We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
28
69
75
38
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
69
75
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distancebeds were comfortablediverseywalmartwrigleydowntownhairdryerstarbuckslampconveniencemidwayuber
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 245 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Location: If you're not staying downtown, you can't beat the location. About 5/8 of a mile from Wrigley Field. Walk up Clark Street or take the #22 Clark bus northbound. The Lincoln Park Zoo (free) is about 3/4 of a mile south as is the Nature Museum. The Landmark Century Theatre is a block away with seven screens showing independent and foreign films. There are literally scores of restaurants within walking distance.

The Hotel: I won't elaborate as most of the other reviews are on target. Yes, it is antiquated. But the room was clean. There was a large flat screen TV on the wall that worked well. And the free WI-FI was always reliable. Disregard the review by Tammy W as she is clearly describing a different hotel as there is no coffee shop (other than the breakfast room and a 24-hour coffee bar); no farmers market across the street; and no rooftop bar/lounge. The neighborhood is lively and can be noisy. If you want quiet, ask for rooms ending in 20 or 22 (larger rooms) and 24(small). These rooms are on the backside of the backside of the hotel but you will forego a view. There are no newspapers but you can get them a few door away at Starbucks, Panera, Walgreens or Market Place.

Dining: As mentioned, there are scores of restaurants. Finer diner options, all owner operated, within walking distance are : (1) Sapori Trattoria a block south of Diversey on Halsted, reservatons recommended, a tab pricey but very good with large portions; (2) Select Cut Steak House, Diversey and Halsted, reasonable prices, I'm partial to their baby back ribs; (3) La Creperie, north of Diversey on Clark St. on east side of street, hearty dinner crepes, wine a bit pricey, very old décor; and (4) Pars Cove, 2 1/2 blocks east of hotel on Diversey, Persian cuisine, reasonably priced, generous portions, nice décor.

Reaching Hotel by Public Transportation: (1) From O'Hare: Take Blue Line to Logan Square, exit at Logan Square, board #76 Diversey (marked Nature Museum) to Clark and Broadway where you're at the hotel. Takes about 75 minutes. (2) From Greyhound and Union Station: Take the #156 LaSalle bus and get off at Diversey. Walk three blocks east to hotel. However, this bus operates weekdays only from early morning to roughly 8 PM. From Union Station (not Greyhound) you can also take the #151 Sheridan bus that operates daily. Get off at Diversey also. However, this trip will take longer than the #156.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChicagoKen60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to the Inn at Lincoln Park. The hotel is in an excellent location and is walking distance to Wrigley Field. We invite you to visit us again in the late fall or early next year. We will be addressing many issues that our guests have brought to our attention. Thank you again. Paul Schoonover, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This has become our most used hotel in Chicago. It is close to where we want to be. The rooms are old but generally clean. The complimentary breakfast is well above average and the staff is polite. If you are lucky enough to find it, it's within a stone's throw from Galway Bay. This bar is a gem, but you can walk by it without even knowing it;s there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on the Inn at Lincoln Park. We are planning a major renovation in the fall so your next visit will hold many new and exciting changes. Thank you again for staying with us and we will see you soon. Paul Schoonover, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I rented a room through Kayak at the Inn At Lincoln Park. Yuk. I am fairly easy to please but my room, for $185 was plain gros. The rooms have not been redone since the 60's. The plaster walls are cracked, the rugs were old and brown, my bed was a "mini" full size. The bathroom was 60 ish as well. And the NOISE from outside was nuts. I was up from 1:30-4:30 with the party scene. I will not be going back!

Room Tip: There are no tips to getting a good room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for any issues you may have had. Paul Schoonover, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a lower cost alternative near our son's place. Convenient to CTA bus and walkable distance to the red and brown lines. It's an old building that is renovated. Continental breakfast available. Next to no water pressure in the bath sink, and tolerable pressure in the shower. Overall, nice and economical enough that we will stay here again when we return in two months.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndyTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the water pressure issue. We will be addressing the water pressure when our renovation starts later this fall. We look forward to many new and exciting upgrades to the hotel and invite you back after the beginning of the year to see and experience the changes. Paul D. Schoonover, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Front desk staff was outgoing and pleasant throughout our two day stay. Unfortunately, their superb attitude could not compensate for a generally inferior product. We seemed to arrive at a time when a especially large convention was held in town; room availability was at a premium. We were displeased with the first room we were assigned on our first night. It was barely wide enough for one to stretch one's arms. The mattress on the single bed was, at best, queen-sized, but it was clean and comfortable. Housekeeping was good.
The bath was a horror. The flow-restrictive shower head was so effective that only a trickle of water could be coaxed from it. Washing was a real chore. We were annoyed to learn that we were assigned such room not only because of tight availability, but because we had booked it through a discounter. We were given a much more comfortable room for our second night.
Generally, the property is long overdue for substantial systems renovation. But for the elevator, all the mechanical systems, and the rooms' decor, appear to date from the 1920s. The complimentary breakfast was rudimentary, at best. Parking is available, on-site, for $15/day. There are better room alternatives available at the same or better price in the immediate area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innlp, General Manager at Inn at Lincoln Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We apologize for the issues you had while staying at the Inn at Lincoln Park. We are a European style boutique hotel that was built in 1918. We are currently starting renovations on the mattresses, box springs and replacing all the bedding with fresh three sheeting linens. Thank you for your comments. Comments from our guests are always appreciated. We welcome you back in 2013 to experience our changes. Paul Schoonover - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews