We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 1/2 Stars A VERY NICE STAY !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #108 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was a little concerned about the reviews on TA but decided to give it a go. We needed a two bedroom suite and the price wasn't too bad. An old apartment building and yes the elevators are not adequate so you need to pay attention and be smart. Request a low floor and take the stairs or request a high floor so elevator after elevator doesn't pass you full of people on the way to breakfast. Breakfast was very good and the staff kept everything up as much as they could. Not sure if others were just that impatient but the longest we waited at peak time was about 5 minutes. Master bed was about as comfortable as it gets but the second bedroom was terrible. There was a female staff member with the singing voice of a star who busted into a welcome song at breakfast which I thought was a nice touch even to the stuffy crowd.
Our room had a musty smell at first and we called down and they took care of it right away, the manager sent a nice email to follow-up, very nice touch. I think you need to set expectations correctly and this place is very good. And the location, you can't beat the location and service.

Room Tip: Choose either a high floor or a low floor to avoid the elevator mess. The biggest issue is going do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 779 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent five night while in town for a convention. The hotel is located in a nice a quite neighborhood one block away from the hubbub of Michigan Ave. Great location! The place is relatively clean despite the fact that it is pet friendly. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. They serve a great breakfast and the ladies responsible for serving it are attentive, friendly and always have a smile. The rooms are large and the bed is comfortable but a bit too soft. The room doors make loud banging noise when closed which can be heard through the walls. We were able to secure a good rate, which made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valiant10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was close the Magnificent Mile. Around the corner from the John Hancock building. The rooms were very clean, equipped with a kitchenette. The breakfast buffet was very good. They have a complimentary light dinner with wine and beer on Tuesday, Wednesdays and Thursdays. Great place for families. Having these few extras help keep the cost down which is good because the parking prices are quite high. Anywhere from $40 to $60 a night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevators were kind of slow. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

In town for a wedding. Room was large, clean, kitchen a bonus. Breakfast is filling and they are smart to advise you in their welcome info that it and the elevators get extremely crowded around 8:30, so come early or late or be prepared for no place to sit. My husband lost his glasses between the front door and our room and they were safely at the front desk. Location is perfect to the Mile, Northwestern, and everything you need. Small market in hotel has everything you need if you forgot something. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank stoopswatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile for your place to stay while attending the wedding! We appreciate you taking the time to share your candid feedback with fellow travelers. As you stated, we do highly recommend that our guests, if possible, stop by the gatehouse before 8:30 a.m. to enjoy breakfast. Our lobby tends to be get very crowded with families on the weekends from 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. for breakfast.
Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

As Marriott Rewards Platinum member I stayed here using points with my wife and 2 kids.

I emailed the GM about 10 weeks bridge our boost and asked if we could get a complimentary upgrade to a 1 bedroom and she responded in about 10 minutes with an enthusiastic yes. This was great as the extra room was wonderful with the kids!

The valets were very helpful with parking and getting my car when I needed it. When we needed a cab thy were also very quick and resourceful. One day they even ran 3 blocks over and hailed one then had it drive over to get us.

The room was large and clean with a ton of windows with a nice view from the 18th floor.

My wife and kids said the breakfast was good - your typical residence inn meal. They also said there was a placed called Glazed around the corner with delicious donuts.

The location was great.... Close to all the Michigan avenue shopping but on a nice little street away from the crowds.

We would definitely stay here again on or next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jfgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent 4 days in chicago with our family. We had 4 rooms, 2 suites, one one bedroom and one two bedroom for our kids with 4 children.This was a family reunion. THe rooms were large, clean and comfortable, beds, linens and towels etc were excellent. The breakfast was very good. The staff was extremely nice and very helpful. The property is 2 blocks from the Oak street beach which is a great beach and you can rent beach umbrellas and Chaise Lounges from a concession on the beach. There is an outstanding fair price all purpose store around the corner, good wines, liquors, soap, beer, cereal, cheese sundries etc. The rooms have refrigerators and the kitchens have everything you need. Access to the airport by El is about 4 blocks away. We had a great experience and will do it again for sure.
Parking was pricy so we parked nearby with SPOTHERO.com for about $22 per night.(good for the location)

Room Tip: all good. Probably lower floors because the elevator was a bit slow so you can walk if needed.-not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJKStLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overall a nice stay- as previous reviews indicated, the location is great- a quiet area within the large city- easily within walking distance to Michigan Ave and bus stops- also within walking distance of the John Hancock Building and Walgreens, among other placces. The rooms were comfortable, however the TV reception for some channels was weak. The staff was very friendly, although we had hoped that they could have been a bit more knowledgeable when it came to providing recommendations of things to see and do in the area. The doors are locked at night and accessible only by room key which helped us to feel even more safe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $112 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing