. Room safe is adequate for small laptop/tablet, but not a small purse. No refer. Hotel is surrounded by many other hotels, bars, restaurants and night spots. If I have another meeting here OR if there is a venue at the House of Blues I am seeing, I would stay here again. If this area of town is what you are looking for its a good option.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TideRider_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello,
It sounds like you travel often; we hope you enjoyed your visit to our amazing city! Your transportation tips are very helpful, and we know future guests will be grateful. It’s good to hear that our cleanliness, room size and meeting rooms all met your expectations. We’ll take your feedback regarding the expenses associated with staying in downtown Chicago into careful consideration. We work towards always improving, and your comments are very helpful. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the (Sax hotel) Hotel Chicago after booking it through Hotwire. Upon arriving at the hotel we were told that even though we requested two rooms to accommodate 5 adults and 2 children we would have two rooms with a king in each and no cots were available. We had a confirmation from hotwire explaining that there would be enough beds to accommodate us all. Even though we didn't book directly with the hotel we expected to be looked after and I have never encountered this problem before with hotwire bookings. After a while a room with two beds one was found for us, we soon found out why the room was available. After returning to the room late that evening and after our children had fallen asleep on the make shift beds of blankets on the floor we found out the a/c was not working.
When we explained the next day, the gentleman was very friendly but struggled to give us something for the problem. Eventually we were provided with 5 breakfast tokens as 7 tokens would be too much! We will not be choosing to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellover37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello,
We’re very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We’re unable to guarantee room types when reservations are booked through an outside booking agency since we don’t have access to their booking engines. We strive to accommodate room type requests whenever availability allows, and we apologize that we weren’t able to accommodate your requests. We’re glad that the gentleman assisting you was friendly, but we apologize that a satisfactory solution was not found at the time. We’d like to invite you to reach out to us personally at mdeinhart@thehotelchicago.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The front desk didn't find my name. They said they would need a confirmation number and pointed at a couple of networked PC's. I was able to get the number and produced it to the clerk. She said that the number is not useful, she needs to see the entire e-mail. Luckily I was able to pull that up on my smartphone. She then checked me in very rudely. She even failed to show me how to work the keys. You needed one key for the elevator and an RFID key to open the room. I hadn't used RFID, but it would have been useful to tell me. I was able to track down someone in housekeeping how showed my the process.

I complained to the manager, and he was rude - as if I was trying to break in the hotel. He offered me a free breakfast. When I brought down the ticket, it was good for a waffle and an orange juice. I was very happy to get out of there after spending almost $300 for my one night experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LawyerScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello,
We’re very sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel. We want every guest to feel welcomed from the moment they arrive, and we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We’re also sorry that not all staff offered you excellent and kind service. We’d love for you to reach out to us personally at mdeinhart@thehotelchicago.com. We welcome the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 187 in Chicago
2,443 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 187 in Chicago
986 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing