We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #41 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I don't normally feel the need to stay in upscale hotels. However, since this was Valentine's day weekend I made an exception. The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is a 4/5 star hotel that is very modern in décor and amenities. The style is contemporary modern and is very stylish and chic. We stayed in a standard King room. It was spacious with a very comfortable bed, large 46" flat screen TV, and nice sized bathroom. The various lighting features are really neat. The sliding "barn" door to the bathroom is cool and makes sense. I had read reviews regarding the Hospital across the street and sirens throughout the night. Our room faced the Hospital and was on the 12th floor. Yes there were sirens periodically. We are both sound sleepers and it did not bother us. The Hotel will generally try to place you away from the Hospital if you request it. The bar and restaurant are quite nice. The meals and drinks are a bit on the high side, but typical for downtown Chicago. Drinks are typically $10-14, the breakfast was $14 for continental and $22 for the buffet. We found the Corner Bakery right across the street. If offers an awesome alternative for breakfast for $7-10 each. There is also a TGI Fridays a block away for meals and drinks. The hotel does offer a Starbucks right inside the hotel which is a big hit! The hotel is a block east of Michigan Ave. Which is nice for those who wish to do some shopping. It would be nice if the WiFi was free, but again this seems typical now. You will be charged for the bottled water in the room, so be wary of that! We like to take the train into Chicago, so about a $15-18 cab ride (with tip) from Union Station. There are a few bus stops within a couple blocks. The closest L is about a 15-20 minute walk, so maybe a bit far in cold weather. The staff are very friendly and extremely accommodating! For the purpose of our trip and what we were expecting, this an excellent hotel and reasonably priced! I would and will definitely stay here again on my next trip to downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Wow is all I can say! Your 5 star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile on TripAdvisor was a delight to read! After our recent $25 million dollar renovation, we like to think that we are now as stunning as we are convenient. The hotel was designed with the most up-to-date technology possible along with making our guestrooms both elegant and comfortable. Our Level Two Restaurant and Lounge is quickly becoming a favorite with our guests and we also offer in room dining. Starbucks on the first floor has been a great addition to the hotel. When you are ready to come back again, please make sure to contact our concierge staff for tips on what to see and do in the city. We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    541
    103
    45
    28
See reviews for
526
411
81
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wixom,MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Baby and I loved our stay here. The price was great, but it should be for "off" season. I would give them 5 stars, but for a couple things. One is my shoulder is killing me, also my neck from the VERY firm bed. The second thing is the lack of quality TV. No Showtime or HBO or a decent amount of channels. I mean seriously, they can provide in room Wi-Fi for $14.95 a day, but they don't offer premium TV at any amount. The staff is great. Room service was prompt and the food very good. The room was very clean, updated recently, and the bathroom very woman friendly with lighted mirrors. We would come back.

Room Tip: Corner King room rules. Ours looked out over Michigan Ave. I suspect the ones on the East side have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peasncarrots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Our corner king suite is 550-square-foot and was completely renovated in June 2013. The guestroom is appointed with one king bed, pull-out sofa and oversized remodeled bathroom. A well-lit desk allows guests to work in comfort, while available high-speed wireless Internet access keeps visitors connected away from home. We thank you for your acknowledgment of our great staff. Customer service is and always has been our #1 priority. Please come back soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really, really enjoyed this hotel. It was so great to have the extra space in the king suite to be able to stretch out and enjoy the Olympics on the huge t.v. The fitness center is the best I've ever seen in a hotel. Location was fantastic...easy to walk to just about every main attraction in the city. The staff was very friendly and quickly brought up anything we mentioned. Overall, a really good stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarrah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. Our guests can escape the city in our 735-square-foot completely renovated suite appointed with one king bed, pull-out sofa, living area and oversized remodeled bathroom with large vanity. A well-lit desk allows guests to work in comfort, while available high-speed wireless Internet access keeps visitors connected away from home. Two 46” Flat Panel LCD HDTVs allow multiple guests to enjoy different shows. The living room and bedroom is separated by French doors. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Warmest regards,
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband, son and I were in town for 3 nights for the Car Show. I chose this hotel because of it's close proximity to the Magnificent Mile and the reviews I read online. This hotel was perfect for our stay! The rooms are great (love the motion sensor lights in the night stands) and very well decorated. We had breakfast at the hotel and room service, both which were very enjoyable. The staff was outstanding and friendly. Maid service was excellent. We will definitely return to this hotel on our future trips to Chicago. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAW1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We appreciate your kind words so very much and we are so glad you had a wonderful stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile while in town for the Auto Show! Everyone loves our new motion sensor lights in the guest rooms so that when your feet hit the floor, a small light comes on which is very helpful during the middle of the night when everything is so dark. Because of our recent major renovation, we were able to take advantage of the latest technology when re-doing our guest rooms, meeting rooms and all public space. There are charging stations on each nightstand so our guests can plug in their phones and electronic devices with ease and another charging station is in each desk in every room. Your recommendation to friends and family is what we strive for. Come back soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is excellent in all ways. Hyatt has clearly moved ahead of Hilton in my opinion. The bathrooms are safer than any hotel I have used. The bed was very comfortable. The friendliness of all staff was notable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Your 5 star review of your business trip stay was a joy to read. We are proud to be part of the Hyatt family and now our travelers to Chicago have another option in the downtown area. I hope that you have become a Hyatt Gold Passport Member so that you can earn points towards free nights and enjoy exclusive benefits with every stay. There is no cost to join which is a plus for our loyal Hyatt guests. We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel has been recently refurbished and has managed to create a boutique atmosphere in a large hotel. The staff are helpful and the hotel rooms are very comfortable apart from the fact there is no heating in the bathroom The location is excellent and I will return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is just one block from the Magnificent Mile and Michigan Avenue and a short walk to Navy Pier, the shores of Lake Michigan and the center of Chicago's business district. It is surrounded by charming neighborhood restaurants, bars and shops that are the hallmarks of the area's vitality. Water Tower Place is within walking distance which shoppers flock to. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in perfect location.

Hotel had spacious rooms, great temperature control, clean and quiet from neighboring rooms where other hotels can't compete.

Stayed for business for a few days and enjoyed my stay. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
I would recommend.

Love Starbucks on first floor.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MorningGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I am very pleased to read that your business stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was an enjoyable experience and that you found comfort in your room. Thank you for your acknowledgment of our staff as it is greatly appreciated. All of our guests whether they are coffee drinkers or not are thrilled with our new Starbucks that opened recently on the first floor. Please pass the word about us to all of your friends and family!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3234 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, you'll experience the electric energy of the Windy City with a coveted address right by Michigan Avenue. Explore all the city has to offer-from noted attractions like Navy Pier to high-end shopping along the Magnificent Mile-then relax in one of our welcoming guestrooms. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, 20,000 square ft of meeting and banquet space, trendy restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing