We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #85 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days with family. The location is great, most things in walking distance, the rooms are well equipped, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful especially Semantha in the breakfast shift and Antonio at the front desk. Would definitely stay here if ever back in Chicago !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LobnaHamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    247
    63
    16
    12
See reviews for
230
135
32
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have been at the Residence Inn for 4 nights on a spring vacation. We enjoyed the warm welcome and we had a great room. (1105)
Breakfast was delicious (thanks to Ruben, who welcomes his guests with a smile) and the breakfast area was always clean and dishes filled up.
We love the location near mag mile - everything important in walking distance, otherwise to reach by bus or underground from cta.
On thursday evening the Hotel offered a great hamburger - with a fresh salad buffet. A plus we did appreciate!
The room was big enough - kitchen well equipped - and very clean.
We will be back.

Room Tip: On higher levels you can see lake michigan. in floor 11 not yet. Our room was facing the street. Sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had the pleasure to stay here this past weekend. Very, very happy with our choice. Nice, spacious, and spotless room. Walking distance (1 block) to Michigan Ave. shopping and dining. You will not be disappointed staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badger2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
277 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was traveling with my 9 year old son, so high luxury was not what we needed; a comfortable, friendly place with laundry facilities is what we needed. This place scored on all fronts. We arrived by cab about 3:30 PM, were able to check-in without delay, got quarters and set about the task of doing a week's worth of laundry. The hotel is clean, the laundry facilities large, the personnel (to a person) friendly, the room MOSTLY clean (we can forgive), and the bed comfy.
The next day, while waiting for our 3:00 PM train departure, we were afforded a 1:00 check out. All of this within a minute's walk of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile.
The evening meal and breakfast were just icing on the cake.
Bravo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have been staying at the Residence Inn on East Walton since it was converted into a Residence Inn property. We treat it like a little home away from our home. Located off busy Michigan Ave, near the 900 block the RI is within walking distance of museums, restaurants and shopping. The rooms have been recently been updated and pets are welcomed. We always take a one bedroom suite so the there is plenty of room and having a seperate bedroom allows for tv watching without bothering my wife. With all the hotel options available in Chicago we feel that this one fits our need and price bracket. Free breakfast is another perk.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on E.Walton St. side give a fabulous lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback on our property, your home away from home. We really are an urban sanctuary, a block off Michigan Avenue, but yet situated in a very quiet residential area. Thanks for your continued loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel was very clean and the staff was attentive and kind. We were impressed by the size of our 2 bedroom suite, but we understood why the sitting areas and bedrooms were so huge - only one TINY bathroom. We did fine since there was only 2 of us but a bigger group might want to take note. Great location near the lake, shopping, food and fun. A little hard to find and the one way streets in that area can be confusing. Also note if you are claustrophobic that its a very BUSY hotel and there will usually be a large crowd at check-in times, plus at their breakfasts. Again, however, they have an excellent staff and wait times were short. All in all, a great stay. I would definitely stay again, and would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Our two bedroom suite only had a view of the street, and a very limited view of the lake. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TnTraveler1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I only stayed one night at the Residence Inn. It is steps from the Magnificent Mile and many great restaurants and bars. Check in was great, Valet was very attentive. The rooms were a bit small but thats probably to be expected in an urban hotel. The room however was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast and evening social were very run of the mill Marriott but good none the less. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing