We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Lincoln Park
Ranked #146 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Lyngby, Danmark
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good place for one night”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The staff is friendly and helpfull, but the rooms are a bit smelly and could use a good cleaning - but the place is quite cheap, even including a small breafast with juice, bagels and cerials. Lots of stores and eateries in the area and boystown is just a small walk away

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woaqzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay. The situation you described regarding the condition of your room is truly regrettable. I will be sure to meet with our housekeeping and maintenance staffs to ensure that these problems are properly addressed. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your visit. Thank you. Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    62
    67
    36
    35
See reviews for
47
70
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

First I will start with the fact that we booked our hotel room for a one night get away through Priceline, I have booked through Priceline on nearly every trip we have taken, so I know we usually get what we get...but we have never been quite as disappointed in a room.

The good: The hotel was clean and it was close to Wrigley Field (which was the reason for our trip to Chicago), they gave us a discounted parking rate because occupancy was low (note this comment in the bad).

The bad: The room they put us in was formerly a vending room...and this is not an exaggeration. It was a 9x9 room with a double bed. It was in the stairwell on the 2nd floor. In the stairwell there was a door on either side of our room that lead to other rooms, so every time people were coming and going the door would bang really loud and wake us up. You could also hear every time someone was getting ice in the vending room that was right below us. The wallpaper in the room was falling off. And we asked for extra pillows, but were told they only had one extra (yet as noted earlier we were told occupancy was low...could they not get a pillow from another room??). Also the bed itself had to be 20 years old and I felt like I was going to end up on the floor every time either my husband or I moved.

All in all, it wasn't HORRIBLE...but we just weren't happy here and will probably never return.

Room Tip: Never Stay In Room 218
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We apologize that your experience was disappointing. Our economy rooms are small, they are 10x10 with walking space around the bed. The rooms are not previous vending rooms although they are small. Since our hotel was built in 1918, the economy rooms are not as spacious as newer hotels may be. When booking on priceline, you may select a room upgrade for an additional cost. We have room options from economy, queen, king and two double beds as well as suites with full kitchens and Jacuzzi tubs. We hope you will try us again with an upgraded room type. Paul Schoonover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I love this place! It is close to everything in Lincoln Park with onsite parking and is priced reasonably. It has a quaint European feel to it. I plan to stay here many more times in the future while visiting the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your return business. We will be starting our room upgrades in a few months to include new mattresses, box springs and bed linens. We can't wait for you to see the new upgrades when you visit is again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We did not have a hot water in our apartment and stayed at a hotel. This had the most affordable price of a hotel in Chicago. It was also a great location with shops, movie theatre, and restaurants close by. The L is a four block walk, however, buses are close by. I would recommend this hotel as an affordable place to stay when in the city. It is north of the downtown area but not very far from the Chicago spots! The room we stayed in was small, however, the hotel and the room was nice with the necessary accomodations!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKSC4250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We so appreciate your warm compliments. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and to thank us so graciously. We love pampering our guests and providing a comforting oasis away from home while you are relaxing on vacation.

We are so happy we were able to help you celebrate your anniversary and make a special time even more special. Thank you again for your review! It was absolutely our pleasure to serve you.

Paul Schoonover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Its in a good location. Easy to get around & return back to.
The staff were ok, some do need some training in manners while others were perfect in their customer service.
The rooms do need to be updated - which may also get rid of the musty smell which seems to linger. The elevator was not a fun ride.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghost_of_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for feedback. We will be doing a few renovations this spring to improve the overall appearance of our rooms. We do apologize about the elevator. The hotel was built in 1918 so the size is small. It does surprise people when they first see it. We hope you will return soon to see what we have accomplished to resolve the issues that you had. Thank you. Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beacon ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I arrived at the hotel expecting the worst and was pleasantly surprised. It is very dated but this also makes it a bit unique I think. Was it particularly clean? No. Did it have an odd smell? Yes. That being said it was very cheap and in a good location so I would actually recommend staying here as long as you don't expect much and are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank tgannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We really appreciate the time you took to write your review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. We are located about one mile from downtown which makes us a great home base for exploring our wonderful city. Thank you for all of your comments. We hope to welcome you for a longer visit soon! Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here with my sister for a trip to Chicago- the room smelled musty, soaps in the bathroom had a odd smell. Very old hotel and need of some maintenance I would not stay here again- there other hotels in the area that are in better shape and still in a great location of Lincoln park

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pationet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We would like to apologize for the issues you experienced while visiting the Inn at Lincoln Park. We are so excited about our upcoming renovation to correct the issues that you had during your recent trip. We invite you to visit us again in the late spring or early summer. We will be addressing many issues that our guests have brought to our attention. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your visit. Thank you. Paul Schoonover, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#69 of 189 in Chicago
872 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 189 in Chicago
505 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 189 in Chicago
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lincoln Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lincoln Park

Property: Inn at Lincoln Park
Address: 601 W Diversey Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60614-1510 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Lincoln Park 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in one of Chicago’s quintessential neighborhoods, The Inn at Lincoln Park is a historic, European style hotel with architectural details reminiscent of the early 1900’s. Our prime location to Chicago’s renowned attractions and scenic shores of Lake Michigan, personal and attentive service, and great value make us an ideal choice for business and leisure travelers, alike.Located in the heart of Lincoln Park/Lakeview, our hotel provides the perfect gateway to your Chicago experience. Walk outside the hotel doors and you are in a walker’s paradise with tree-lined residential streets and a vibrant shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Take a stroll or bike ride through picturesque Lincoln Park and explore the Lincoln Park Zoo, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum and Lincoln Park Conservatory, ending up at North Avenue Beach where you can experience Chicago’s stunning lakefront. Or, take in a Cubs game at Wrigley Field just a short walk away. We are also conveniently located 2 miles from downtown with local transportation a block away.Built in 1918, the Inn at Lincoln Park features a welcoming Lobby and Guest Lounge with the old-world charm of oak woodwork and architectural elements of the era, 71 rooms, private floor with 3 newly renovated suites, and a meeting/event space. Independently owned, we focus on accommodating your needs with personal service to make sure your stay in Chicago is a memorable one. We are gay friendly and located 1 block from Boys Town.Guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast in our café, convenient onsite parking, complimentary high speed wireless internet access, and complimentary 24 hour coffee and tea service in our Lobby. We accept pets less than 50 pounds. A 50.00 non-refundable fee will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Lincoln Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lincoln Park Hotel Chicago
Hotel At Lincoln Park
At Lincoln Park Chicago
Inn Lincoln Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing