We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #53 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson,MS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, very nice”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perfect location for a Cubs game weekend! Walking to great restaurants and shopping and Wrigley. Staff was very nice. Parking and in-room honor bar was cheap by Chicago standards. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morningcain26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    259
    60
    23
    11
See reviews for
200
258
60
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vienna virginia usa
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Majestic Hotel is charming and in a great location. However, it needs some attention to detail. A manager needs to check common areas on a daily basis to be certain that all light bulbs are lit, no dust anywhere and generally in good condition. Also, the kitchen needs some serious, regular attention. We peeked in as we passed and it needed cleaning. Finally, the rooms need to be checked regularly for mold on the shower grout and things like that.
Having expresses these concerns, we were generally happy with our stay. The staff is young, helpful and pleasant. They just need more direction on the details in order to move the Majestic Hotel from just "okay" to "great".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Hotel for your recent trip to Chicago. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am of course concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations and would like to assure you we pay careful attention to feedback such as yours as it allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities for our guests. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again.

I do help you will allow us the occasion to welcome your return and restore your confidence in our hotel upon your next visit to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a medium size hotel, with a very good location. Close to the park & lake (where you can go through the tunnels) and with very good Bus Connections. I took 1 bus one block from there to get to Aurora Shopping Malls (Bus, plus Train plus Bus, 2 and a half hours while reading), so transportation is a plus. Many good restaurants nearby, nice places to walk, everything is set to go and enjoy summer from this hotel. A plus apart from the excellent service, is that they receive your packages & internet purchases at no charge, and that for me it is very important.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlavioMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice location, walk to lake, restaurants. Hotel was clean, needs a little updating, staff very nice. Offers continental breakfast, nice selection and variety. Evening fresh baked cookies, nice and reasonable priced snacks and beverages in room, refrigerator, microwave and sink. Our room had 2 double beds and a sitting room. Would go back, convenient to people we know in Chicago. Nice neighborhood , tree lined streets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

To start with the good news: location, location, location. It is a great spot for a hotel and makes the stay worthwhile. Free wireless is a plus. Staff is pleasant. Clean. However, the "shabby chic" is so not chic but very shabby. The hotel smells like it has been cleaned hard to compensate for how rundown the hotel is in reality. The towels need to be replaced; it is probably worth the investment. Fresh fruit with the complimentary breakfast-even apples or oranges- would be a nice touch. The lighting in the bathroom is unforgiving; some softer bulbs would help. New carpeting in the hallways would brighten the place up. If you want chic and boutique: this is not your place. If you want a good location and hotel with utility: stay here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FromDC2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marino44, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and Foremost, thank you for choosing the Majestic Hotel as your preferred accommodations while staying in Chicago. I appreciate you taking the time writing a review of your most recent stay with us.

The hotel will be renovating all the rooms and common areas starting in December and completed by March 2014. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Majestic Hotel.

Sincerely,

Keith Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very nice well kept hotel.Modern conveniences in a chic neighborhood.
Felt safe walking to Wrigley field, about 4 blocks away..
During game days the area close to the field is a real party atmosphere.
But near the hotel is quiet, just far enough away.
Easy walk to the train also.Public transportation is awesome.Get the 3 day pass for buses and trains.
Nice walk to park on Lake Michigan, near Lincoln Park.
Had one bedroom small room on 3rd floor#309.But it had everything we needed.
Has stocked fridge and blow dryer.
Two thumbs up!
Tip.Go to liquor store near ball park.Mexican take out next door is good too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appoquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is my third stay at The Majestic. The staff is just delightful. I can't believe dear Mona remembered me from my last trip a year ago. Even the cleaning lady greater me a smile and a hello. The rooms are a little dated but the amenities are not. The location is phenomenal.

Room Tip: When you check in upgrade to a suite. They are very spacious and have a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MykylinNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 190 in Chicago
510 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#78 of 190 in Chicago
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#149 of 190 in Chicago
226 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Property: Majestic Hotel
Address: 528 West Brompton, Chicago, IL 60657
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing