We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff and clean room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport
Ranked #134 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
276 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice staff and clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

nice clean hotel. Very nice staff. There's a Friday's attached and they offer room service which is a nice touch. Several hotels in the same enclosed area so it's easy to walk to one that has a Starbucks, etc. Shuttle runs to Midway every 20 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    65
    26
    6
    9
See reviews for
36
26
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Courteous customer service and shuttle driver. Newly renovated but, I think housekeeping could pay a little more attention to the cleaning of the tub. I was impressed with the renovations, good color schemes, fixtures and furniture. I stayed on the second floor and the hallway was a little smokey. Every time I've stayed here I smell smoke and it's supposed to be a no smoking hotel I thought. Anyway, my room itself was fine as far as there not being a smoke smell. My only complaint is the tub and the surround was new but not cleaned well which put a damper on my excitement of the newness. Oh yeah....the shuttle took longer than the 20 mins (about 30 actually) I was initially told to pick me up. That would NOT have gone over well had it been typical Chicago windy and/or cold weather.

Room Tip: Give it a try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaBaby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudemarchi, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I will make sure that your concerns regarding the cleanliness of the bathtub are addressed and corrected promptly. Our shuttle does indeed run on a schedule of every 20 minutes, but there are days where Chicago traffic can make that a bit of a challenge. I apologize for the longer wait time and can assure you that our team does all they can to stay on schedule.
Thank you again for your comments. Taking action on our guest’s feedback allows us to improve our service and focus on important issues to our guests.
Thank you
Lou DeMarchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Service from the front desk (Nicole at night shift was esp. helpful & cheerful after a long day's flight) to housekeeping, to The Bistro servers are all first rate. Staff is efficient, well trained & very professional; kudos to mngmt. Plenty of free coffee & hot water (tea), usatoday & WSJ newspapers & computers + printers for use in the lobby. This is one of the best (serviceable/practical) lobby designs--spacious, lots of seating, good table spaces for work/eating.

Hotel is located mins. from MDW in a cluster of other hotels, very safe, plenty of parking ($13/day, well lit). Free shuttle to MDW every 20mins starting on the hr & runs 24hrs where you can catch the Orange line. Near convenience shopping (Target, Walmart, Costco+gas stn, Home Depot, Lowe's, OfficeDepot, Kohl's, JCPenney's). Near fast food restaurants (McD's, BurgerK, White Castle) & other restaurants (Giordano's pizza, TGIF is attached to hotel). Only complaint is it's next to a trainyard. You can hear the sounds of the trains on the tracks (kind of a strange echoing chime sound), but if you keep your windows closed you won't hear it.

Rooms are spacious, clean, well-appointed (newly renovated). A great hotel if you have a car & have business to tend to around the MDW area. Not so convenient if you're a tourist & want to be near downtown or Mag Mile areas. It's quite a ride (~45mins) by L subway or driving in traffic/parking in downtown is expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This property had cleaning and maintenance issues a few years ago, so it's nice that it has finally been updated. Hope it will be better maintained now. The outdoor courtyard area is great when the weather is nice. The restaurant attached to the hotel is very convenient. Group rate has limits for number of guests per room who can receive "free" breakfast, while most hotels offer free breakfast for everyone who stays there. Pretty pricey hotel for families, even with discounts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loudemarchi, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments especially regarding our recently completed renovation. We appreciate your loyalty it seems like you have experienced our property in the past. I want to assure you that we have processes in place to make sure that our property is well maintained and kept clean. We hope that you will continue to visit our hotel in your future travels and thanks again for taking the time to rate our property.
Lou DeMarchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My stay at Courtyard was so quiet and restful after a full day flying from Europe. I was picked up at the airport by their courtesy shuttle and within minutes dropped off at the front door of the hotel. The staff was friendly and professional. My room was comfortable, clean, and quiet with nice amenities. I had breakfast in the morning at the Starbucks cafe where my breakfast was brought to me. I enjoyed eating at a table equipped with a personal flat screen TV. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel was very modern, with very helpful, courteous and friendly staff. The room was a bit uncomfortable- we had booked a king bed with a pullout couch only to find that the pullout couch was only a twin size. Not exactly what we needed considering we had two boys that ended up having to share it! The bathroom was in need of an upgrade- the shower was a walk-in shower and the curtain didn't go all the way to the bottom, so water flooded the entire bathroom. The floors were grimy in the bathroom and there was hair stuck to the wall in one spot, and the bed was miserably uncomfortable, but the lobby was fantastic. Our kids loved the pool area, and the patio out back was perfect. We could enjoy the evening while our kids swam. All in all this was a nice hotel, but would like to see the rooms updated or cleaned a bit better. The worst part about the hotel were the directions our GPS gave us to get there. The directions had us drive down Cicero Avenue for 17 miles which took 1.5 hours because of all the stoplights. But it wasn't so much the time, as the areas that we had to drive through- it was a bit sketchy for someone not used to living in the "Big City". Once we found an alternate route, we were much happier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becnbaby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The lobby was clean and the the front desk clerk was very professional. Check in was quick and easy. The room was excellent, decor is updated, no big heavy bedspreads, all fresh, clean linens. We grabbed the shuttle that is provided for all the area hotels to take us to the airport for an early flight and did not use the restaurant. It was convenient, departing every 20 minutes for the roughly 5-10 minute drive to Midway Airport. We would not hesitate to come back although I thought it was a little pricey for the convenience. The stay & fly price was $255 + taxes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tighedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Chicago Marriott Midway
Chicago Marriott Midway
#113 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport

Property: Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport
Address: 6610 South Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in Chicago
#62 Family Hotel in Chicago
#95 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two blocks from the airport, Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport Hotel offers a complimentary 24-hr airport shuttle service plus stylish hotel rooms with modern decor. A short drive or train ride (Orange line) to downtown Chicago, guests can access many of Chicago's must-see attractions with ease. With the complimentary property-wide WiFi, onsite Bistro and in-room dining, business travelers will be more productive than ever. All guest rooms feature sound proof windows with black-out curtains, Marriott luxury bedding, flat-screen TVs with free HBO and ample workspace. The Courtyard Chicago Midway hotel also offers a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor pool and the popular T.G.I. Friday's and Starbucks right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing