We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible service”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #53 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible service”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Majestic Hotel with my fiancee during the holiday weekend. We were very impressed with the location and proximity to Wrigley field. Although we couldn't catch a game, we still did a tour of the field which was nice. We stayed in a standard room which was very well kept and clean. Our housekeeper Lorena did a fantastic job! There is free breakfast in the lobby, which was good for a continental breakfast but nothing over the top. The front desk attendant Omar was very friendly and helped us out a great deal with reservations and getting around the city. Also, the bellman Franky did a spectacular job helping us with anything we needed. We were blown away by the service and attentiveness of all the staff, it felt like we were at home. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    258
    60
    23
    10
See reviews for
198
256
60
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I,made a reservation by mistake at the majestic hotel , and we didn't want to make changes cause we thought that it will be a lot of trouble booking all over again, or making another reservation. We took time to read reviews on TripAdvisor, about The Majestic
we were not to excited to stay there, but we didn't have enough time to make other arrangements.
We got there after 1pm. tired,exhausted, hungry .....well we were surprise and excited as soon as we walk because it was not what we expected. Lobby room very spacious, comfortable, and coffee just what we need it. We check in with the front desk Jordan, very helpful and polite. We felt welcome , also we met Dan, he was lovely to us. No offense but he was gorgeous just like our grandpa. .we love the majestic, we had fun since friday afternoon until monday when we check out.. The staff was excellent, the room was impeccable clean, nice and fresh smell. The maid that clean our room was wonderfull ...Iryna thank you chocolate kisses,and also julieta was on top of everythin during our stay, help us with the tv, and ironing a dress... love our stay and definitely we are returning again and again to the Majestic. All the staff made our birthday weekend Awsome.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Travelled from NJ to Chicago for a wedding. Majestic located in a quiet, residential neighborhood. Clean, great breakfast, coffee available any time you wanted some, great staff!! Dan was especially helpful, could not do enough for us. Breakfast room also used for a sitting room, our group met there each morning and evening. Rooms quiet and comfortable. Within walking distance of Wrigley Field. Very easy to hail a cab at the end of the block. Close to Lake Shore Drive, nice area for walking/running. The Majestic has charm, it is not a modern aseptic hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel not only needs a complete renovation .. It also needs to adjust its rates. The rates are way too high for the state of the hotel. The rooms are old looking, furniture and walls are chipped and pealing, our room smelled moldy and the hallway and entrance needs updating. The air conditioning units are in the window and, when on, either don't cool the entire room, or when sleeping, it' blows directly onto the bed, thereby making it freezing while sleeping (or trying to).

Only nice part of our stay was the friendly service and location to the home of close friends.

Until there is some upgrade and renovation, I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longtimetraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to Chicago. While I am pleased to read your appreciation of the service you received from our team members and location. I am of course very concerned of the areas which left you to feel disappointed. Please be assured we pay close attention to comments and feedback such as yours as a means of continually improving our rooms and facilities for our future guests. We just finished a renovation of all the guest rooms and common areas which we hope you will give us an opportunity to show you all the changes that we made.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
broughtonHOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here for one night. Due to a flight delay I did not arrive until 10PM, and took the train/bus from the airport. It was pouring rain and after walking a couple of blocks I was glad to find the hotel. It's in a residential area which is nice. The staff were all very friendly.
It was too late for dinner and I did not want to go out into the dark rain again. In the room they had some snacks (crackers, candy bars, granola bars) so that was my dinner. The amazing thing was that they charged only what you would pay at the grocery store. I am used to extreme mark-ups in the hotel rooms.

The next morning the breakfast was ample - fresh fruit, some pastries, hard-boiled egg, juice, yogurt, cereal. The dining room/front lounge has lots of wood trim and was old-fashioned. I prefer that to the modern glass and steel hotels.

My room was small, but clean and quiet. It was all I needed for a night stay.

The hotel is not right downtown but it was easy to take the subway or a bus.

Room Tip: I got the least expensive room and it was OK for one person but might be crowded for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at the Majestic. It is, as some readers suggest, a little tired but its charm, location and very helpful and friendly staff more than compensated.Mona,who described herself as a mother hen, was particularly helpful in arranging tickets for the river tour (strongly recommended) and great advice on transport,shops,restaurants,in fact anything!
Breakfast was fine and nice to have regular free coffee on hand at all times.
There were not many fellow English people around and when anyone discovered our nationality we were treated like Royalty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel and was really impressed by the way it was run. Me and a friend brought a movie DVD that did not work and the manager of the hotel, Keith, went out of his way to personally go out and rent us a DVD from a local store that did work. He even tested it to make sure it worked in their DVD players before giving it to us. This went along with the great service his staff provided for us on our entire trip. We stay at this hotel annually for Reds-Cubs games (11 years and running) and have no plans on making any changes, especially with the noticeable improvements being made by Keith and his staff. Highly recommended and easily the best place to stay in the Chicago-Wrigleyville area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 190 in Chicago
509 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 190 in Chicago
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Wrigleyville
Wrigley Hostel
Wrigley Hostel
#12 of 58 in Chicago
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Property: Majestic Hotel
Address: 528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing