We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #42 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great option”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I typically stay at Marriotts, but this was a welcome change. The room was updated and modern, and I really like the lighting in the rooms. There is a large vanity, and an unusually large closet. The TV was much larger than a typical hotel, and a better selection of channels. The bed was very comfortable. The only two negatives were that they don't use fitted sheets, and the flat sheets they use are too small, so they just hang on the sides of the mattress as they aren't long enough to tuck in. That means that any time you move in the bed the sheets get all bunched up. I travel every week, and would give anything to have hotels go back to fitted sheets!! The only other thing that needs to be improved is there needs to be an outlet right by the nightstand. I use my smartphone as my alarm, as many folks do, and the outlet is on the side, but far enough away that with a typical charger is only long enought to just barely hit the far edge of the night stand. I ate in the bar at the hotel, and wasn't impressed with the food or the service. But for a hotel right by Northwestern Memorial Hospital and Michigan Avenue, this is a nice quiet, luxurious choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are very proud of our association with Northwestern Hospital and University. The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile has special rates for those guests going to/from the hospital and university as well as the Lurie Children's Hospital and the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago. All are within walking distance. Thank you for choosing to stay with us this time! We do have outlets built right into the nightstand for those guests like yourself who want to charge their phones and/or use the phone as an alarm. Perhaps you missed this special feature as the wood on the nightstand is dark and can sometimes be overlooked. We hope you will think of us as your new "home away from home" since it sounds like you travel a lot. Come see us again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    572
    110
    48
    32
See reviews for
556
435
87
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a 4 day conference in Chicago where I stayed at the Hyatt Magnificent Mile. It was excellent all around. Arrived early at 10 am and able to checkin with no wait. Room was clean and well-appointed with big windows and luxurious furniture. Toiletries were high end. Forgot to pack a toothbrush and able to get a free one delivered to the room promptly. Plenty of open machines in the gym. Service at the front desk and bar was friendly and quick. Loved that there was a Starbucks on site. Cabs were easy to get. Location was optimal. Barely heard the ambulances pulling into Northwestern. Will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Chicago!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank boosooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are happy that while you were attending your conference in Chicago that you picked the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to stay at. Our guests love that they can keep up with their workouts and get energized at our Hyatt state-of-the-art exercise room. Our fitness center has large windows with views of the Chicago cityscape along with individualized televisions. The complimentary Stay Fit gym features the latest fitness equipment including: treadmills, eliptical trainers, stationary bikes, LifeFitness weight equipment, stretching mats and exercise balls. Next time you get to our great city of Chicago, we are thrilled that you will stay with us again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you haven't stayed at this property recently, come back. Hyatt has turned a regular hotel into a tranquil oasis in the hubbub of the Magnificent Mile in Chicago. Great rooms especially the corner rooms and wonderful service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 465luanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Your 5-star review on TripAdvisor of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was a joy to read! We are glad you were able to experience one of our corner king rooms which have quickly become a guest favorite. You can escape the city in this 550-square-foot completely renovated guestroom appointed with one king bed, pull-out sofa and oversized remodeled bathroom. A well-lit desk allows you to work in comfort, while available high-speed wireless Internet access keeps you connected when away from home. A 55” flat panel LCD HDTV keeps you entertained in our great corner king room!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have stayed at both the Trump and the Peninsula, and while they are both very nice hotels, they can't compare to the Hyatt. First of all, the Hyatt has the absolute best location right in the middle of the magnificent mile. It is also quite a bit cheaper per night without sacrificing the quality. It was just as nicely decorated, modern and clean as the others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popartpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are so lucky at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to have not only a newly renovated property from top to bottom, but also a fabulous location in downtown Chicago! We offer many different types of packages so guests like yourself can get the best bang for your buck. Have you looked into our Bed & Breakfast package or our Romance package for your next visit? Both include breakfast and a late check out. We are like a "hidden gem" in the city, but the word is getting out and we are getting raves from guests who come here for the first time and love us! Thank you for your wonderful review!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Pleasantly surprised at the level of service and modern decor of the hotel. It competes with anything located on Mag Mile and the proximity to everything you want to do on Mag Mile can't be beat. Quality of food was very good and service was prompt. Walking distance to restaurants and prompt service to get a cab etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We thank you for your 5-star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile on TripAdvisor. Our hotel has quickly become a Chicago hotspot since our renovation was completed last year. Travelers feel that we are a great place for a weekend getaway, business trip, or that special event. The entire hotel has been redone and our guests are very pleased with the results. Many others besides yourself have been pleasantly surprised! Come back again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Good location -1 block from the magnificent mile. Close to Lakeshore Dr. Good guestrooms. The staff in the lobby are well trained and this gave me a great first impression. There is a Starbucks on the ground floor of the Hyatt. Good size fitness ctr. Amanda at the front desk was exceptional.
Good place for a meeting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Your kind comments about our staff especially Amanda were very well received when we read your review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile in regards to your recent stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority and we were overjoyed to learn that we have met your expectations! We are thrilled that your first impression of our hotel was a great one and expect to see you here again and again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

From the friendly valet/doorman to the Housekeeping team to Room Service, this Hotel hit the mark with GREAT people. Clean, updated and right in the middle of the action downtown, one of the best in the City! The best room service I have had in years in a Hotel (which is going away in many), this business trip was made much easier by the Staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Hyatt M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is so very appreciative of your feedback on our hotel that you took the time to write a review on TripAdvisor! While we believe we have a fabulous property, we know that it is our staff combined with good, old-fashioned hospitality that will keep our guests coming back again and again. We like to think that we have the best associates in Chicago and we can't thank you enough for your acknowledgment of our wonderful staff!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#30 of 189 in Chicago
3,323 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,924 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
235 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3234 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, you'll experience the electric energy of the Windy City with a coveted address right by Michigan Avenue. Explore all the city has to offer-from noted attractions like Navy Pier to high-end shopping along the Magnificent Mile-then relax in one of our welcoming guestrooms. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, 20,000 square ft of meeting and banquet space, trendy restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing