We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was very small but clean and efficient”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #53 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room was very small but clean and efficient”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Room was very small but clean and efficient. The front desk people were very helpfull. Good room service and clean towel and sheets. Overall it was a good experience. The breakfast was just enough and contain all kind of necessary items including boil egg, muffin, cereal, fruit, donut , mild ,yogurt and many othe stuff.



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    249
    59
    23
    9
See reviews for
189
245
59
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I can not say enough good things about the Majestic Hotel. They are beyond friendly, they care for you and your family. Mona is a gem and helped me with bookings at the last minute while moving my daughter recently. This hotel is a treasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeccamilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Majestic during five wonderful days in Chicago. We found the location was perfect, a short cab ride to the city centre, for the regular tourist activities but a nice change from the hustle and bustle of downtown in the evenings. It was a great neighbourhood to explore and found some fantastic restaurants, just ask Mona for recommendations, you won't be disappointed. Yes it's a little worn and renovations will hopefully give it the facelift it needs without taking away the charm and quaintness of this little gem.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank scraphappy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is my third time to the Majestic and it is in a great location and the staff is always very polite and friendly! You will not find a better hotel in the area and it while it might not be the decor of everyone's taste it is always clean and the sunrooms are huge! Walking distance to great bars and wonderful neighborhood.

Room Tip: Book the sunrooms. Yes they are more but they are so roomy and open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located just 1/2 block from Lake Shore Drive and the express bus to the loop, and in the middle of a quiet residential street, the Majestic Hotel is extremely well located. We enjoyed walking in the neighborhood around the hotel and it is convenient to many excellent restaurants and Wrigley Field. The staff are more than accommodating and helpful. They spend as much time explaining and providing information as you need - about anything. Unfortunately, this only partially compensates for the shortcomings of the hotel. The room was musty. I know that they management is in the process of upgrading each room, but our rug was old and worn out, and it didn't 'feel' clean. The 1 bed in the relatively small room was a full, not a queen. I suspect that a queen would almost not have fit into the room. The shower was OK, the water sprayed from the shower head unevenly. Moreover, there was a breeze through the window into the shower making it a bit chilly. The continental breakfast is mediocre at best. The selection of muffins and coffee are what one would expect from the Motel 6. I would have hoped for higher quality food for a continental breakfast, even if they were to charge a few dollars. If you choose the Majestic, I would come on a weekday evening when the prices are literally 1/2 of what they are on the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarasotaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Hotel and sharing your review. While we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our neighborhood, excellent restaurants, our close proximity to the iconic Wrigley Field, and also how our team members were more than accommodating and helpful. It is of great concern that you had some issues that caused you experience to fall short of your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way. I have brought your feedback to the attention of the entire management staff, and addressed each mentioned issue with the departments involved, in an effort to prevent any similar occurrences from happening in the future.

We are renovating the entire hotel with a completion date set for the end of the year and hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Majestic Hotel.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST BLOOMFIELD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Majestic Hotel and really enjoyed my visit. I chose this hotel as it was close to my daughter's apartment. I enjoyed the ease of getting public transportation and the ability to park my car with in and out privileges. The hotel staff were friendly and the accommodations were very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Anyone who hasn't done their homework on the Majestic may find a couple things confusing. But, we had no surprises or issues during our stay. Parking was a little different, but not a big deal for Chicago. Everyone was nice and breakfast was a good quality continental. I don't think it would be a place our kids would stay with us, but a nice getaway for my husband and I.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#71 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Property: Majestic Hotel
Address: 528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing