We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt a friendly jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #42 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hyatt a friendly jewel”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I spent four days touring Chicago, and we chose the Hyatt Magnificent Mile for it's location and a decent price. The hotel is really great and the staff, every single one we dealt with were fantastic to deal with. Helpful, and friendly. We highly recommend the Hyatt. Class / Comfort / Friendly / Great location!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank DChidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
A decent price for a hotel room in downtown Chicago is what all guests strive for and it sounds like you found it here at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile! Your 5 star review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay proves that what you said is true: the staff is fantastic to deal with. Your kind words will be relayed to our entire team at our next employee appreciation luncheon. We know the value of customer service and have spent countless hours with our staff to improve our hospitality service. A great stay is priceless! Thank you for staying with us!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    572
    110
    48
    32
See reviews for
556
436
87
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel has a very modern feel. Lobby and bar area are very inviting. Hotel workers were among the most friendly we've ever experienced, always willing to assist or help. Security was obvious throughout the property. Check-in/out a breeze. Location is unbeatable, close to many places to eat and drink. Rooms, although a bit small are very modern and up to date. Bathroom was good size, bed was very comfortable. Price, given the area, was good.

A few minor negatives - room was very warm, and thermostat didn't allow us to turn on the fan or cool the room, making it uncomfortable. Noise was a minor annoyance because of the nearby hospital, and the typical ignorant hotels guests that have to yell in hallways at 2:00 AM, but not the hotel's fault. Finally, valet parking is ridiculously overpriced. There's a parking garage across the street, which is a much better option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9999Tr_Av_El_Er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile truly appreciates your kind words. After our $25 million transformation, the feedback we have received from our guests as well as meeting planners has been overwhelmingly positive. While everyone loves the renovations, we are most proud of the many fabulous comments we have received about the hotel staff. Our team of associates are the core of our success, and this magnificently transformed hotel gives them an opportunity to shine as you have seen for yourself. I will bring your concerns to the attention of management as we are constantly striving to improve. Many who come to Chicago and are unfamiliar with the city feel comfortable knowing we have valet parking with complimentary in and out privileges. We hope to host you again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel location is perfect for a weekend of shopping .Corner King room was spacious, well appointed. Staff was very pleasant, and helpful. Newly remodeled reception area, Bar, Restaurant are excellent. New Starbucks Coffee shop on the main entrance level is perfect to grab a cup on the way out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
A 5 star review on the Magnificent Mile says it all! The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile thanks you for your thoughtful review. Our corner king rooms are very popular with our guests whether they are here for business or leisure. Escape the city in this 550-square-foot completely renovated guestroom appointed with one king bed, pull-out sofa and oversized remodeled bathroom. A well-lit desk allows our guests to work in comfort, while available high-speed wireless Internet access keeps visitors connected away from home. A 46” Flat Panel LCD HDTV is in each corner king room. Come back and see us again soon at our Level Two Restaurant and Lounge in our hotel. We would love to have you back with us!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

beautiful hotel! service is great! beds are fabulous! the workout facility is well maintained with great equipment. it is in a great location only 2 short blocks to michigan avenue. we will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile would like to give you a big thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very proud of our hotel and we are glad you had a great stay!Recognizing today's focus on fitness, the hotel's recent makeover included a 60% expansion of its StayFit fitness center and an upgrade to the most recent Life Fitness cardio equipment. Hyatt StayFit free weights and yoga equipment are available for guest use, and the hotel's indoor pool has been updated to include a hot tub. When coming to Chicago, please make us your "home away from home!"

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of a recent promotion for the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile, and I'm glad that we did. It exceeded our expectations immensely. Hyatt has done a great job with the remodeling/redecorating/refurnishing of the old Wyndham property a half block east of the Mag Mile (Michigan Ave.) on the near north side. Our room was spacious, beautifully done and relatively quiet -- even with Northwestern Hospital across the street. As a Hyatt Gold Passport member, we took advantage of both the complementary room upgrade and late checkout benefits. We availed ourselves of the wonderful shopping and dining experiences on Michigan Ave., which were an easy walk from the hotel. The fitness center, swimming pool and hot tub were a plus, as you don't always find such nice facilities in downtown Chicago hotels. We expect to stay here again during future visits to the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Inddunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Your feedback from your stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was very nice to read. As a property that is relatively new to the Hyatt "family", we are glad that our Gold Passport Members have another fabulous option in downtown Chicago. Members are thrilled that you can enjoy exclusive benefits and earn points towards free nights starting with your very first stay and there is no cost to join. Gold Passport Members can achieve different levels of membership depending on the amount of stays at any Hyatt property. The program started in 1987 and remains an essential and effective way to build guest loyalty. Thank you for being part of our family!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel has it all! A fantasic location that is close to many great restaurants, shopping, night life and spots of interest. Great bar area, Starbucks on the main floor, comfortable beds and well appointed rooms. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. We had a wonderful experience here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is very appreciative of your 5 star review on TripAdvisor. Your kind words about our comfortable beds and well appointed guest rooms make us feel that our recent renovation was well worth the time and effort. The hotel's location was always fabulous and our transformation makes it now as stunning as it is convenient. Of course, great customer satisfaction is uppermost in our minds and we are proud of the many positive comments we have received about our hotel staff. We look forward to hosting you again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Everything was absolutely perfect except it was difficult to log into the wifi internet service. Location was right off the Miracle Mile. Close to everything I wanted. Clean and efficient. Had movement activated night lights at the floor level. Never had that in a hotel before. Nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are sorry that you experienced some difficulties logging into the internet service. Recently, we switched providers and we are now up and fully running with even faster service. The special movement activated night lights in our brand new guest rooms have been very well received. It is nice to know that if you need to get up in the middle of the night that you can find your way around the room without turning on the overhead lights. Another great feature of our rooms is the bathroom door which closes automatically and everyone loves the 46" TVs. We have been lucky in that our recent renovation has given us state of the art technology throughout the hotel.
Please come back and see us again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 189 in Chicago
3,333 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,940 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
241 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3234 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, you'll experience the electric energy of the Windy City with a coveted address right by Michigan Avenue. Explore all the city has to offer-from noted attractions like Navy Pier to high-end shopping along the Magnificent Mile-then relax in one of our welcoming guestrooms. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, 20,000 square ft of meeting and banquet space, trendy restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing