We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #44 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We are from the suburbs of Chicago, but had to stay in the city for a few days for business reason. There were many choices of hotels in a convenient location and at similar rates. We chose the Hyatt Magnificent Mile. We were amazed at how modern, clean and comfortable the hotel was and at the courtesy level of the employees. We are definitely going to stay at the Hyatt Magnificent Mile next time we have to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Lidia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations while at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile! We have recently completed a $25 million dollar renovation and we are happy you were able to stay with us to see how everything turned out for yourself. All 419 guest rooms as well as meeting and banquet space, the lobby, indoor pool and fitness center all received a dramatic refurbishment. We are also proud of our new Level Two Restaurant and Lounge featuring contemporary American cuisine. Now that you have stayed with us in the winter, make sure to come back again in the summer!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,879 - 1,885 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Unique decor; professional staff; some excellent food and a spacious, clean and well equipped fitness center. A few quirks to work out, but the Hyatt Magnificent Mile seems receptive to suggestions. There are some surprising features, such as the computer center that also features books to borrow during the stay. Decor is pleasing with neutral colors, avoiding the typical garish pastel swirls.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile appreciates your wonderful feedback. It was our hope that our hotel would offer our guests contemporary, welcoming public spaces which would be perfect for guests to gather and relax when our renovation was finished and from your review, it sounds like we were successful with this. The check-in area greets guests warmly while a new restaurant & lounge was completely redone with new furniture, art work and flooring. We are so glad that you took notice of our unique décor, much of which has a Chicago theme to it. Everything is brand new and we feel we have the most up-to-date technology. Please come again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel was excellent in every way. The location is very nice one block off Michigan Avenue and a few blocks south of Water Tower. It would work great for pleasure or business. The corner King we had was great. Big room with lots of windows. Big bathroom with double bowl sink. Clean! The pool is nice and the hot tub was good. It has a great workout facility (which I could see from sitting in the hot tub with my kids). Everything was great at this hotel – all the staff were nice, helpful, professional. I give high marks to the people and training they received. Door staff, front desk, bell man, restaurant staff were all consistently great. Impressive! I had the buffet breakfast and it worked out great with basic eggs, beacon, etc. and it had deli items if you are into that. I had a AAA coupon so it was free. Minor comment is that parking is expensive with Valet ($60/night) and it takes about 20 mins for them to bring the car, so use the text service early. There is a Starbucks on the first floor for you coffee people.

Room Tip: Corner King is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoFamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile truly appreciates your feedback on TripAdvisor. to say that the hotel is "excellent in every way" is fabulous to hear. Guests as well as meeting planners have been very vocal in their praise for the great job we did of re-inventing the hotel. We have become a dynamic destination to host conferences, meetings and events in downtown Chicago. Your Chicago meeting will definitely make a statement. So glad you had a chance to chill out in the indoor pool and hot tub with the kids. Families and business travelers alike find what they want in a hotel when they stay with us. Hope to see back again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Love the location. I'm a fan of Hyatt, loyal member, and they always do things right for business travelers. The lobby and rooms have been completely remodeled and you're next to the Gold Coast...I recommend eating at Twin Acres for ribs...short cab ride away.

Room Tip: 17th floor corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was thrilled to see your review on TripAdvisor. As a fan of Hyatt, I am sure you must be a Gold Passport Member. Our members, whether they are here for business or leisure have been very happy with the way the hotel was renovated. We can offer a variety of luxurious guest rooms and suites with plush accommodations and the latest technology. With Gold Level Membership, you can enjoy exclusive benefits and earn points towards free nights starting with your very first stay! The next time you are here, make sure to check out our new Level Two Restaurant and Lounge!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We locked in a rate of $120 per night before tax via Priceline for a recent trip up to Chicago, which was an absolute steal; I have certainly (and unfortunately!) paid more for far less superior hotels. Part of the deciding factor that convinced us to book this property was the fact that the hotel underwent renovations in June of 2013, and the clerk who assisted us at check-in said they spent $25 million doing so - believe me when I tell you, IT SHOWS. The vibe throughout is hip, modern, very cool and still fantastically inviting. Some of my fave features of our room:

*Automatic low lights that sense when you're approaching the night stands on either side of the bed or the desk and turn on - No stumbling to the bathroom in the middle of the night here!

*Convenient and accessible electrical outlets on the side of the night stands closest to bed

*The TV - Not that we spent a lot of time in the room, but it's worth noting a standard King room came with a 47" flat-screen HD TV. It also displayed "Welcome (insert your name here)" when you turn it on, and you can order room service and settle your hotel bill through it too, which I thought was pretty freakin' neat.

*Awesome lighting in the bathroom - ladies, you may see more of your facial imperfections than you want too, but your makeup will look flawless.

The only complaint we had was the price for valet parking, which was over $60 a night (there is no self-park option), but considering its location in the heart of downtown this is par for the course. And you can't beat having your car pulled around and waiting for you when you're ready to embark into the city, assuming your destination is not already within walking distance.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SchatziInDisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We are so glad that you had an amazing experience while in Chicago at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile. Your very special comments have been reviewed by our management team and we can't thank you enough for your kind words. We frequently run special rate promotions and we are happy that you were able to take advantage of this. When designing the renovations, we knew that today's traveler wants a hotel that is up-to-date in every way so that was our goal. We planned for stylish, welcoming surroundings, generous social spaces and up-to-the-minute technology for keeping in touch with home and business. According to you, we must have achieved our goal! Come back again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed in a suite when it was a Wyndam. So glad Hyatt took it over and renovated. Not only is it tastefully done, it is exceptionally comfortable, especially the bed and couch.

I've stayed at almost all of the hotels in Chicago. This is probably the best 4 to 4.5 star hotel in the city.

The breakfast buffet was excellent for a 4 to 4.5 star hotel .

Location could not be beat. Ambulance noise not very bothersome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Your 5 star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent on Trip Advisor was so nice to read! We are very proud to be a part of the Hyatt family in the downtown Chicago market. Our total makeover included brand new guest rooms and suites. Guests sleep soundly, dream sweetly and wake refreshed on the Hyatt Grand Bed which was developed exclusively for Hyatt Hotels & Resorts and feature pillow-top mattresses. Our breakfast buffet is getting rave reviews and we have recently added a brunch on both Saturday and Sunday mornings. We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The location was great, an easy walk to most places. The hotel has been updated and is beautiful. The bed and pillows was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and I have a super nice bed at home. The staff was fantastic. I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tracie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Your feedback on your recent stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was very well received by our staff. To say that it was the bed and pillows were the best you had ever slept in is high praise indeed! The pillows were specially crafted for our guests and delivers a perfect blend of comfort and support allowing the most restful night sleep. An inner pillow of small feathers provides resilient support, while the fluffy outer pillow of down cradles you in luxurious comfort.
Good old-fashioned hospitality and comfort is what brings our visitors back again and again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#36 of 192 in Chicago
3,639 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,234 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3234 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $97 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, you'll experience the electric energy of the Windy City with a coveted address right by Michigan Avenue. Explore all the city has to offer-from noted attractions like Navy Pier to high-end shopping along the Magnificent Mile-then relax in one of our welcoming guestrooms. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, 20,000 square ft of meeting and banquet space, trendy restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing