We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Downtown Chicago Hotel with Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #43 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a good Hyatt to stay in if you want to be in downtown Chicago. The rooms are quite nice with giant TVs and the beds are comfortable. The pillows leave a little to be desired. The room service food was excellent (unusual for most hotels.) One morning I asked for an omelet to be made that was not on the menu. It was delicious. The restaurant was lovely.
The hotel staff are particularly helpful and polite, including the concierge staff. All of them were very friendly, making a tired business traveler feel welcomed.
Because it's so close to the hospital, you'll hear ambulance sirens at all hours, including in the middle of the night. If you're a light sleeper, try asking for a room on very high floor and in a location where you won't hear the sirens, if that's possible.
This is a nice hotel, great for the price, that is centrally located and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and more.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are sunnier. Since very close to the hospital, you'll hear ambulance sirens so try...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinG32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Our staff is something that we at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile are truly proud of. While good customer service skills can be taught, it takes a certain individual to work in the hospitality industry and we like to think that we have hired only the best. Our staff members are dedicated to making our guests feel special and help in any way they can so that our visitors feel that they are staying at their "home away from home" while in Chicago. They try to honor all requests if possible. Come back and order room service again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,179)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,942 - 1,948 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I try to stay at Hyatt hotels when I travel - last time I was in Chicago I stayed at the Hyatt on Wacker Drive - it was a great property. This time it was full so I chose the Hyatt Chicago Magnifient Mile - What a find!!!! I like to the location better, the property was great - very clean and updatted - and all of the staff I dealt with were pleasant and professional. Good workout room. I plan to stay there again when I go to Chicago!!!!!

Room Tip: The corner suite was perfect! Back in the corner - very quiet!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

This is what we like to hear! The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is a "hidden gem" in Chicago, but the word is getting out! We are steps away from Michigan Avenue and just a few short blocks from the Water Tower Mall. The hotel is located in a charming neighborhood filled with fabulous restaurants and shopping as well as attractions such as Navy Pier just to name a few. Our staff prides themselves in giving top notch customer service to all of our guests which you found out for yourself. Come see us again soon! The fun can continue!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a wonderful hotel situated in a perfect location in Chicago. My husband and I stayed here and loved everything about this hotel from the friendly, helpful staff to the beautifully appointed room to the convenience of being able to walk to Navy Pier, restaurants and shopping. This will definitely be our hotel of choice whenever we travel to Chicago. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IWolf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Your 5 star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile made my day! It is so exciting for us to hear that our guests had such a wonderful experience when staying with us. Our location is perfect is so many ways and combine this with our newly renovated property makes us a sought after hotel for visitors to Chicago. We are glad you will recommend us to your friends and family and look forward to your next stay.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited Chicago for a long weekend; wanted to stay in a location convenient to shopping, Wrigley field, and good restaurants--the Hyatt on StClair was a perfect fit. The hotel has been renovated over the last year--exquisite is the word that describes the look from the front door, through the hotel, and into the room. Cleanliness of the entire hotel and the comfort of the bed and pillows place this hotel as the place to stay when returning to Chicago.
The staff from the front desk to the cleaning staff have been well trained; each person was knowledgeable, friendly, and customer attentive with a focus on courtesy.
Most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Stayed in a room on the fifth floor that must have been near Starbucks because we were able to acces...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We couldn't have said it better! Hotel Excellence has a certain ring to it and we thank you for sharing your gracious comments about your stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile on TripAdvisor. Now that our renovation is complete, we feel we are on our way to becoming "famous" as one of the premier Hyatt hotels in Chicago. We are happy that you plan to stay with us again when you return to Chicago. Our staff will be thrilled to hear that you loved the customer service!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great location. Friend of mine gave me a voucher to spend the night there. Room was huge, comfortable bed which is so very important to me. I have back problems and the bed is one of the best I've slept in when traveling. Staff was super helpful and attentive. The food (dinner was good). You will have to pay for wireless. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarathonDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

"Outstanding Hotel" says it all! Our signature Hyatt Grand Bed has quickly become a favorite with our guests all of whom marvel at what a good night's sleep they had while staying with us! I will definitely pass on your kind words about our staff at our next employee luncheon which will bring a smile to everyone's faces. We are glad you had a chance to have dinner at Level Two where you can relax, have a good meal and a cocktail at the end of the day. Please come back and see us again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is perfect selection for doing business in Chicago. It is easy reachable by taxi or metro. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable.
Bed was one of the best you can have so it is worth checking in just because of that (as I have some back problems, this is one of key decission elements for me).

Stuff was very friendly and gave me late check out free of charge.

If you want to explore Chicago by walking, this hotel is also perfect spot. Also some good restaurants can be reached on foot.

Next time I am back to Chicago, I will definitely select this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Combining business and fun is a goal of many and it looks like you accomplished both while staying at our newly renovated Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our location just steps from Michigan Avenue is very sought after by travelers to the city who want to experience the city, but want to stay just a little bit away from the busy side of downtown Chicago. We hope that you will alert your business friends as to what a good night sleep you had at our property and we are glad you have said you will definitely be back again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hyatt Magnificent Mile was an outstanding hotel with clean, comfortable rooms. We got the CAA rate with the breakfast included, highly recommended. The breakfast buffet was excellent and well worth the money spent. All staff were friendly and curteous as well. Wish we hadn't had to pay for our wireless, you would think hotels could afford to not charge for the wireless these days! 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile and only a 15 minute walk to Navy Pier so easy to get everywhere. Only drawback at all is the ambulance noise as there is a major hospital across the street and the sirens are blaring at all hours of the day. Other than that, perfect stay.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Marriot with no view. I wouldn't want to face the hospital with the ambulance...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfxbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

I was very pleased to read that you considered your stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile to be an excellent one and that you were so happy with our breakfast buffet. We thank you for your acknowledgement of our staff as it is greatly appreciated. It sounds like you took advantage of one of our many pricing promotions and we certainly hope to welcome your return in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,133 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 191 in Chicago
3,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3234 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $137 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, you'll experience the electric energy of the Windy City with a coveted address right by Michigan Avenue. Explore all the city has to offer-from noted attractions like Navy Pier to high-end shopping along the Magnificent Mile-then relax in one of our welcoming guestrooms. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, 20,000 square ft of meeting and banquet space, trendy restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing