We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #44 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a small but nice hotel. The room was also small, but adequate. We received a discounted rate which made the hotel a real value. We found the restaurant limited. You get a functional room but not much more. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We are happy that you were able to escape the city in our 350-square-foot guestroom newly renovation room with one Hyatt Grand Bed™ and oversized, remodeled bathroom. A 46” Flat Panel LCD HDTV keeps you entertained, while available high-speed wireless Internet access keeps visitors connected away from home. The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile has 419 rooms which makes us look small next to some of the larger Hyatt hotels in downtown Chicago, but we feel we have a more "homey" feel. Complimentary Starbucks coffee and in-room refrigerators are some added features that add to the "home away from home" atmosphere whether it is for a short visit or a longer stay. Glad you will be back!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Updated hotel Professional management Welcoming personnel Clean quiet rooms (even next to hospital) Gym and pool is OK (small but-complete set of equipments) Great location Upgraded to higher level upon request without any questions

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank ahtun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Chicago at the holiday season is one that everyone should experience and we are glad that you chose the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to visit during this special time. Our recently remodeled fitness center and indoor pool include Life Fitness cardio equipment, Hyatt StayFit free weights and yoga equipment along with Wi-Fi access, individualized TV screens and iPhone/iPod docking stations. Hope your holiday was the best yet and come back again soon at any time of year!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A former Wyndham property, Hyatt's new Chicago Magnificent Mile digs are a delight just a block off the Michigan Av shopping (if you're on the Mag Mile, look for Ferragamo and turn). The lobby (on the 2nd floor from the main entrance, then take another rooms-only elevator just off the restaurant) offers a huge expansive setup of computers, lounges, meeting rooms, restaurant and was a delight to be welcomed so graciously upon arrival! The rooms received similar world-class renovations, and my Executive Suite was a dream! Massive living area featuring a huge desk, fridge, coffeemaker (w/Starbucks...there's also a full Starbucks on the ground floor), L-shape couch w/pull-out sofa) and 50" TV led to an oversized bathroom w/sliding wood door, marbled vanity, separate toilet, and the HUGE bedroom w/2 doors, 37" TV, plenty of storage, and automatic night-lights at the bottom of the side tables so you'll never lose your way waking up at night. Though the world's best beds ensure you'll sleep soundly! Room service was fast and delicious (both dinner and breakfast), all staff welcoming and helpful, and with plenty of bakeries, coffee shops, world-class shopping and clubs within walking distance, it was a calming stay that balanced the crazy, hectic hustle of Christmas-time Chicago outside.

Room Tip: Suites are huge and worth the little extra in rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJSHOWBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Inspired by our downtown Chicago destination, the re-invented Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile offers engaging, flexible spaces for relaxing, working, socializing, and dining. With a fresh, contemporary design, our re-designed metro hotel offers wonderful dining, state of the art fitness center and completely renovated bedrooms so you can work and rest in comfort. The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is passionate about making our guest's Chicago hotel experience enjoyable in every way and it sounds like we succeeded! So glad that our hotel team and concierge staff pampered you with white-glove hospitality, impeccable service and an inviting atmosphere. We look forward to hosting you again and again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is one of many Hyatt properties in Chicago area. This particular property is located 1 block from Michigan Ave (Magnificent Mile). Booked my room through my amex account and got great rates and they allowed for early check-in. The room was newly renovated and I was able to check-in early and my request for top floor was granted. The room came with Starbucks brand coffee packs. The room was very warm and clean. My only complaint is the Wi-Fi is not free but is $9.95 per day optional fee.

Room Tip: Request any floor you like, the staff said they usually can grant such things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leathdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Your 5 star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile on TripAdvisor is one that we cherish. Excellence is what we strive to achieve. We are glad that you received a good rate and had a very satisfying stay. We often run special promotions for our visitors which are very much appreciated. We not only have complimentary Starbucks coffee in our guestrooms, but we also have a Starbucks store in our lobby which our guests just love. Our Escape Bar at the second floor lobby offers 30 minutes of complimentary internet access every 24 hours. Come back and see again soon for another excellent stay!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

So excited to stay at the newly remodeled hotel & it's good location...soon turned into a mess at check in. The machines to charge the keys was not working...so after about 15 minutes..we finally got our keys. Not that big of a deal, right? We go to our room(with a hungry 2 year old)planning to drop of our luggage & head straight to our reservation to eat! Wrong! Our keys didn't work. So after about 15 minutes & total lack of communication they brought keys to our room! Rooms are clean& new..nothing special! Our suite was similar to a Hyatt place without a kitchen! Day 1! Morning 2..my grandson comes to me screaming with blood coming out of his foot & a sewing needle stuck in it...no big deal...bandaid applied. Come back to room to notice floor cleaned...rug not vacuumed! Turn around to see grandson with a dirty rag in his mouth the maid left on the table. Order room service...order comes totally wrong for 1 person..we finish eating...they get their food. Call for car 20 minutes ahead of the time we need it...they "misplace" our car ($59 valet) & find it 45 minutes later! This hotel has too many hiccups for me!!!

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Raymond Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I was truly distressed to read of the issues that occurred during your stay. We would like to let you know that this occurrence, by no means, reflects the experience that we strive to provide to our guests on a daily basis. Please accept our sincere apology. This is not a good representation of our usual high quality accommodations and genuinely hospitable service. When you plan to come back to downtown Chicago, please contact me directly at execoffice.magmile@hyatt.com and I will personally make your reservation to ensure a comfortable stay.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I am staying in an Executive King Suite through New Years and it is very well appointed and spacious. The location of the hotel couldn't be more convenient and the staff is very helpful. My husband who is a total TV snob was quite impressed with the 50" TV that is in the living area of the room. The price was very reasonable. Would definitely stay here on future trips to Chicago!

Room Tip: Executive Suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA_Travelers_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We are glad you are staying with us in an Executive King Suite at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile and will be celebrate the New Year with us! This 735-square-foot completely renovated suite appointed with one king bed in the bedroom and a pull-out sofa in the living area, both rooms separated by French doors includes an oversized remodeled bathroom with large vanity. A well-lit desk allows guests to work in comfort, while available high-speed wireless Internet access keeps visitors connected away from home. Two 46” Flat Panel LCD HDTVs allow multiple guests to enjoy different shows. Make us your "home away from home" when traveling to Chicago!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our stay at the Hyatt was all that we hoped it would be. It was close to the shopping we wanted to do and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were quiet and everything was very clean. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank mlalj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile loves your description of us: comfortable and great location. When looking for a hotel to stay at in Chicago, this is exactly what guests want! Thank you for your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff. We are thrilled that you will come back and stay with us again and it is our hope that you spread the word to all of your friends and family that the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is the place to be when in downtown Chicago!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#36 of 192 in Chicago
3,639 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,234 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3234 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $97 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, you'll experience the electric energy of the Windy City with a coveted address right by Michigan Avenue. Explore all the city has to offer-from noted attractions like Navy Pier to high-end shopping along the Magnificent Mile-then relax in one of our welcoming guestrooms. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, 20,000 square ft of meeting and banquet space, trendy restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing