We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They allow animals so rooms smell and they are dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #108 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very disappointed in a marroitt hotel. Entire hotel seems to be run by kids. Housekeeping is very poor. This hotel allows animals and its obvious the second you walk into the room. Our room smelled like cat urine so we changed rooms and believe it or not the next room also smelled like cat urine. We made a big mistake booking here so warning the readers of this review so it doesn't happen to you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sugarboogerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay in Chicago. I am so sorry for the experience you encountered with the odor in our rooms. We have a very specific cleaning process that is used in rooms with pets and this is followed up on daily. Please contact me directly to discuss further as I would like to ensure we can provide resolution.
Kind Regards,
Lindsy Wnorowski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 773 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We paid about $190/day (tax included) for four days in late August and early September there. The location is in downtown, and is within walking distance to attractions. Breakfast is very good and so is the host. It was a very good value for value oriented and family vacation stay. However, there are two drawbacks during our stay. One is that the room is so small for three people with one king-size bed and a sofa bed. There os literally no room for anything. We need at least a room with two queen-sized beds room to function properly. Second, the flat screen tv in the room did not function properly. The reception was iratical: sometimes good and sometimes bad. Maybe bacause it was a corner room. We didn't bother to call the front desk because we spent most of our time in Chicago. But we do appreciate watching important news or a movie when we came back to sleep. Overall, it was a great stay, and I will come back for this place again.

Room Tip: One needs to take "blue train" from airport and then change to "red train" in Ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukokyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Good morning and thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I wanted to follow up and let you know that we are in the process of changing cable providers to one that allows for up to 70 HD channels in room. We will have this project completed over the next few months.
Thank you again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just visited Chicago with 3 friends for a long weekend of sightseeing, shopping and going to restuarants; the 2-bedroom suite was a perfect fit for our needs. It was not luxurious, but had everything we needed for the weekend. Even the sofa bed was OK. There is only one bathroom, and for 4 women we thought that might be a challenge, but we worked it out--it helped that mirrors and the sink are outside of the bathroom! Having a kitchen and a living room space was great, and the breakfast that comes with the rate makes this an even better deal. The location---2 blocks off North Michigan as well as Lakeshore Drive, was perfect. We only took one cab the entire weekend since this was so centrally located to everythink we wanted to do. It's not the Four Seasons, but at around $1200 total for 3 nights for 4 people, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good afternoon! Thank you for staying with us on your girls weekend away. Our two bedroom suites are perfect for friends and family to gather as they are an incredible 950 square feet. I appreciate you sharing your feedback.
Kind Regards,
Lindsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn for a quick trip to attend a funeral in Chicago. The hotel was very clean, up to date, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and there is a little shop near the front desk if you need a little snack or quick meal. The room was very comfortable, and would be perfect for a longer stay, had we needed that. For the most part the room was clean, but I did find some hair one of the drawers in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was really good (they even had a waffle machine in the other room), and on the second morning, one of the staff people even sang for us! I really enjoyed the hot coffee and tea that was available 24/7 in the lobby. They also had water flavored with fruit available by the front desk. The hotel is also about half a block from the water (across a busy street), so that was easy to walk to. The hotel also seemed to be a little off of the main strip, but it was close enough that we walked everywhere we needed to go (even Millennium Park), and far enough away that it was quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TheRinkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for business in August 2013. If you are planning an extended stay for busing or for the the family in downtown Chicago, this is perfect. Just off the Mag Mile, walking distance to Lake Michigan and downtown attractions north of the Chicago River. Great place to stay if you are visiting Northwestern Law School or the John Hancock Center. Parking was a little high ($47), but not absurd for downtown Chicago. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with the trip advisor community! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your return trips to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was a little concerned about the reviews on TA but decided to give it a go. We needed a two bedroom suite and the price wasn't too bad. An old apartment building and yes the elevators are not adequate so you need to pay attention and be smart. Request a low floor and take the stairs or request a high floor so elevator after elevator doesn't pass you full of people on the way to breakfast. Breakfast was very good and the staff kept everything up as much as they could. Not sure if others were just that impatient but the longest we waited at peak time was about 5 minutes. Master bed was about as comfortable as it gets but the second bedroom was terrible. There was a female staff member with the singing voice of a star who busted into a welcome song at breakfast which I thought was a nice touch even to the stuffy crowd.
Our room had a musty smell at first and we called down and they took care of it right away, the manager sent a nice email to follow-up, very nice touch. I think you need to set expectations correctly and this place is very good. And the location, you can't beat the location and service.

Room Tip: Choose either a high floor or a low floor to avoid the elevator mess. The biggest issue is going do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent five night while in town for a convention. The hotel is located in a nice a quite neighborhood one block away from the hubbub of Michigan Ave. Great location! The place is relatively clean despite the fact that it is pet friendly. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. They serve a great breakfast and the ladies responsible for serving it are attentive, friendly and always have a smile. The rooms are large and the bed is comfortable but a bit too soft. The room doors make loud banging noise when closed which can be heard through the walls. We were able to secure a good rate, which made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valiant10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $117 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing