We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #102 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spring Break Trip”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Three of my grandchildren (18, 14 and 12) and I spent 3 nights here over their spring break. The room was comfortable with a great view of the city. The folks at the front desk were very helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We had a great time exploring the city by bus, train and foot. Highlights were the Shedd Aquarium, Lincoln Park Zoo and Navy Pier. Great location near the Hancock Building.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful nighttime view of the city and Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    295
    85
    23
    15
See reviews for
283
161
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when in town for business and enjoyed it very much! Perfect location walking distance to many destinations! Staff were very friendly at the entrance and front desk. Happy hour and breakfast are good bonuses! The room was spacious and clean with great view! The only thing I didn't care for was the bed cover blanket. It could have been a better quality comforter.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ellada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Great room! Beautiful view! Large rooms, wonderful breakfast!! Extremely clean. Very pleasant staff who upon every request greeted me with a smile and knowledge of the area. The rooms were spacious and perfect for relaxin after a busy day!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank merebear848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days with family. The location is great, most things in walking distance, the rooms are well equipped, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful especially Semantha in the breakfast shift and Antonio at the front desk. Would definitely stay here if ever back in Chicago !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LobnaHamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have been at the Residence Inn for 4 nights on a spring vacation. We enjoyed the warm welcome and we had a great room. (1105)
Breakfast was delicious (thanks to Ruben, who welcomes his guests with a smile) and the breakfast area was always clean and dishes filled up.
We love the location near mag mile - everything important in walking distance, otherwise to reach by bus or underground from cta.
On thursday evening the Hotel offered a great hamburger - with a fresh salad buffet. A plus we did appreciate!
The room was big enough - kitchen well equipped - and very clean.
We will be back.

Room Tip: On higher levels you can see lake michigan. in floor 11 not yet. Our room was facing the street. Sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had the pleasure to stay here this past weekend. Very, very happy with our choice. Nice, spacious, and spotless room. Walking distance (1 block) to Michigan Ave. shopping and dining. You will not be disappointed staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badger2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
244 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was traveling with my 9 year old son, so high luxury was not what we needed; a comfortable, friendly place with laundry facilities is what we needed. This place scored on all fronts. We arrived by cab about 3:30 PM, were able to check-in without delay, got quarters and set about the task of doing a week's worth of laundry. The hotel is clean, the laundry facilities large, the personnel (to a person) friendly, the room MOSTLY clean (we can forgive), and the bed comfy.
The next day, while waiting for our 3:00 PM train departure, we were afforded a 1:00 check out. All of this within a minute's walk of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile.
The evening meal and breakfast were just icing on the cake.
Bravo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#115 of 190 in Chicago
857 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing