We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #104 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, amenities. The staff was very polite, friendly, helpful. The hotel is well-equipped and beautiful. There is no airport shuttle, which is a downfall. The location is great. Love it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    286
    82
    23
    14
See reviews for
274
157
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

this hotel was great! the location was convenient to everything. Walking distance to water tower and michigan ave. On weekdays they serve a light dinner with free wine and beer. You can't beat that after a day of shopping. The breakfast was also very generous with several hot items. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are huge with a separate bedroom. Our only complaint about the room was that there was no mirror in the bedroom. With several people it would be helpful to have a mirror.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Convenient to downtown, shopping, and restaurants. Short walk to Michigan ave and Rush street. Easy access to the lake front park and a VERY helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and it it a wonderful perk to have a kitchen for leftovers and light meal prep. It was nice to have a counter area and stools for visitors to sit. The fitness facility is great for a hotel (bring your headphones to plug into your individual tv).

The only drawback was the breakfast - chaotic isn't even the word, they are simply not able to provide the amount of food needed for the number of guests staying. We decided to go out for breakfast on our second and third mornings. I recommend: Sunny Side Up - amazing.

Even though the breakfast was disappointing, the price and location are so good we will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamFitzDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The last weekend was the most disappointing experience I have ever had in the past 10 years of my traveling for business.

When I arrived on Friday evening the front desk person by the name of Jason didn't want to honor my reservation. The reason was that he wanted a proof that I work for my company. Since it was about 9pm and weekend, I wasn't able to provide that on the spot and he even several times asked me to cancel the reservation for me. I'm not sure why he insisted me to do so or if he wanted to give my room to someone else, but I didn't do it.

I had waited for about 2 hours and I had to take out my computer equipment, log into my company systems and get some kind of verification for Jason. About two hours later, around 11 pm, I was able to provide him with the proof. Having 7 hours of travel to get to Chicago for me and my party, this additional 2 hours of wait in the lobby was very exhausting. It was also quite embarrassing for me having other guests see us helplessly waiting there in the lobby with our bags and listening to our conversation trying to get Jason give us our room, and moreover embarrassing having my companionship going through that.

I have been 5 years Marriott platinum member, 2 years Hilton diamond member and one year IHG platinum member, and for the past 10 years traveling for work I have never been asked to show this type of proof for my rate. If it's a valid thing to do, I am asking myself why nobody else does it. Huge disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your comments. We do have a policy in place to check for identification when guests are booked under a qualified business rate. IBM, in particular, requires the hotel to ask for some form of id so they can accurately state their travel to a given area and even break it down by zip code. We are more than happy to check our guests in at our regular rate and simply modify the rate back to the negoiated business rate when an id or business card is shown. I am aware that our team has spoken with you after your departure and did honor the IBM rate for your stay. Please contact me directly with any further questions. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This is really a great Marriott property. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. There is a lot to do within walking distance and there is a small store close by to by food. The hotel could improve their breakfast service however. It was ver chaotic every morning. They seemed short staffed and unable to handle the volume if people. Hence the four stars in my review.

Helpful?
Thank 2741Bodensee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here last week with the family and it was great. Good location just off Michigan. Walked everywhere from this location. Internet and breakfast included. Spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Really everything we needed in a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay high up if you do not like road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I had booked the 1 Bedroom junior suite for 3 nights. Very spacious, had a fully equipped kitchen with microwave and a fridge. It is perfect stay for family or group of four since the sofa in the living room also turns into a big bed. Very conveniently located for shopping and attractions nearby. The breakfast is good, Internet is free, staff is very helpful...Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#112 of 189 in Chicago
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing