We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best neighborhood hotel in Wrigleyville”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #73 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2011

The Majestic is small, tidy, charming, convenient to the lakefront and Wrigleyville, and staffed by very efficient, helpful people. Rates are very affordable, and some of the rooms are on the small side, so it's well worth spending a few extra dollars to enjoy one of the rooms with a separate sitting area / sunroom. But if you're looking for an intimate, neighborhood hotel with character rather than one of the chain hotels while visiting Chicago, this is a terrific option.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rip2632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 830 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stayed at the Majestic over Thanksgiving weekend. The hotel is very charming. We stayed in the sun suite, which is like a king room with a sun room overlooking the street. The sun room was a great place to have coffee and read the paper in the morning.
It's in a nice neighborhood that was safe to walk in after dark.
There is a bus stop about a 1/2 block down the street that is convenient for hopping the bus to Lincoln Park or Michigan Avenue. We got a 3-day CTA pass at the grocery store, so easy to use and much easier than driving/parking.
The staff can help you with the buses. They are great. They are courteous, friendly, and very helpful. Special thanks to Gustavo and Richard for all your suggestions and help.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kepfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

I'm from the Chicago area and lived in Chicago for 8 years. I currently live abroad and we were back to visit family and wanted a couple nights in the city. Decent downtown hotels started around $250 night...a little more than we wanted to spend. When I came across the Majestic on Trip Advisor I was sold. I used to live in that neighborhood (Lakeview/ Boystown) and loved it.
The hotel is on a quiet street one block from the lake and buses to downtown. The room was large, clean and eco friendly (soap/shamppo dispensers rather than the wasteful mini bottles). The bed was heaven...I usually never sleep through the night on a hotel bed but this one was so comfortable! Breakfast was pretty decent for "continental"...bagels, muffins, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, oj, coffee, tea. I just can't say enough about how comfortable, affordable and lovely our stay at the Majestic was!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flatlander3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is a modestly upscale propertly located a 1/2 block off Lakeshore Dr. in the Lincoln Park area. I occupied one of the "sunroom" suites which are located streetside on the front of the building. The suite was comfortable and clean, but it demonstrated the need for an update. The carpet was stained and worn, and paint was chipping off in the bathroom and closet enterence. The outdoor windows didn't appear to have been washed in some months.

On the upside, the area is quiet and safe. The room is well equiped with two 42" HDTVs, free wireless internet, and a well stocked and amazingly inexpensive mini bar. The staff is friendly, helpful and unitrusive. Overall, this was a good experience and I will probably book here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psnevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The Majestic is very old, it was originally built as a shelter for women and converted into a hotel 13 years ago. the elevator was so small three people without luggage were crowded. our room was very nicely decorated, it obviously had been an apt in an earlier life. we had a large living room with t.v. and self-serve refrigerator, an area that had probably been a small galley kitchen...ours had microwave, another fridge and double closets. another t.v. in the bedroom. the bathroom was adequate but it struck us as odd that there are no towel racks or rings, no where to really hang a hand/bath towel. very quite location in an area of apts and homes. the transit from o'hare was easy. take the train to the addison/blue station, then #151 bus to within a block and a half from the hotel. if you are going downtown, you simply walk around the corner and pick up that bus. you are steps away from lake michigan but no sand on the beach at this area although you can get on the walking path here also. we were happy with our stay and felt the hotel was a good value....just be aware that it is a very old property.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historymajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We have stayed at the Majestic twice now when we visit family in Chicago who do not have room for us in their condo. The location is great because we are ten minutes from Lincoln Square area where our son and family are. Finding a place not in the downtown area or out in suburbs is not easy. Staff here is pleasant, rooms spacious, breakfast included. All the amenities you would expect. You have to pay for use of parking garage but it was still much more convenient for us than being downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rejophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I have stayed at the Majestic many times and it is probably one of my favorite places to stay in the US. Just got back from a week's stay and everything was perfect. I joined the Broughton club so I got 20% off (I think) entire stay as well. Close to lake, Wrigley, nightlife, L trains, etc, but very quiet and quaint. I have a lot of friends in the area so it is fits my needs perfectly. Reminds me of being in Europe. Glad they added the ability to go to the Fitness Formula Club just north of the property. Will never stay anywhere else in Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tampa33629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 192 in Chicago
968 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 192 in Chicago
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 528 W Brompton Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-1828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $95 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing