We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sewage smell and horrible customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
Ranked #153 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sewage smell and horrible customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I would just like to state first hand that we as a couple do not tend to complain when things aren't favorable. We stayed here in October of 2013 because this is where we reserved a room in the wedding block for a wedding we were attending. When we got to our room we did not notice anything out of the ordinary except they were really rather run down rooms, especially compared to the lobby. We've stayed in worse though, so it wasn't a big deal. After we went out for a few drinks with friends, we came back to our room, and was overwhelmed by an awful sewage smell. We called the front desk and they sent someone up to look at it. He told us there was a bad seal on our toilet and then just looked at us expecting us to just say okay? I'm not sure. My boyfriend asked if we could switch rooms because the smell was overwhelming. The maintenance man came back about a half-hour later with keys to a new room. Yippee!

When we got up to the new room, I had to open the windows immediately because it smelled like they sprayed a whole bottle of old air freshner in there. We aired out the room for a few minutes, then as we were getting ready for bed, we noticed the same sewage smell! We don't make a habit of complaining, so we just stuck it out, but every time we left the hotel we made sure to open our windows so we wouldn't come back to an overwhelming sewer stench. Thank goodness the windows did open, but the problem was it would get so cold, and it is right off of lakeshore drive so it was extremely loud. It was honestly a miserable experience.

Just a few other things, our toilet paper roll that was on the fixture ready to use had some sort of bodily fluid smeared across the side of it and our tv channels kept going out. I heard of a bad experience in one of the elevators by another couple that was staying there, so we avoided that elevator. I must say that the man that picked us up on the shuttle from the Palmer House, was very nice and filled us in on some of the local information about Chicago. He was great!

Now on to check out. We stayed there 4 nights, and were told our total was $647 (or something around there) and my boyfriend asked what it was a night and if that was the military discount price. She said no it was $139, military discount is $109, but we can't change it. Oh really? You can't change it? How convenient for you. So we paid $650 for a crappy experience (pun intended), that, had we not wanted to hurt our friends feelings by switching hotels, we would have in a heartbeat. Especially with the hindsight after we checked out, with their blatant refusal to give us the military price we should have received. Are you kidding me? I guess we should have spoke up about the sewage and switched rooms a few more times. It's always nice to see the respect that Chicago as a whole gives to military men and women serving our country, but I was severely disappointed in this hotel. It was definitely the worst experience I've had in Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SideShowRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience. We do want our guests to have a positive experience during their stay and I can say that yours was not typical. I was on duty that weekend and I wish you had spoken up more as we could have rectified the situation. John our driver does a great job as you mentioned thank you. Again I'm sorry that this was your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    28
    16
    35
See reviews for
30
22
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Don't visit the bar or the restaurant - the drinks are watered-down. The bartender looked like she was mad and obviously didn't want to come to work last week. We should have just grabbed a bottle from the liquor store on 53rd Street and went back to the our room.

Room Tip: Research on the internet - the photos and description of the locations are not accurate all the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi Beatrice, Thank you for your comments. Were sorry you had that kind of experience here as its quite unusual. In fact this is the first time I have ever heard this particular comment. Either way we always follow through and I can tell you that the drinks we are serving are not watered down and in fact in may cases I should get upset has our bartenders sometimes seem to have a heavy hand! We hope you will stop by again and see for yourself the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Amber Inn
#157 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Hyde Park
Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#130 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#131 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#145 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Lake Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Property: Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
Address: 4900 South Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60615-3277
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago Lake Shore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Lake Shore is an independent hotel located just ten minutes from downtown Chicago overlooking Lake Michigan We are near McCormick Place and University of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chicago Lake Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Lake Shore - Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ramada Lake Shore Chicago
Ramada Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing