We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ask for a higher floor or bring earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #38 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“ask for a higher floor or bring earplugs”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I should start by saying that this is a VERY nice hotel in a prime Chicago location. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and our room was spacious, bright, comfortable, and very clean.

However, the hotel is also located across the street from the emergency room of a major Chicago hospital (something I realized only after our first night) and that means that there is considerable ambulance traffic throughout the day and night. The noise reached our room on the 6th floor loud and clear. The advice upon checkout was to ask for a higher floor next time.

Room Tip: Book a higher floor (I'm guessing 10 or above might be quieter) or try for something on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile thanks your for your kind review as regards your recent stay with us. Your acknowledgment of our friendly and helpful staff are much appreciated. All of our 419 guest rooms have been completely redone. You can escape the city in our standard 350-square-foot guestroom appointed with one Hyatt Grand Bed® and oversized, remodeled bathroom. A 46” flat panel LCD HDTV keeps you entertained, while available high-speed wireless Internet access keeps our guests connected away from home. Our suites are even bigger at either 550 square feet or 735 square feet depending upon which one you choose. Come see us again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    558
    109
    47
    29
See reviews for
543
427
86
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was the second time my wife and I stayed here. The location is great for shopping, shows and restaurants. However, it is right next to the Northwestern Medical Center (Hospital). There seemed to be ambulances with sirens blaring at all hours of the day and night. Also, it is somewhat inconvenient that the lobby is on the second floor. That results in you having to take two elevators to get to your room. Given those shortcomings the rooms are very nice - comfortable and clean. If the price is right, we might stay here again but there are probably better options. Also, they charge $65/night for valet parking (steep even by Chicago standards). We paid $40 (valet's suggestion) to park one block away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerJohn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
With a fresh, contemporary design, our re-invented metro hotel offers wonderful dining, state of the art fitness center and completely renovated bedrooms so you can work and rest in comfort. Once you experience our inviting hotel, you will find yourself loving our spin on “Midwestern Hospitality.” And we wouldn't blame you one bit! Our hotel team and Concierge will pamper you with white-glove hospitality, impeccable service and an inviting atmosphere where you can lounge, connect, rejuvenate, dine and sip in downtown Chicago so come see us again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel offers a great location from which to explore Chicago. The rooms are nicely updated and very modern. The staff at the entrance on the first floor as well as the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is that wifi isn't free in the rooms. If I'm paying that much for a hotel room, I would at least expect free internet. I also attended a training session (for work) in one of the hotel's conference rooms. The internet stopped working at a certain point-holding up the entire training, and the staff member who came to fix it, wasn't apologetic at all, and instead accused us of using the special code to get wifi for our phones. It was a little strange how much they protected their prized wifi access.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christen625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
The location of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is one that travelers to Chicago look for. We are so lucky to be right in the middle of the Streeterville/River North neighborhood, just steps from Michigan Avenue and the Magnificent Mile. You can experience all that downtown Chicago has to offer while staying with us. Our newly renovated Four Diamond hotel features stylish and contemporary rooms with exceptional views of the city, luxurious amenities, and our modern on-site restaurant Level Two, featuring American cuisine throughout the day, as well as express lunch options, live entertainment, and sushi. Complimentary wifi is offered at our Escape Bar/Business Center. Thank you for your nice review and wee hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile. The hotel is a lot nicer than Hyatt's Regency branded properties and almost on par with the nearby and much more expensive Park Hyatt (where I have stayed in the past). The room was large, clean and tastefully decorated (though a tad dark). The hotel is a bit smaller than the Park Hyatt, but the lobby / lounge area is very nice. I ran into a snafu with the shower on the 17th floor, but the WONDERFUL manager (Chris Kolodziej) and restaurant manager (Anthony Joaquin) managed to sort everything out for me. I would definitely recommend others stay here when visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: I would try not to stay on the 17th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile has completely renovated its guest rooms in June 2013 and we now offer a variety of luxurious guest rooms and suites with sweeping views of the city, plush accomodations and the latest technology. We are proud to be part of the Hyatt "family" and we can now be another option for our Hyatt guests when in downtown Chicago. Your mention of Chris and Anthony is very much appreciated and they will be recognized at the next employee meeting. Thank you for the recommendation!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The rooms are very comfortable and the bed / pillows combination provide a great night's sleep if you can block out the stream of emergency vehicles that seem to park in front of the hotel in the middle of the night with sirens blaring. The breakfast menu is mundane and the service lacked enthusiasm and energy until Sunday morning, when it seemed like there had been a change of management and attitude.
When I asked the concierge for a Chicago style pizza restaurant I was sent to Gino's East where the pizza tasted like something from a supermarket freezer cabinet..very bland flavors. Surely they could have recommended something more in keeping with the type of guest the Hyatt hotel price attracts.
The hotel is conveniently located.
They have a good gym as far as hotel gyms go.
If you go to the bar to watch a sporting event you view will frequently be blocked because the barmen seem oblivious to the TV's behind them and the soda fountains are is apparently located right in front of the TV's.
All in all, I felt the staff were disengaged. It's unlikely that I will stay at the Hyatt Magnificent Mile again.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room facing the streets. You will sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeTSMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize if we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I promise you that your feedback is incredibly important to us and we will take your comments and suggestions into consideration. Glad you enjoyed the fitness center as the hotel's recent makeover included a large expansion of the exercise machines. You can now work out and then take a dip in the indoor pool which is located next to the fitness center. Summer is a great time to visit Chicago and our hotel has a fabulous location to see it all!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
194 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a nice Hyatt - smaller and more manageable than the Hyatt Regency on Wacker. The rooms were nicely furnished - subtle decor and spacious. My only complaint was they were dark as the hotel is up against neighboring buildings and not a lot of natural light coming in.

Hotel staff was very attentive and worked to honor all requests.

The breakfast buffet was a bid pedestrian, and not a lot of variety - but that could be because I stayed a week, and it got a bit old after the first day or two. However, the hotel is located near a lot of other dining options.

Room Tip: The hotel is across the street from Northwestern University Hospital so there is a lot of ambulance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
The location of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile has been extremely sought-after by travelers to Chicago. We are just one block from the Magnificent Mile and a short walk to Navy Pier, the shores of Lake Michigan and the center of Chicago's business district. The hotel is surrounded by charming neighborhood restaurants, bars and shops that are hallmarks of the area's vitality, many that are within walking distance. With our recently renovation, we like to think that we are now as stunning as we are convenient and hope you feel the same way!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile (HCMM) for a night prior to a business meeting. This incarnation of "Hyatt" (without the label of Regency, Grand, Park...) altered my perception of the sub-branding strategy of the overall Hyatt chain. This hotel is vastly superior to the Hyatt Regency on Wacker and it is also in a better location.

WHY YOU WILL LIKE THE HYATT CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE
1. Excellent location. Within walking distance of Michigan Ave. shopping, good restaurants, Lake Michigan, Northwestern Memorial Hospital and most loop/other downtown businesses.You can get to the running path along Lake Michigan by running toward the lake and a bit north. There's an underpass near the old Northwestern Lakeshore dorm (now a condominium).
2. Comfortable room. The price differential for the Executive Suite was negligible vs. other rooms so I booked this. The room was large, with a separate sitting area, apart from the bedroom. It's actually too much room for a solo traveler but if you spend a lot of time in your room or if you're traveling with others it is probably worth it.
3. Nice, large, functional lobby. You need to take an elevator from street level to lobby level. As a result, the lobby is very spacious. There is ample seating room, a large area for a bar and restaurant and a open "front desk" area that is much more welcoming than most.
4. Welcoming staff. The valet and bell staff on the ground floor were very warm and courteous. The front desk staff gladly allowed me access to my room despite my 9am arrival.

WHY YOU MIGHT NOT LIKE THE HYATT CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE
1. Potential noise. There is a fire station nearby and lots of construction. It's very likely you might be woken up at an unexpected hour or earlier than you would like.
2. Street access. St. Clair is close to Michigan Avenue but not nearly as active with car traffic. It's a small street no matter what and current construction cause the corner of Erie and St. Clair to function as a dead end. It can be difficult to get a cab.

This is a very, very good hotel and a good value compared to the options right on Michigan Avenue. If you like Hyatts and aren't considering the Park Hyatt, this is your best option downtown unless you have a convention at the Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gocats89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Your kind comments about your recent stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile were very much appreciated. You have a good knowledge of Hyatt Hotels and it is my hope that you are a Hyatt Gold Passport Member so you can turn your points into free nights! We have come to be known as a "hidden gem" in Chicago which is high praise indeed! Our great location along with our recent major renovation is winning us awards with travelers to Chicago like yourself who come for business as well as those who come for leisure. You will be happy to know that the construction that was going on at the corner of Erie and St. Clair has been completed and the street has been reopened to traffic. Thanks again for the great review!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,306 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3234 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, you'll experience the electric energy of the Windy City with a coveted address right by Michigan Avenue. Explore all the city has to offer-from noted attractions like Navy Pier to high-end shopping along the Magnificent Mile-then relax in one of our welcoming guestrooms. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, 20,000 square ft of meeting and banquet space, trendy restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing